We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apples, Apples and more Apples”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Himachal Pradesh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banjara Camps - Thanedar
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was my second time to Banjara camps, Thanedar! And this time with friends as well.
A beautiful three hour drive from Shimla brings you to Thanedar. We went right in the peak of apple season- so all we could see were Apple laden trees- it did make the stay special.
The reception started right from the main road, with a guy waiting to receive us and get us into the Camp.
Mr. Sharma and his team did an excellent Job to make our stay a memorable one.
It is always a joy to learn from Mr. Thakur, his knowledge about the orchards and the local flora fauna is un surpassable; Mr. Thakur took us for an evening walk and I am sure all of us would remember it for a long time!
Food : Spoilt for choices and the quality- Awesome! Every meal was a delight. BYO liquor concept and they are happy to provide the essentials.
Rooms : Stayed in the Suite, ice sized room with a lovely view (on a clear day sunset would be lovely!). The bathrooms however, could do with a make over and may be basic toiletries and amentias need to enhanced. Similarly the room would do with slightly better quality bedding / modernization!
What do u do when it rains : Make use of their activity room- basic but sufficient!
What to do when it is not raining : wander in the orchards o the jungle and talk to the locals, drive down to the Sutlej, go out birdwatching. The best : Hatu trek for the experienced or the church walk for the faint ones…

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ashboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Banjara Camps - Thanedar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

It is said that house is home because of its resident, same way a hotel/resort is because of its people and their hospitality and banjara exceeds that....Right from the booking to your see off everything is flawless. Thanks to the wonderful efforts of the owner Mr Thakur and the entire team which runs these beautiful eco friendly resorts called banjara camps.The whole experience of banjara, thanedar stays like the intoxication of a fine scotch. Your experience starts once you passes by Narkanda and starts your journey on Old Hindustan Tibet road living behind the maddening crowd of urban India. Banjara welcomes you with fresh breeze, acres of apple orchards, cherry trees, birds, and enchanting view of valley. There's every reason to believe why Mr Strokes made this hamlet his home. Upon reaching you are personally welcomed by Mr Thakur a person with rich experience of Himalayas and its Diversity. The rooms are good and give very homely feeling. We stayed in cherry suite which I guess is the most sought after the wood lodges. The view from the balcony of the room is great, SIT, RELAX have cup of coffee and ENJOY. No room service doesn't make for any problem as the food area is close by and this also gives you the opportunity to meet other guests. One thing to acknowledge is the food it’s so simple and wonderful. Special mention for one man army Mr Sharma ever helpful, great personality!! Don't forget to order your evening bonfire snacks as you might miss the best tandoori chicken. There plenty of places of interest including historical town of kotgadh, Hatu peak and for added adventure go for a jungle trek with Mr. Sharma and see what we miss in cities..... Overall a wonderful experience for my family... Already planning for my second trip :)

Room Tip: Second floor Rooms have Gr8 View :)
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VeryVikram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The stay was excellent from the start. We were a single couple and we stayed there for 4 days. From the service to the cleanliness to the food everything was par excellence.
The staff was very polite, helpful in every way and full filled all our needs.Mr Sharma took special care of all and made it a point to get us what we wanted.
The place was so cozy and relaxing that we spent the entire 4 days in the resort . The dining area is the place to be ...cozy, attractive and with a great view of the mountains..we got to experience amazing breathtaking sunsets everyday.
I was impressed by the cleanliness and the food. Every meal was relished and enjoyed !!
Would definitely like to visit other Banjara resorts and go back to thanedar again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank snoopy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this property on our way back from sangla to chandigarh. After reaching there, we realized - this place is just not a stopover but beautiful location to unwind. Log Hut cabins were perched amongst cherry trees & apple orchards overlooking vast expanse of the majestic himalayas!
Don't miss the apple chutney & cherry jam ;)

Room Tip: Log huts for unobstructed views. It has attic room as well that makes it very comfortable of family...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

a short trip from Simla to Thanedar and you reach the camp overlooking the valley.

Rooms : excellently and tastefully done. the bathrooms however, could do with providing toiletries or better ones for those available and a bit of modernisation. there wasn't even a place to keep your toothbrushes.

Food : its a camp and not a hotel, so there is no room service and special times for buffet breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner. the food was AWSOME. you can also make requests for any specific cuisines that you may want. for those fond of their liquor, they don't serve anything there but they are happy to provide you with the other requirements if you get your own liquor (glasses, aerated drinks and so on). the non vegetarian BARBEQUE was AWSUM. the chicken tikka we had is not something that i have tasted EVER. anyone visiting must have this if its your choice of cuisine. the food cooked was just like home cooked food without the oils/spices as is wont in restaurants.

Activities : your choice of board games, to table tennis, to bonfires and so on. Treks to the church and Hatu Peak.

Staff : the best part......a totally super staff willing to go that extra mile to make you comfortable in the wilderness and get you to stretch yourself in the trekking activities. my compliments to them all.

Time To Go : May has the cherry crop so you can see all the cherries dangling from the trees.

Room Tip: not much to choose from. all overlook the valley. however, some suites are there in case of your req...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhavik68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our family of five visited in April 2014. This was just a rest stop for 2 nights on the way to Sangla Valley, but turned out to be a very pleasant experience. We reached in the night , after a very tiring journey from Chandigarh. Couldn't really see much of the resort that time. But we were instantly bowled over by the charming Mr. Sharma, the very efficient Manager of the place. By the way, one has to climb down a good number of steps ( may be around 80) from the parking to reach the resort.
We got first floor rooms. Rooms are simply appointed , but well maintained. The bathrooms are a bit small but spotless. The view is awesome, both in the day as well as in the night, when the whole valley gets lit up. One thing I want to specially mention is, they have very good quality room heaters. Even though they are portable, they were very efficient, able to heat up the large rom pretty quickly.
The food was the best part. Simple home style menus, but the chef really had a magic touch! Even a thing as simple as daal, tasted out of this world. The service in the dining room is very attentive, We just had to look up, and someone will be at our side instantly, including Mr. Sharma.
Mr. Sharma was also very helpful in suggesting us thing to do. We had only one day, so we did the Kotgarh walk, which we enjoyed very much. By the way Kotgarh is where the famous song "Piya Basanti re" was shot, as locals are fond of reminding you.
Unfortunately, the fruit trees were just coming into flower, even though the cherry was much ahead of others and in full bloom glory. Would love to visit again in the cherry season, and to sample the great food and amazing hospitality .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vidya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I went with my family in March 2013. we stayed for 2 nights and our stay was very good. We stayed in the Cottage. The view is amazing specially in the night when the surrounding area is all lit up. Mr. Thakur and his staff made us feel very welcome. The food was also good. Would love to visit again preferably in the fruit season and see the trees come to life.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darsh2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Himachal Pradesh hotels
5.1 mi away
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
20.3 mi away
Club Mahindra Mashobra
Club Mahindra Mashobra
#3 of 5 in Mashobra
445 reviews
24.0 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 113 in Shimla
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
15.1 mi away
de Exotica Crest Resort & Spa
8.9 mi away
V Resorts Narkanda Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banjara Camps - Thanedar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjara Camps - Thanedar

Address: Thanedar | Dist. Shimla, 172030, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,362 Specialty Lodging in Himachal Pradesh
Price Range: $371 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing