We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ambience, good food”
Review of Pirates of Grill

Pirates of Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, good food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

On the lines of Bar-beque Nation- though found the decor nicer, more open spaces & a live band. A very fulfilling buffet, although the starters were much better than the main course. Service is quick, guys are on their toes. Loved the shrimp and chicken, mostly because spices were not overdone. Good choice of deserts at the end, and don't miss the tilli kulfi at the exit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shonty2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    245
    66
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value for money restaraunt”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great food at a reasonable price, with excellent ambience..A must for food junkies.Starters are excellent however the main course do have room for improvement

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raj_sarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience. Very Good food”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The ambiance is just right. The staff is always courteous and attentive. Overall a very nice experience beckoning you to visit the place again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaganRampal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food, Pushy Service”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Situated in a mall where you don't expect a good restaurant coupled with the shady posters of Jack Sparrow with Paneer Tikka outside the restaurant made us nervous about the quality of the place and I placed by bets basis the reviews on Zomato... and I was not disappointed.

If you don't see the name outside, you will thinky you are in Barbeque Nation, with very similar setup, same grill on table concept (& same design of the grill), albeit more spread out and still had more tables.

Starters - The list of starters was impressive, starting with salsa potatoes (which were the highlight, and I was unable to resist even the 5th serving of the same). Others were reasonably good as well, Kebab, panner tikka, grilled veggies, mushrooms & chilly panner.

Main Course - We kept on hogging on the tasty starters & forgot to keep space for the buffet main course, which was tempting as well. My wife did try her hands on some of the main course dishes & she was reasonable happy with the taste.

Desserts - A fair mix of Indian & western desserts and all tasted quite good, specially the chocolate brownie & gulab jamun. Inspite of full stomach, I was unable to resist taking a 2nd helping.

Grill - They need to make better use of the grill on the table. Only few sticks of raw veggies were kept on the grill & nothing else. Or perhaps they might be using it more efficiently for non vegetarian starters.

The highlight was the service - both good & bad.

Bad - They were too pushy & kept on stuffing the plate with unwanted starters, inspite of repeated refusals from our side, leading to overeating / wastage! They are more concentrated on starters (and thus forgot to bring breads which my wife requested during her main course)

Good - You will see many attendants at your service bringing different dishes one by one. They always had a smile on their face & were reasonably attentive. They were quick to bring a small toy for my son, to keep him happy while we hogged.

In one of the papads i noticed a hair (engraved - perhaps during the making of papad). The manager was quick to come & apologise and confirmed that they buy papad from outside. However, after few minutes - I saw a cake finding way to the middle of our table with "Sorry" written on it !

The ending was happy as well with rocket kulfi sticks handed to us on our way out.

Though they need to iron out some issues - still a good place to go, specially with parking being so easy in this mall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prateek2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went there with family. Good food. Concept is like Barbeque Nation - veg / non veg served at table on grill pits. There is also a buffet. So for a fixed price there is unlimited food. The food was good (not outstanding though). The ambiance and service was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunitaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirates of Grill also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 

Been to Pirates of Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing