We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable food at down to earth prices!”

Roots Cafe In The Park
Ranked #18 of 2,765 Restaurants in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Remarkable food at down to earth prices!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have visited this cafe three time now - twice with my colleagues and once with family. Each time the food served in this cafe has made me fall in love with this place.

First about the ambience - it is a small area covered by bamboo blinds from all side which uses fans & coolers ( no AC) for keeping the place cool. The view from each table is of the leisure valley park and at any point in time you can spot squirrels running past the courtyard in front. There are also a number of swings placed near the cafe so one can easily relax with a cup of tea while watching your kids playing.

Now about the food - I have tried the following items from the menu and each one has been excellent :
1) Anda parantha - Hot, fresh and crisp at the edges. Unfortunately they have stopped serving it. I hope someone from the management reads this and decides to add it back on the menu.

2) Aloo tikki - perfect amount of spice with a superb crisp coating on the outside. The green chutney served alongside is a brilliant accompaniment.

3) Akhrot tikki - lovely nutty filling of walnuts in the aloo tikki. Unfortunately this is also not on the menu anymore.

4) Pasta with white sauce - a classic! Served with a generous amount cheese

5) Egg curry platter - Curry reminds me of my mom's food, rotis are thin and soft, masala papad completes the meal

6) Veg biryani platter - The rice had a lovely fragrance and the raita was seasoned to perfection

7) Moong dal chila and Stuffed chila - Both are very well prepared, stuffed chila is quite filling

8) Veg grilled sandwich - Nice cheesy filling and the toast is grilled nicely

9) Scrambled eggs & Toast - As good as it gets!

10) Poha - The humble dish with a fiery tadka

And last but not the least - masala chai to wash down all the lovely food. Each time we have ended the meal, the total bill always comes as a pleasant surprise.

Want to go there as often as I can!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I_StillHaventFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeRoots, Owner at Roots Cafe In The Park, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear I_StillHaventFound,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your earnest feedback for Roots - Cafe in the Park.

We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed dining at Roots with your colleagues and family and we will pass on your feedback to all of the staff members.

We are currently in the midst of developing an exciting new summer menu which will be launched soon. Due to this, we have temporarily removed some of the items from the menu as we are constantly testing recipes to ensure our regular guests have new dishes to look forward to. Nonetheless, the next time you crave one of our delicious egg parathas, please feel free to ask your server and we will be happy to make it for you!

We look forward to welcoming you at Roots- Cafe in the Park again soon !

Warm regards,

Roots- Cafe in the Park Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    138
    27
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Outdoor Ambience”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Guess its only place in Gurgaon wherein you can have a good lunch with family in the middle of a park. Great place for children, plenty of space to run around and play. Food is above average. Service is good. Prices are reasonable.
The place has become much more popular in last couple of years and to their credit they are maintaining the standard and character of the place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RehanaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Simple place, good simple food!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved the open-air ambience of the place, in the middle of Liesure Valley! Having food under the trees or under a thatched roof has its own charm. The food itself is simple, vegetarian and delicious! And the prices very pocket-friendly! The only drawback is that it would become too hot to visit in the summer months!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skakar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to feel outdoor seating..... Also best outdoor place for date”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The atmosphere is really awesome here.... as this is in leisure valley park.. Prices are min... The best place for date in outdoor seating.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The ideal place for a lazy weekend breakfast...”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Roots is a great breakfast place, a rarity in Gurgaon where most places don't open very early... a beautiful earthy setting and seating (indoor and outdoor), coupled with a simple menu at decent rates and lovely winter weather... is what you should expect when you go there during Nov to Feb... :) Stroll around in the park before or after breakfast, soak in the sun or enjoy the random drizzle, based on what the weather gods have in store for you... Food is tasty and very homelike, we had upma and the veg and cheese open sandwich, both were yum; followed by hot masala tea with loads of ginger...a perfect start to a Sunday, or for that matter any day... highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManasiBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots Cafe In The Park also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 

Been to Roots Cafe In The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing