We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major attraction is bakery and candle light dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Vadodara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Its a 4 star hotel situated in the heart of Baroda city very nearby to the railway station.

It has a fitness center, business center, large rooms, swimming pool, club,

has a nice restaurant for candle light dinner and high tea.

plates and cutlery are sterilized before using them

very nice paneer dishes

has a huge bakery with nice cakes and biscuits.

a great place for hosting parties and marriage ceremonies

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justchilling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 600 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2010

Hotel surya is located within one km from the railway station, so I had selected this hotel as I had to catch a late night train to Kota. The hotel is itself a landmark in baroda, and the executive room costed us around that of any average hotels double room.
The room was tastefully decorated and equipped with all required amenities.
Chinese, Thai, Japanese, Indonesian, Malaysian, Spanish, Italian, French, Creole, Lebanese and Mexican delicacies are avaialable in the hotel, but be prepared to wait for half an hour for your order. Their in-house bakery, Pastry Palace is also very good. I`ll surely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank pooja310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Decent enough 3 star hotel with a liquor permit for overseas visitors. The view over the slum next door is dissapointing, as are the mosquitos, a constant irritation everywhere in the town.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dicknky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

One night i had vacated the hotel at 11:30PM to catch my train, Unfortunately i had not checked the train position in th night, the train was late by 04 hours. I hate to sit in waiting hall and i felt asleep.

Then I ring to Hotel Surya palace and i expalined the situation. They immediately agreed to stay in the same room upto my tarin arrival. I felt very happy at that moment. I took rest in the room. Early morning I caught my train.

Eventhough I paid for that night, after bill settelment they handled the customers with very care.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GOKULAKANNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We were for a two days stay at Surya palace. Location is very close to vadodara station. Ambience is quite good. Service is excellent. Though rooms are small but interior is good & they are kept clean. One shouldnt forget to try the famous Gujarati thali of the hotel. Though they advertise for continental food, they dont provide. Same is the case with net connectivity. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rakeshkapadnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We shifted from hotel express residency to Hotel Surya on 8th of December 2008 due to non comfort, lac of hygenicness. The hotel was 10 minutes walking distance from station. The Hospitality was good. Rooms were little bit smaller but interior, color scheme gives cozy feel. Room service was enough efficient. Rooms were equipped with Tea / Coffee maker, Mini bar, LCD TV etc. Mainly cleaning & hospitality was observed. Also hotel was providing 2 bottle of mineral water which every guest needs. Even on last day of the stay at hotel Surya, the assistant had guided how to go to railway station & the location where the busses will go to our destination if we didn’t get the railway reservations. This is what we were expecting.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SachinKondhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmehra, General Manager at Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2009

Dear Mr.Kondhare,

Thank you for staying at Surya Palace Hotel, and for the kind review.
Sir, for the sake of clarity may i inform you that we are called Surya Palace Hotel and not Hotel Surya which is a budget hotel in Vadodara. We are often confused for Hotel Surya due to the common name, but is an entirely different hotel.

Surya Palace Hotel is a leading 4 star business hotel, with newly refurbished rooms, with the latest amenities and services for the discerning business traveller such as yourself.

Please inform us of your next visit to Vadodara, and give us an opportunity to serve you once again.

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,

Carmo Baretto
General Manager
Surya Palace Hotel, Vadodara.

www.suryapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed here in September 2009 for a conference. The conference was held in a large hall in their basement, and I was given a room on one of the upper floors.

The room was very well kept. The furnishings weren't lavish, but the room was very comfortable and clean, including the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, the AC was quiet. The view from the window was terrible — this isn't the best part of Vadodara. However, it is close to the railway station, which is an advantage.

I didn't eat at any of the restaurants, as all my meals were at the conference. As such, there were special menus devised by the conference organisers that I was getting, rather than the hotel's regular food. Whatever was served was well cooked and tasty.

I had a good time at this hotel. The service is adequate, if not great, and the place itself is well kept and clean. If I had to come to Vadodara again, I'd try to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parang_Mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vadodara hotels
1.1 mi away
Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara
0.4 mi away
GenX Vadodara 1589
GenX Vadodara 1589
#1 of 67 in Vadodara
268 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Orchid Central, Vadodara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Welcomhotel Vadodara
Welcomhotel Vadodara
#5 of 67 in Vadodara
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fern Residency, Vadodara
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Vadodara-Alkapuri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace

Address: Jetalpur Rd | Opp. Parsi Agyari, Sayajigunj, Vadodara 390020, India (Formerly Surya Palace Hotel)
Location: India > Gujarat > Vadodara District > Vadodara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vadodara
#3 Business Hotel in Vadodara
Price Range: $68 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Surya Palace hotel is now a Grand Mercure, an ideal choice for travelers seeking upscale accommodation for business and leisure alike. The hotel is a mere 2-min drive from the Railway Station and 10-min drive from the airport. Popular city attractions like MS University, Sayaji Garden, Baroda Museum and Laxmi Vilas Palace are a 5-min drive away and the UNESCO World Heritage site of Champaner-Pavagarh is a 50-min drive away. Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace strategically located at Sayajigunj, is well connected with major industrial zones in Halol, Savli, Makarpura, Jambusar, Karjan and Nandesari. Major shopping and entertainment hubs like Inorbit Mall, Central Mall, street shopping areas like Juna bazaar and Khanderao market within a close drive from the hotel. Well-known hospitals like Sterling, HCG Cancer Centre, Sunshine Global, Baroda Heart and others are within 15 mins driving distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing