We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fortune Select Global
Ranked #63 of 233 Hotels in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
India
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Frustrating”
Reviewed April 16, 2009

The experience was frustrating from the time I decided to book a room at the hotel. The rates quoted by the call center were higher than those on their website and they could not explain why I could not avail those rates on the phone booking.

The hotel had a promotion on with Jet airways which involved a free upgrade to a club room and free internet among other things. The staff at the check in counter appeared clueless that I had booked using this option. So I had to spend twenty minutes at reception sorting this out , including having to change key cards because I was first allotted a room on a lower tier.In addition the availin of the 6 hours of free internet meant that I had to call a number and receive passwords everytime I completed a half hour of usage.

Food was nothing to write home about. Low occupancy meant the buffet breakfast (promised in the offer) was not offered.

Stay here only for the convenience of location, nothing else.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HindoostanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    89
    41
    21
    10
See reviews for
16
8
32
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Business Hotels are usually perceived to be "Very Business Like"
However, this was my first taste of Fortune Hotels and have been hooked on ever since
Great hospitality

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MadhurVarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Its peerage allows the filtering of luxury elements from its big brother, the ITC Sheraton/ Welcomgroup (cant keep track what it is today) to the benefit of the guest at this chain..but hotel prices in India are nonsensical so I feel we are overpaying currently for this class of hotel especially as this is really a medium level business hotel. If the prices become more reasonable, there would be immense value to the traveller to stay here on a more frequent basis.

And I also think that all hotels (including this one) can be more conservative in their breakfast spread - I'm sure a lot of the food is not eaten and goes to waste...a waste of much needed resources on our planet today.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The cost that I had to pay for it
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West kelowna
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

we stayed at this hotel a total of four nights as we "transitioned" thru tours between Nepal and India. The hotel was very clean, the rooms spacious and we did not hear any of the noise in the hotel described by others. The fitness centre was staffed by persons helpful with the various equipment.
The restaurant buffet - breakkfast and dinner - had a one of the best selections based on our six weeks travels. Front desk and restaurant staff excellent.
I would recommend this hotel for over night stays and business meetings. At present the location is isolated and you must take a taxi to get anywhere.
The cost of $320 per night is high but this appears to be a trend happening all over Gurgaon, Delhi and Mumbai.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Canada55plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

This is an avarage quality business hotel with nothing special to offer.
The rediculous rate of $320 / night ,may suggest luxurious rooms with great views.
Unfortunately, you get quite the opposite.
The months of November and December are high season for Indian Hotels and you will find the $320 to be quite a good deal considering the fact that 5 star hotels sell their rooms at 450$-550$ .
However, you may reconsider your options and prefer to pay more to get value for your money rather than to pay a lot and don't get anything in return.
Try to avoid this time of the year to travel to Delhi and stay at a reasonable rate at the Fortune, if you have to .

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — price and location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank madamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

I spent one night here and could not wait to get away. The loud noise of power drills and assorted construction tools went on right through the night. This hotel is seriously overpriced for the facilities and conveniences it offers. It would be cheaper to stay in a five star hotel in New Delhi and take a taxi to Gurgaon everyday. The rooms and the bathrooms are clean though underequipped for the price. The staff are courteous and helpful. The limited menu offers food that is safe to eat but is dull and uninspiring, . I cannot understand the new trend in Indian hotels and restaurants where they refuse to serve beef or pork which leaves one with chicken ham, chicken sausages, chicken salami and chicken bacon, of course, all of them, taste the same.

  • Liked — Decent rooms, cleanliness of room, bathroom and common areas.
  • Disliked — The price and the noise from the ongoing construction which went or right through the night.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hydeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

Compared to other 5 star hotels in India, this was reasonably priced.

The rooms are spacious and clean. The good is inexpensive and good (I prefer the menu items to the buffet).

The fitness center is decent and I had one of the best massages and it was only 1000 Rs (~25 USD).

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DonJefe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gurugram (Gurgaon) hotels
5.8 mi away
Fortune Select Excalibur
Fortune Select Excalibur
#46 of 233 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
389 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#54 of 233 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
394 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anya Gurgaon, New Delhi NCR
Anya Gurgaon, New Delhi NCR
#6 of 233 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
juSTa Gurgaon Hotel
juSTa Gurgaon Hotel
#17 of 233 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
357 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier, Leisure Valley, Gurgaon
Lemon Tree Premier, Leisure Vall...
#24 of 233 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
675 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Pllazio Hotel
The Pllazio Hotel
#29 of 233 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Select Global? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Select Global

Property: Fortune Select Global
Address: M G Road, Gurugram (Gurgaon) 122002, India
Location: India > Haryana > Gurgaon District > Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
#41 Luxury Hotel in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune Select Global 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fortune Select Global reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Select Global Gurgaon
Fortune Select Global Hotel Gurgaon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing