We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great food, elegant decor, not cheap”
Review of China Club

China Club
Ranked #86 of 2,765 Restaurants in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great food, elegant decor, not cheap”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

From the moment we entered till we finally left we were struck by the excellent service. And the decor and atmosphere is elegant without being indifferent. While the menu was very comprehensive, we skipped the standard appetisers and asked them to serve us the Peking duck as starters. The pancakes very gossamer thin and perfect and everybody at the table appreciated the pancakes being prepped and served table side (I prefer wrapping my own though for the right mix of sauce, greens and crispy skin).
The rest of the meal was delicious too - from scallops delicately flavoured with celery and preserved chilli, to crispy fried sole with preserved bean curd sauce, double cooked pork, sauteed tiger prawns, pan fried seafood noodles and egg fried rice. We were too stuffed for dessert.
The place is not cheap (our meal for 5 adults and a small child set us back Rs 18,000) but that is acceptable for an elegant fine dine experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RocketCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    54
    6
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Yes its pricey but definitely worth it. Authentic Chineese food , great pan fried noodles, lamb brisket and desserts. A place where the food, ambiance and service are in perfect harmony. Can't reccomend it enough.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek_grgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Chinese”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good Food, and service but overall not a value for money. Food Spread is good and the service is also good. The overall a very good place if you have a formal occasion or a business lunch or dinner....this is worth going for

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Girish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“They have maintained the quality”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

China Club has several certificates adorning the entrance as they have been given several "best chinese restaurant' awards. Initially when they had opened the restaurant, each part of decor and all crockery etc had been imported from China. The place gives you a very open feel as it has high ceiling .The kitchen is visible through the glass and that adds to the experience.
It has a sit down bar area just as you enter and there is an impressive collection of wines.
For some reason we went to the restaurant after a long gap. Its not too far from our house but somehow this time the gap was of over 6 months since our last visit.
We started with Saute Pork Ribs . The pork ribs were well done and has sweety-tangy taste and was quite likable.For the main course we ordered Prawn in ginger sauce; mixed vegetables with oyster sauce; chicken with black bean sauce; veg haka noodles; egg fried rice and sichwan mixed meat fried rice. I must say that quantities were good and food was delicious. I normally don't enjoy their sichwan sauce preparations so none of the meats was ordered with that. The food tasted good and it had looked good. Presentation was nice.
Most people write that China Club is an expensive restaurant. Well, it's as cheap or expensive as any other fine dining place. Except for prawns ( Rs 1200.00) the other dishes were in the range of Rs 280-530 plus of course service charges and taxes. So, without beverages the bill came to around Rs 4500.00 for 6 of us which I would say is quite decent. Not cheap by any standards but when you go to a restaurant like this - you expect to pay this much.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohinarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food in NCR Delhi”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently ( Oct.2012 ) visited the restaurant along with our friends from Canada. We found the food, service and wines excellent. We found the quality, presentation and taste of dishes amazingly good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 728Ashok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Club also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 

Been to China Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing