We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Thai restaurant in Gurgaon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Pavilion

Thai Pavilion
Ranked #18 of 2,706 Restaurants in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $46
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chef Ananda Solomon introduced Thai cuisine to the country with the original Thai Pavilion in the early 90’s. Before the launch he spent many months across Thailand experiencing and studying its cuisine and culture. In a stunning journey of re-discovery, Chef Ananda goes back to the roots and now presents an elevated version of this popular cuisine. The menu is ever changing. Seasonal fruit and vegetables make a fresh appearance. Try the celebrated Pia Nueng Manao (Steamed John Dory with corriander, chilly, peanut in a tangy sauce). And round up your experience with Fok Thong Sankaya (Delicately steamed custard in baby pumpkin) and Tub Tim Grob (Diced water chestnut with coconut milk) The Thai Pavilion opens its doors to the NCR at Vivanta by Taj - Gurgaon, under the personal supervision of Chef Ananda Solomon. There are also semi private dining areas and you can also be served drinks while you wait in the comfort zone between Tease and the Thai Pavillion.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very good Thai restaurant in Gurgaon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Thanks for bringing in such a good choice of Thai cuisine to Gurgaon - the city is called Millennium City but without a good Thai Restaurant, it wasn't really all that complete. Now having tasted this restaurant's offering, I can say with confidence that this completes the choice set. I am looking forward to getting there again with family - last trip with business colleagues left me wanting for more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gopisuhasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    40
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“...great food but lacks ambience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Based on the reputation of the Thai Pavilion in Mumbai, we decided to give this new Gurgaon version a go.
The room is disappointing - it was a quiet lunchtime which didn't help but the room simply feels old fashioned...its cliched Thai decor circa 1980 and it could seriously do with an injection of imagination.
Service was patchy - given there were only three tables occupied. The staff were notably absent and a little too forward. I can't remember the last time waiter told me i wouldn't enjoy something because it was too spicy - two of them did on this occasion.
All that said, we all enjoyed the food - very good herb soup followed by one of the best larb kais i have had in ages. We also really enjoyed pan fried prawns, fish and basil, green curry round doff by water chestnuts in coconut milk. All delicious but again a retro touch - when was the last time you saw a slice of orange and a celery stick as garnish on a dish...1970?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
378 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“best food in recent times...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We ( me and my wife) visited this place for dinner on 19th Oct, 2013. We visited this hotel when they had a " soft launch" and at that time, we were informed that this speciality restaurant will be opened in 2/3 months time. But I think, this is functional for the past 4/5 months time. When we reached the place around 8 pm, on a saturday evening, it was not crowded and we were shown several options for seating and we chose a table with the straight back chairs placed in the middle rows than the sofas along the wall. The first thing we noticed was that the table was quite longish than normal and it was little inconvinient for making conversation when your partner was seated face to face... The second thing was they supplied Aquafina water and not the usual Himalayan which was common in Taj hotels.

Their menu has an impressive wine and beverages listing which included several choices of single malt whiskys. And I was told that all the brands were available ( which was not the case with Taj Coromandel in Chennai, two weeks back). So, I settled for Cargganmore and my wife selected home made ginger ale. The ginger ale was not at it's best and it tasted like some lemon drink with some more additions. No complaints on Cragganmore..

We ordered a mushroom starter and it was quite fiery! So, when we ordered the main course, we told them to go easy on the spices. Usually, when you tell them to go easy, you will always end up in getting very bland food. But this was not the case this time. As observed by some other reviewers, we found our Vegetarian Thom Yum soup smelling fishy. When we pointed out that to the waiter, he immediately offered us the replacement which we did not take... It was quite delicious. We ordered main courses, a noodle and a red curry with rice. The food was very tasty and the portion was quite big... Overall, good experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qwelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good food, scope for improvement in the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is Thai food at it's Indian best. The restaurant came highly recommended, and we were not disappointed with the meal. The aspect that left me somewhat disappointed was- We ordered one of their fish preparations in the starters. This is a dish that had been ordered before by one of our companions on a previous visit. When it came everyone agreed it smelt and tasted a little off, and the staff attending to us offered to exchange it for another dish almost instantly. The fresh preparation arrived, and true to the attendants promise, it lived up to the standard of the rest of the meal- delectable.
We finished and asked for the bill. Glanced at it, paid and left. It was only the following morning when I looked at it again that I realized we had been charged for the dish they had offered to replace. Not just that they had also charged us for an extra beer. This was highly surprising for a hotel of this caliber, and I have to say despite the great meal, it left a somewhat undesirable flavor in my mouth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnjaliKhosla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Certainly the best in ncr !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had been wanting to visit the place for some time , finally managed to go on Tuesday and was very surprised to see that the restaurant was full!, We had to wait for a while before we were given a place to sit, We started with Tom yum Koong ( tom yum soup with prawns ) the serving was big and the aroma was right, our starter dish was a white prawn which was done to perfection with the right amount of spices and the true Thai flavor, unfortunately our second starter Tofu wrapped in beetle leaf was a disaster and much to strong in spices then one finds in a nice Thai restaurant in Thailand, the staff was nice to change the dish with a steamed fish in thai herbs which was mouth watering, for the main course we had a lobster which we found to be a little over done making it very hard. over all I would still give it 4/5 and would certainly go back again!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gourmetboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Pavilion also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 

Been to Thai Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing