We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Monk

The Monk
Ranked #16 of 2,695 Restaurants in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great food and a courteous staff more than makes up for the average ambience and away location of this restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuketBhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    161
    50
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food. Poor Service. Dirty high chair.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Food was good. They took 20 minutes to serve desserts. The high chair given to small children was greasy and dirty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SanjeevGovindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Have been coming to monk since the time it opened up in gurgaon. Though the initial experience's were all good, this time however it was most disappointing. The host escorted us to our table and handed us two menu's which were both dirty. I had to personally wipe the menu. Ordered beer from howzatt which they serve at the rest. And as always it nvr failed to charm us. Ordered a starter, teppan chicken in lemon grass which was served after 20mins and was almost burnt. Had to have it changed but by the time it came we were already finished with our beer. There was a slight improvement with the main course where we had ordered for 2 sticky rice bowls, but the taste was bland and no amount of condiments could help enhance the taste. The only part of the meal i think was enjoyable was the beer and that itself was not of the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Criticfru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“THE CHINESE DELIGHT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Monk, one of the restaurants in The Galaxy, Gurgaon is my favourite place whenever I feel like having Chinese food. As it is, the hotel itself is a wonderful place and the food is simply yummy. One has to book the table in advance especially in the evening as all lovers of Chinnese food seem to beeline for the place. The ambiance is wonderful and so is the menu. If you are looking for the best possible and authentic Chinese food The Monk is the place. They have an elaborate menu covering all the dishes. We were told that the ingredients are specially flown from China to have that unique touch. Chinese tea served on the house o go with the food is very refreshing. My husband is not very fond of Chinese food but he never says no whenever I suggest going to the Monk.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sudershan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Appalling service. Dirty tables.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Horrifying experience. We're regulars at their saket joint. After making us wait for over an hour, by telling us it would take them 15 minutes They lead us to a dirty table, take over 15 minutes in reaching us after offering us the menu. A 10-15 minute delay is understandable. But misleading us by giving an incorrect estimate was not tolerated. Otherwise, the food quality was good and delivered fast, but the dirty sticky table; napkins and spoons shoved into a corner killed the meal. We won't be visiting anytime soon.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KumarPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Monk also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 

Been to The Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing