We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely garden restaurant”

Roots Cafe In The Park
Ranked #19 of 2,706 Restaurants in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely garden restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

One of the very few eating places in the Millennium city located in a garden with greenery all around.

Very good food, however they do close early so place check before going. Prompt service and the place is tidy. Not very heavy on the pocket although the prices have increased off late (suppose due to the high food inflation).

Must go if you are looking for light food and a cool place to hangout.....Gurgaon definitely needs many more of such places.

Helpful?
1 Thank grr8traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    131
    26
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Food in natural surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Good option to have a relaxing b'fast in the park with natural surroundings. A bit expensive - break fast for 2 will cost around 500/-. They have a different concept for taking orders - you are provided a notepad and pencil to write your order to handover to guy serving your order. We tried Railway omlette sandwich, which is a good option provided you like green mint chutney in your omlette sandwich. Veg sandwich was also good. Presentation of the sandwiches is very good. We had masala tea along with the sandwiches, didn't like the tea that much. They have some healthy breakfast options like upma, poha, etc., which we didn't try.
You can have a walk/jog around the park and then come for a good hearty breakfast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AarEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Organic & Gluten Free Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Set within the Leisure Valley park in the heart of Gurgaon (or new Gurgaon), it is the greenest place to eat on this side of the highway. Food is heavenly here - Good mix of Organic & Gluten free food.
We were living at Marriot Courtyard for 2 weeks and Roots Cafe recommended an Organic store 'Desi Origins' in DLF Phase 4, Gurgaon where you can get regular supply of your Organic & Gluten Free Food. Quite affordable, we lived off them for 2 weeks of our stay in Delhi.

Rajma chawal & Sabudana vada are clear winners at Roots Cafe. Must Go !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav_Thaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice homely, light, tasty food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Food is nice and light, sitting outdoors in the park makes for an experience as well.
Must try:
- kadhi-chawal
- rajma chawal.
- Sabudana vada (surprisingly good, esp for this part of the world)

Breakfast menu is limited, but after a nice long run... this is your perfect breakfast spot.

Only one drawback... it's a vegetarian place! closest you get to non-veg here is egg!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheCornerChair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa Velha, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Special place in a concrete jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

When in Gurgaon this is heaven the location just inside the Bio park is green the food is amazing.,raw papaya salad was my favourite To have a venue like this in a place like gurgaon is a sanctuary amidst concrete dust and pollution The whole ethos of Roots is amazing I love how the eco education center sits next to the cafe and has info on solar panels and other meaningful things When I stayed in Gurgaon it was a place I could go to to feel and see nature once again so grateful this divine diner exists

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abracadbra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots Cafe In The Park also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 

Been to Roots Cafe In The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing