We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best chinese food.”
Review of MainLand China

MainLand China
Ranked #128 of 2,762 Restaurants in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best chinese food.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The best Chinese food in town. True to its name the food and ambience is simply great. We love it - truly.

Helpful?
Thank Vindhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    87
    27
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
G NOIDA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Among the best Chinese eating places in NCR”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have found the sunday buffet here to be the best value for money anywhere in NCR.

The food's good, staff helpful. In all a good experience.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anand58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“More of a Party Place”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good food & menu but the place is more of a party place than a quiet chinese restaurant. It was full of extended families' seemingly meeting after a very long time hence extra noisy & excited.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeetSaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Foriegn objects in food, v poor service, average food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited Mainland China yesterday in Sector 29 Gurgaon with family. Had a horrible experience in all aspects – Food, Service, Ambience and cleanliness
Ordered Starters and soup, the soup had a black ANT in it. It was quite surprising that a new setup has this type if hygiene and cleanliness around. What was even worse was the restaurant was not at all equipped to handle such an issue. I had to myself call for the Chef and the restaurant manager after the acknowledgement from service staff of the insect in the food. There was no proactiveness shown by either of them to settle and comfort the guest. The service staff on the other hand acted in a panic manner and all of them (5 waiters) gathered near the service station dissecting the soup and discussing without even realizing that it was causing the other guests to also think that here is something wrong in the food – totally avoidable and handled very immaturely
The main course we ordered was pan fried noodles and there was a black hair in it. First when I called for the service staff he rubbished it saying that this is from baby-corn. I looked back my dish and there was no corn in the preparation. I asked him to re-check and then he did and acknowledge the issue. Post which he asked me to wait and he took the dish to the kitchen. He did not come back for 15+ min and when I asked for him, he came and said chef is saying sorry. Please note nor the restaurant manager not the chef came to speak to me about the second blunder in the food. I asked from the cheque and was told that I just had starters and it is on the house as both soup and main-course was not consumed, I instead and paid my dues (KOT/bill no. 4455, date 17/03/13. Table no. 2) and walked away from Mainland china passing the comment on the restaurant manager that conveniently avoiding a situation that happened in a restaurant does not help, he should come and spoken to me
We need to have capable food and service staff in a standalone restaurant who are mature, trained and have service attitude to handle such situations apart from relooking a hygiene and cleanliness in the restaurant to ensure no more foreign objects get into food which is a serious health and risk issue

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav013a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Repetitive menu. Over hyped place.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If u dont have any option and dying to eat chinese in this area, then head for it for basic hygiene. Every other day u will find the same boring menu... From starters to desserts. Its almost like hostel food...but the chinese version.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MainLand China also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 

Been to MainLand China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing