We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Johnson Lodge & Spa
Ranked #10 of 132 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Possibly one of the best hotels in Manali, The Johnson Lodge mustn't be confused with its similarly named cousin Jimmy Johnson's Lodge that is located right next door.
It feels just like a lodge - lots of wood, a rustic ambiance and innate warmth about it. The rooms are massive (we stayed in 201 and the bed was so huge it could sleep a family of 4 comfortably). Then there's the superb bath with all the modern fitting and constant hot water that is much needed in this cold region. The staff at the front desk as friendly - always smiling and willing to assist. Similarly with the wait staff and helpers.
The restaurant is superb - a tad cold as the fire-places weren't lit, but otherwise the perfect place to unwind in the evenings. They have an Italian chef who makes some of the best pasta and dessert. She even goes one up on the other restaurants and bakes her own bread. But if you're a small eater make sure you order less cos they serve Italian size portions here - HUGE!!!
The grounds are perfectly maintained with adequate parking and space for kids to run around and play. Located on Circuit House Road its ideally located, close enough to Mall Road and all the local sights.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the front of the lodge - the view of the surrounding mountains is spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archanachaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for sparing your precious time to review our hotel. We feel very glad to know that you loved the lodge and its interiors. Review like yours inspires our staff to work more efficiently and serve their guest in better ways. We are happy to hear that you liked the bathroom facilities and you found the room very spacious. Thank you for appreciating
our food and the chef. We work hard to offer good food and friendly service to our guest.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to treat you with impeccable service again on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to the fellow travelers.



your next visit to Manali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 545 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Regret being spent 4 days in this place. If you want to have a quite holiday this is not the place, as there is loud music which is played till late in the night. If you do have kids, expect them to get some sleep after 12 in the night. The food is overpriced rooms being descent. The biggest demerit being unfriendly staff...which I hope no body wants after paying such huge amounts for the rooms they just won't listen to any of your requests. Will never recommend this place to anyone atleast!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diptish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience you had with our staff. We will be using your review as an example in upcoming staff training program so that our employees can better understand how their action can impact the guest experience.

However we had investigated the concern you had raised on the ‘loud music’ played at the bar. We had restricted the party timings till 12:00 at night and is now introducing Lounge Music at party replacing the loud music. We apologize for the uncomfortable night you had at our lodge. We try to do every best effort to appease our guest and assure that they should have a comfortable stay at our lodge.

We truly appreciate you feedback and the time you have taken to review our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Johnson's lodge for 2 nights. We got an excellent room on the 3rd floor with wonderful view and at a very decent rate. The parking guys are super efficient especially the Sikh guy. The cafe is fantastic though I wish they would give more options with the side orders but the service is just great apart from the preparations. Please don't confuse the johnson's lodge with the next door Johnson cafe guys. The latter do have a better menu but the service is terrible. They are visible more on the web and when you call to make a reservations, they are rude and very non-customer oriented which reflects in their cafe too. I will recommend Johnson's lodge to all!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netra80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are so please that you felt our hotel was beautiful and the views were excellent. Thank you for appreciating the parking staff. We are happy to know that they were cooperative with you. We are pleased to know that you found the restaurant good. Regarding the options on the menu, we have revised the menu and introduced some more options for our guest.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited the property in first week of March. Stayed at deluxe room. The stay was comfortable. The hotel is on hadimna devi mandir road. The Johnsons lodge restaurant is on expensive side. The trout is cooked to perfection, had fish n chips daily. The indian food is ok. Note the morning tea is served only at 7. Overall the stay was superb.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepakonroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to know that your stay was comfortable. Although I do regret that you found our restaurant was a bit expensive. Regarding this, we have revised our restaurant menu with revised cost and of course with revised options for our guest. So next time you come to Johnson restaurant, I assure you would be fully satisfied with the service.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visited Manali during mid March 2013. After reading reviews in Tripadvisor we decided to stay in Johnson Lodge. It was a wonderful experience. We had stayed in the family suite (which is on the third floor). The location of the hotel is very near to the Mall Road. Just 5 minute walk. The view from the room windows was very beautiful. The room had three big windows. The bed was very comfortable with comfortors and extra quilts were also there. each room of the family suite had heaters. The rooms were spacious having lcd TV with satellite connection. The kitchen in the room included a kettle, toaster, microwave and a refrigerator. Our kids became friendly with their pet Rustam.
The staff was extremely gentle and helpful. The fireplace in the room was working although wood crate was chargeable.
The car parking is inside the gates. They have their own restaurant. Staying at Johnson Lodge made our vacations memorable for always.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namrata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank You for taking time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions and suggestions of our guests. We are pleased to know that your stay at the lodge was comfortable and memorable. We are glad to know that you found the family suite very comfortable with all the necessary amenities placed. We are glad to know that our staff was cooperative and polite. We constantly work hard to provide our guest with best possible service.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A near perfect location - away from the Mall road yet walkable distance to the market and great service makes this place really nice. Had no complaints during the recent stay and the staff was friendly and reachable. More points given for courtesy and behavior towards customers. My only suggestion is to have a buffet breakfast included in your combo - as the restaurant prices were a bit on the higher side.

Overall nice place to stay for a couple of days in Manali

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank galbotrix007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for your fair review about our lodge. We appreciate your review and the suggestions you have mentioned. We are pleased to know that you found our hotel very near to the Mall, road yet located at a quiet place. We are thankful to know that you found our staff friendly and cooperative. We had investigated the concern you had raised on the buffet breakfast. We will surely take step to sort this out. We try every best effort to appease our guest for a comfortable stay.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I visited Manali on 17th Feb 2013..Without Johnson Lodge the trip would be incomplete.. I booked my room over the phone, staff is good, food and bar is amazing , ambience is good, the best pasrt is its location and the view of mountains from the hotel window. Its a best hotel to stay in Manali. Its best for couple and family. Every one should stay in Johnson Lodge, trust me its good in price and good people or every thing which you need you will get in the hotel...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnsonLodge, Public Relations Manager at Johnson Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing Johnson Lodge for your recent stay in Manali. And also, thank you for taking time to write this review. We value your comments about your experience and beautiful moments you had at our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the decor of the lodge and loved the views. We are thankful for considering our Lodge the best place to stay in Manali.

Thank you again for taking time to review our hotel. We hope that you will come back to the Johnson Lodge on your next trip to Manali and suggest our place to fellow travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.4 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 132 in Manali
467 reviews
1 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#4 of 132 in Manali
892 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#7 of 132 in Manali
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
0.8 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#6 of 132 in Manali
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts
Snow Valley Resorts
#12 of 132 in Manali
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson Lodge & Spa

Address: Circuit House Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manali
#5 Spa Hotel in Manali
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range: $61 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnson Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at 6,726ft in the magnificent Himalayas, Johnson Lodge is a fairy tale lodge set in the heart of Manali. Just a stone throw away from a dense pine forest with an impressive view of the towering mountains and a 5 min walk to the Mall, Johnson Lodge's ideal location draws visitors from all over the world. Johnson Lodge is a fine example of the colonial era with a sprawling beautifully head out garden. Wood paneling and unique art work creates an aura of old world charm. Wooden flooring,rich furnishings complimented by modern amenities make the rooms- a home away from home, a luxurious retreat. Soaked in the space that is accessible to all the adjacent sightseeing points, Johnson Lodge spells charm, delight and indulgence. The Bar and Restaurant at Johnson Lodge offers a wide range of cocktails/mocktails and mouth watering cuisines. The Spa Magnolia at Johnson Lodge offers specialized Ayurvedic treatments that leaves one rejuvenated. And for paws, claws and jaws- we are perhaps the most pet friendly hotel in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Johnson Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson's Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing