We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the best Indian coastal food in Delhi NCR”
Review of Amaranta

Amaranta
Ranked #23 of 2,956 Restaurants in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $65
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Amaranta- Indian coastal restaurant serves the catch of the day from the 7,500 kilometre long Indian coastline. Fresh fish is flown in daily from the Arabian Sea, Indian Ocean and the Bay of Bengal. Live crabs and lobsters from the Lakshadweep islands on offer are kept in a marine aquarium.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

Amazing food and service. Simply amazing from the moment you enter. Something’s gotta be said for Oberoi hospitality.

The food here is divine. I was positively surprised and amazed by the quality and taste of food.

For starters we had the burrata chat, fish in banana leaves and burrah. All were divine. The quality of fish and lamb was really good.

Main course we had the Kerala fish curry and Andhra lamb pepper fry. Both were he best I have ever had. Must must try both the dishes.

Our server, Anuj, was very helpful and courteous.

Been to many restaurants, but, the food here really stands out. Only downside is that it’s a bit expensive.

Thank PKT207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2018

Great restaurant to have a relaxed evening. The 5 course meal arranged by the hosts was delicious from end to end.

Thank Arun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

The best meal I have ever had in any Indian restaurant was made by Chef Tejas’ wonderful team at Amaranta. Head Waitress Ishrat was outstanding and she could not have been more charming and attentive. Highly recommended for a most wonderful gastronomic experience in a beautiful ambience.

Thank Maverijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rai_Amitabh, General Manager at Amaranta, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out and reviewing our restaurant. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your meal experience with us.

Your appreciation has been shared with the team and Chef's.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Team amaranta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018

This is a rather famous place. Sounds just right to bring over some overseas visitors and impress them with concept food. The ambience is fantastic, low light, tables spaced out nicely to afford privacy at each. A really exhaustive wine list with a very knowledgeable sommelier who suggested a nice Pinot to start proceedings. Appetizers started with Dhokla ya Pakoda – marrying the two ideas. Compressed Water Melon Chaat came next – neat cubes with baby spinach, spiced cashew nuts and a tamarind glaze. Nice and tangy. The Banana Leaf Wrapped Seabass didn’t excite though. There was far too much spice, yet not much taste and certainly none of the subtle banana leaf flavor you would expect to sense. The Spiced Chicken Roll, visually unique (see picture), was somewhat bland as well. With a sorbet coming in as our palate cleanser, we moved on to Pick Pocket – lamb, chicken, onion fritters. Finishing off our mains with Stanley ka Dabba – a Kerala fish curry concept served in a typical Indian stacked tiffin box. With malabar paratha. This was not bad, but had none of the sharp overtones that Kerala is famous for. Mishti Doi Ice-cream was my dessert choice. Didn’t taste of either mishti doi or an ice cream.

All said and done, a nice place to occasionally visit if you are looking for fine dining. The curated menu reads well. The plating is highbrow. I just wish they didn’t temper down the spices – they are the raison d’etre behind the celebration of Indian food. The Oberoi brand is something you associate with authenticity. And they are doing a great disservice by deviating from it.

The fixed menu is decently priced at $80 per person. The wines can burn a hole in your pocket, though, because they pretty much start at $200 a bottle, with taxes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Avijit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkLamba, Manager at Amaranta, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2018

Dear Mr. Avijit R, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable feedback about your dining experience at The Oberoi, Gurgaon. Our teams are here to delight our guests and create memorable experiences and we feel terrible for having failed to do that during your recent visit at Amaranta, at The Oberoi, Gurgaon. May we please request you to share a direct number or an email address, where we can connect with you personally to apologise in person for the inconvenience you have experienced. We sincerely believe in only creating memorable experiences for all our guests and we extremely sorry for having disappointed you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. My team and I would look forward to have your detailed feedback on the overall experience pertaining to the food. May I request you to please write to me directly at amitabh.rai@oberoihotels.com. We eagerly wait to hear from you. Thank you once again. Warm regards, Amitabh Rai General Manager, The Oberoi, Gurgaon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2018

It was an Amazing evening - The attention to Detail is Brilliant. Every thing about the Restaurant is Top Notch.

Well done Amaranta!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shroff2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkLamba, Guest Relations Manager at Amaranta, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Dear Mr. Shroff,

Thank you for taking time out and reviewing our restaurant. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your meal experience with us.

Your appreciation has been shared with the team and Chef's.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Team amaranta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaranta also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 

Been to Amaranta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing