We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of the Raj”
Review of Tikli Bottom

Tikli Bottom
Type: Other
Attraction details
Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A slice of the Raj”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We first heard about the name from friends and fell over laughing. But I did some research and decided to go there. I called to book in advance (you have to) and was told that we could come over for a Sunday meal.

It was lovely. My then-pregnant wife felt she was back home in her "maaika" with cows in the distance and friendly dogs wandering around. There was even a little pool.

Tikli Bottom is basically a residential farmhouse that belongs to an old British couple who are settled here. They have an operational home farm and a few rooms to stay with a lovely meal set out when the weather is good.

The lunch was fantastic: more so because everyone sat around a single dining table - it was like meeting a new group of friends for the first time rather than the impersonal coldness of a restaurant. The meal was served exactly as it would have been at a friend's place - not stinting on the rather decent wine and beer and food passed around the table. The food was good; the trifle pudding delicious and the company wonderful.

We sat and soaked in the sun for a while and decided we definitely had to come back soon.

Warning: this is not the kind of place where you can raise hell. It is ideal for couples and families or if you want quiet time alone.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TheOriginalBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“"Paradise in Aravallis"”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Isn't paradise a place where one feels at peace, rejuvenated & uplifted.
Set in aravallies, far far away from hustle bustle of city, Tikli Bottom took our breath away.
All tensions & stress just appears.
One is instantly deported to Raj era in this colonial style mansion, which although is jusr 14 yrs old but gives a look as if it had been there for decades.
Adjoining farms, horse stables & many other exotic amimal species completes the picture.
Food however had limited choices for strict vegetarians like us.
Hats off to Mrs & Mr Martin Howard for being such great hosts & training staff to be helpful & friendly.
Learnt from the staff that the couple runs a community school for village kids & faculties visit from England, which is a very noble cause.
Would love to spend a night there soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank prashant garg 07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Conveniently located near the airport, this is a serene and beautifully laid out hotel. I enjoyed walking through the ga”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I will start by saying that the restaurant (had a breakfast, brunch and a birthday dinner here) is great and serves very good food. Definitely try it out even if you're not staying at the hotel. Or actually, just eat at the restaurant and forget the hotel. The rooms are old, outdated and not cozy (even if there is a fireplace in your living room). The hot tub/workout area is not inviting and looked unkempt. A large group of people was drinking beer and smoking right in the hot tub when we came to check the area out, so this together with the general state of the facility made us not want to return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ashukrmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place away from all commercialization”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

A beautiful place, very unexplored (probably that's why I found it more special). I went their for my husband's birthday and the place was totally worth every penny we paid. It's actually a house owned by an English couple, which they have opened up to public. It has a proper english setup, Hat/Coat stand, big sofas, nice garden, a swimming pool and beautiful rooms.

Food: Food was excellent, very home made type. Not too many options but good food.

Drinks: They serve you both alcoholic/non-alcoholic drinks. We had our share of wine which made us very happy. You can just walk into the kitchen and get yourself a drink.

Rooms: Very expensive. I would suggest not to take a room, just go for a day visit.

The best part is, it is situated in between Aravalli hills and hence the view is mesmerizing. Its a must visit place at least once.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank UditaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Beautiful place, out of New Delhi's traffic jams and messy roads.
Went there with some local Indian friends and enjoyed a lot of their home style cuisine, warm relaxing atmosphere and the 'clean' swimming pool.

We paid almost $25 per person which was worth of the visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kitty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tikli Bottom also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 

Been to Tikli Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing