We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BUSINESS HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Vadodara
Certificate of Excellence
Indore, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“GREAT BUSINESS HOTEL”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Food quality is great. Always visit when hotel has a country specific food festival. Great CHEF to talk to. Always enjoyed the multi-cuisine dinner. The decor is great in the rooms. Restaurant also is well decorated. Check-in check-out slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATULDADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuryaPalace, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings!

At the onset, I take the privilege of thanking you for patronizing Surya Palace Hotel.

It is always our our pleasure to hear from our guests. Heartfelt thank you for taking time out for penning down your experience with us. Your feedback is valuable.

Look forward to your stay in the years to come.

Thanking you,
Regards,
Pooja Upadhaya
Manager - Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    231
    57
    11
    12
See reviews for
105
23
38
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

It was a one night business trip. The hotel is good with all modern facilities.The rooms are very well decorated. Food is really good. Staffs are really friendly and overall a nice experience. It is a must try hotel for Vadodara trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantoshGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuryaPalace, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings!

At the onset, I take the privilege of thanking you for patronizing Surya Palace Hotel.

It is always our our pleasure to hear from our guests. Heartfelt thank you for taking time out for penning down your experience with us. Your feedback matters.

Look forward to your stay in the years to come.

Thanking you,
Regards,
Pooja Upadhaya
Manager - Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

According to me this is the best hotel in Vadodara. Either you are on business or with family you will love the place for its cleanliness and food, I don't know why some people are complaining about the restaurant or the food, yeah they could have spaced out a little more and it does get crowded as the place is famous even with locals and the buffet is every penny worth with a very wide assortment. I also love the breakfast spread. It even has a liquor store that's so much welcomed in an otherwise dry state...
The only couple of downs are 1 TheGym is outdated and poorly equipped and the area is a bit low grade for a property like this and they have been upgrading since eternity so their could be construction around..,
But for the price (corporate) , I don't think there could be better...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prayag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuryaPalace, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings!

At the onset, I take the privilege of thanking you for patronizing Surya Palace Hotel.

It is always our our pleasure to hear from our guests. Heartfelt thank you for taking time out for penning down your experience with us. It really feels glad to hear such high from our valued guests. We strive to deliver the best of hospitality.

Look forward to your stay in the years to come.

Thanking you,
Regards,
Pooja Upadhaya
Manager - Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a farewell given to one of our colleagues and had 16 people join in for the dinner. Dinner was a buffet dinner but we were not very impressed with the space in the hotel. it seemed that the tables were too close and we did not have a free moving space along the buffet table.
Privacy cannot be maintained . The main course had options on vegetarian and non vegetarian but the taste of food was not great. The dessert section was okak.
I think the Hotel Management should seriously think of removing some tables and make some space so that they create some room for people to walk around and site peacefully without the fear of having someone peep in or overhear their conversations

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seshan_iyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuryaPalace, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings!

At the onset, I take the privilege of thanking you for patronizing Surya Palace Hotel.

It is always our our pleasure to hear from our guests. Heartfelt thank you for sharing your experience with us. We have taken cognizance of your complaint and would definitely work on our areas of improvement.

Thanking you,
Regards,
Pooja Upadhaya
Manager - Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur City, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

i been there i go there very often , a nice place ot stay at the price they provide the room they , new renovated rooms are clean with less decoration and bathroom with glass door but you require some one to open door sometime, knobs are very small inside so they need a big handel and a big knob for elderly people , breakfast is boring muffins and etc are not good to eat , room service is now days very slow and terrible tea , one more thing if you have a car an dis given for parking do not leave your chocolates and valuables you will not get it back, over all a good hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vievek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuryaPalace, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings!

At the onset, I take the privilege of thanking you for patronizing Surya Palace Hotel.

It is always our our pleasure to hear from our guests. Heartfelt thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your feedback inspires us to better ourselves in every step. We regret for the valuables you lost. We would make sure that things are taken care at the best of its' knowledge.

Look forward to your stay in the years to come.

Thanking you,
Regards,
Pooja Upadhaya
Manager - Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Beautiful hotel to stay. Located near railway station. Very nice & specious rooms having good amenities for very comfortable stay. FREE MASSAGE is very novel offer for guest to get relaxed after days work !

Food is just superb & too good. Breakfast & buffet dinner is excellent in taste , variety, presentation. Staff is very polite & dedicated.

In-house wine shop with instant, hassle free permit facility for guest.

Room Tip: Worth to stay in this hotel to enjoy stay, comfort, food. Take higher floor roadside facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIRODKAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuryaPalace, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings!

At the onset, I take the privilege of thanking you for patronizing Surya Palace Hotel.

It is always our our pleasure to hear from our guests. Heartfelt thank you for taking time out for sharing your experience with us.

Look forward to your stay in all the years to come.

Thanking you,
Regards,
Pooja Upadhaya
Manager - Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights during January 2014. Overall the stay was comfortable, as expected.
The restaurant is good and favored by the locals though one feels that after a couple of meals, the similarity in taste lingers. No complaints though.
However, during the shower (?), found that it was not working. Tried all angles but could not make it work. Somehow, took bath under the tap. Complained at the reception before leaving for the day and they promised that it will be back in operations.
The next morning same story repeated. I had a flight to catch, hence did not complain again.
The staff was courteous during the stay, be they the bell staff, the reception people, the waiters, house keeping etc.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, probably top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv_Phantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuryaPalace, Public Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings!

At the onset, I take the privilege of thanking you for patronizing Surya Palace Hotel.

It is always our our pleasure to hear from our guests. Heartfelt thank you for taking time out for penning down your experience with us. We have taken cognizance of your complaint and would leave no stone unturned to catering you in the best possible way on your future visits.

Look forward to your stay in the years to come.

Thanking you,
Regards,
Pooja Upadhaya
Manager - Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vadodara hotels
1.1 mi away
Gateway Hotel at Akota Gardens Vadodara
1.7 mi away
Royal Orchid Central, Vadodara
1.1 mi away
Welcomhotel Vadodara
Welcomhotel Vadodara
#6 of 66 in Vadodara
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Vadodara-Alkapuri
0.6 mi away
Eastin Residences Vadodara
0.8 mi away
Ginger Hotel-Vadodara
Ginger Hotel-Vadodara
#2 of 66 in Vadodara
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace

Property: Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace
Address: Jetalpur Rd | Sayajigunj, Opp. Parsi Agyari, Baroda, Vadodara 390020, India (Formerly Surya Palace Hotel)
Location: India > Gujarat > Vadodara District > Vadodara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vadodara
#3 Business Hotel in Vadodara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vadodara's luxury business hotel, Surya Palace, welcomes you to the city for a luxurious and comfortable business trip. Surya Hotel Vadodarais the best halt for a business traveler. The hotel is just 1/2 a km from Vadodara railway station and 10 minutes' drive from the Vadodara airport. To serve the international guests, its just 2 hours drive from the Ahmedabad airport via the expressway. The property stands tall in the heart of the city camouflaging the hospitality sector for almost three decades now. Surya Palace hotel is the flagship property of the Jindal Group of Hotels. It is a luxurious business hotel with almost 4-star facilities. The hotel provides unmatched comfort and impeccable hospitality making it not only the premier business hotel but also a sought after venue for weddings and other occasions. Surya Palace endeavors to provide excellence in service, leveraging contemporary systems and technology. In 2008, the hotel received the CNBC TV18 Emerging India Award, followed by the NASSCOM - CNBC IT User Award for Best IT Adoption in the Tourism Sector. This award was preceded by nomination twice as the "Business Hotel of the Year - Economy" at the H & FS Awards for Excellence. From an executive in the city for conference, a traveler for a business deal, or a couple for family gathering, anybody looking to leap into the depths of Gujarat, Surya Palace hotel provides you the most comfortable stay in the city. The hotel seeks to redefine your expectations. 8 Suites, 35 Premier Club, 63 Club, and 26 Premium Deluxe rooms have been thoughtfully designed keeping your needs and comfort in mind.The rooms combine the best from both the world - classic comfort with contemporary amenities. Stylish and spacious, the rooms bestow a fulfilling experience to those who expect only the highest level of elegance, sophistication, and personal service. The rooms are equipped well with twin bed on request, safe locker, workstation, coffee maker, and audio visual arrangement. The club rooms and executive suites enjoy complimentary fruit basket/cookies. The executive suites are furnished with on-demand movies, DVD players, large LCDs. With stay extravaganza, the hotel also caters to its guests with in-house multi cuisine restaurant - AZURE. The international food theatre blends Indian dishes with world delicacies. Azure aims to serve the world on your platter without eventually traveling. Surya Palace also has its own fitness club to help the guests relax amidst the hectic schedule of a business trip. The hotel does not only serve the purpose of stay and dine but also has banquet halls to serve the purpose of celebrations and gatherings. The property has 5 banquet halls to serve every scale and type of occasion. From ethnic weddings to corporate meets, from cozy kitty parties to family get-togethers, Surya Palace has venue for every celebration. The sophisticacy of the occasion is aggrandized with its soundproof ambience and mood lighting facility. Surya Palace serves you with every facility to stay, dine, or celebrate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Vadodara Surya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing