We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coastal Culinary Wonder in Gurgaon Midst!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amaranta

Amaranta
Ranked #38 of 2,695 Restaurants in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Amaranta- Indian coastal restaurant serves the catch of the day from the 7,500 kilometre long Indian coastline. Fresh fish is flown in daily from the Arabian Sea, Indian Ocean and the Bay of Bengal. Live crabs and lobsters from the Lakshadweep islands on offer are kept in a marine aquarium.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Coastal Culinary Wonder in Gurgaon Midst!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We finally landed up at Amaranta after several months of recommendations of our friends and relatives and I would say we were not disappointed. The restaurant lived up to its reputation as one of the finest coastal food fine dining places in north India.

The complementary appetizers, chutneys and welcome drink were excellent. Pepper Prawns, Andhra fish curry, lamb from coastal Bengal and Chettinad vegetables with Malabar pranthas and steamed rice were extremely well made, fresh and distinct.

Service was attentive. The decor is minimalistic in white with some palms to add colour creating the atmosphere for a relaxed dinner. A memorable experience to be revisited again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deepak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Breathtakingly good kitchen. Excellent Indian food with a modern expression.
Breathtakingly expensive -compared to Indian standards.
Quite sterile environment and a travel away from Delhi center.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pkabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Coastal Cuisine - this is must try !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Amaranta is a fine dining Indian coastal restaurant which offers coastal cuisines from 9 coastal regions of the country . What differentiates this place is the fact that under one roof you could taste so many different cuisines and get exposed varied cultures. Andhra snapper with Green Gram Dosa is a must try . This restaurant is a also a winner of " the times food and nightlife awards for 2012" . House speciality is Sea Food

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritu009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For the Epicurean - Coastal Fine Dine at its Best - Watch your Bill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have had an opportunity to Dine at the Amranta several times and have appreciated the food everytime i have visited the Place. I would suggest you try the variety of daily catch ie variety of seafood at the kitchen window and they would cook for you in a sauce of choice served generally with bed of rice or breads on request. There are a variety of pickles and condiments including the popular shrimp pickle which goes well with anything.

Food id generally not very spicy, is dominated with coconut sauce. so if you are allergic please ask for chef who should be happy to your version. Not the best variety of deserts though

Wine selections are good, however you can always venture across the isle to the Bar or the Privy Cigar club. Nice if you like a bit of luxury.

Warning: Since i have been served bottled water without asking and have been overcharged on the bill few times, please be careful. i am not sure this is intentional but as a guest you must be careful as this has happened more often than i expected. PLEASE CHECK YOUR BILL BEFORE YOU PAY (DON'T GET SHY YOU ARE PAYING FOR IT)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Savagetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
253 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had dinner at Amaranta as a family and were extremely pleased with the experience in every way. I think it is the best Indian meal I have ever had.
Food: The food id Indian coastal cuisine from nine regions, every region has its own trained chef. The fish is flown in every day for freshness and you can savor this in every dish.The dishes are Indian but care (and training) has been made to adapt them for the international palate taking into consideration presentation (superb) and texture. We tried the following and every dish was superb. Kerala style crab curry, Corn and curry leaf tikkis, pepper shrimp, the foie gras, stuffed okra, the paneer tikka. For desert we had rasmalai, payasam sampler and paan ice cream (unique and surprisingly good). The food is served using a western formula of amuse bouche, appetizers, palate cleanser and main courses. Everything was excellently flavored, cooked to perfection (especially the foie gras), and amazing to eat.
Service: Outstanding. They were attentive and available whenever you needed them. The staff were helpful and it was clear that they were making an effort to make you you had a great meal in every way.
Ambiance: Superb. The hotel is spectacular, built in a very modern style. You feel that you are in a very swank hotel but do not feel intimidated in any way.
Note the restaurant is expensive, but worth every penny.
Overall, this is one of the best meals that I have ever had.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaranta also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 

Been to Amaranta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing