We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Impressive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Bhagwati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Bhagwati
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Surat
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Locationally, ideal - close to the airport and the highway, the property is impressive by its sheer physical size.
On a closer look, the glass facades make the property look ultra-chic. The interiors were trendy and lavish but unassuming and not garish at all.
We had the buffet lunch at the Cafe Piano. The hotel markets itself as one for he vegetarians. The soups and starters were excellent. Main course was an interesting fusion of vegetarian into traditional non vegetarian dishes like the lasagna, in which mince meat was substituted with minced soya. It was indeed delectable.
Though I was in the property for a short 1 hour for lunch, I assume the rooms would also be excellent. I would certainly out the The Grand Bhagwati on my next stay in Surat city!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeevM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anoopsuri, General Manager at The Grand Bhagwati, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Rajeev Ji

Thanks for encouraging feedback.

we would like you to stay with us next time you are in surat and we can assure you of the Best 5 Star Deluxe experience in the City.

Please do send in your reservation to reservationsurat@thegrandbhagwati.com.

Regards
Anoop Suri CHA FIH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    131
    40
    22
    30
See reviews for
92
41
9
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

A great place to stay, very close to the Airport... but far from the main heart of the city... need you own convyance to go to the city...or an auto... but the faclities and other things of the hotel are really good... A nice place to live in...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtinBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anoopsuri, General Manager at The Grand Bhagwati, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Atin Ji

Thanks for the excellent feedback.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Surat Cabs and AMU cabs are a great and economical transport system started in Surat and these cabs are available at the hotel on call any time. TGB hotel is just 1.5 Kms from the airport and 10 Kms from the City centre and 14 Kms from railway station.

Our Duty Managers are there to provide any assistance at any given time.

Regards

Anoop Suri CHA FIH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Though a bit far from the main city, The Grand Bhagwati in Surat is a hotel I would recommend for any trip - business or leisure. The staff is very cordial and extremely helpful. The hotel rooms are very comfortable and the service is almost perfect.

The only thing the hotel lacks is a complimentary wi-fi service and non-vegetarian food options, which would make it complete in all respects.

Really loved my stay in the hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duggalharshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, india
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I happened to be at surat in april'2012. We had been staying with a family and planned to go out for Lunch - a vegetarian one at that.
We were taken to Mr. and Mrs. Somani (thought what a funny name for a restaurant) at The Grand Bhagwati.
I never had such good vegetarian food (in FUSION style) before. The entire experience was worth it. FINE DINING AT ITS FINEST.
Without any hesitation do I say --- ONE OF THE FINEST PLACES IN INDIA TO HAVE SOME REAL GOOD VEGETARIAN FOOD.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashutosh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

TGB is complete veg 5 star hotel in india,this things I like most. And excellent food, complete service, nice location .buffe dinner is very very special. All item is very special verity , I hope every person eat this restaurant, they woud like it. Nice nice nice....!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guuruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

A very good hotel, max 6-7 mins from the airport, hotel staffs were very helpful, good was equally good, having all sorts of amenities like swimming pool, gym, no of restaurants.

It got movie theatre as well which is an added advantage. Only drawback is: out of the city

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ParthaAcharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Grand Bhagwati brings forth the following,
- Superb range of amenities (the club membership I heard is to die for amongst the Surtis)
- Rooms like no other in the city of Surat
- An amazing view of ONGC to one side, the airport to the other
- And did I miss out the amazing breakfast spread!!
- I heard they really specialise in the marriage arrangement thingy

Drawbacks,
- Distance from the main city (20 min drive. So all from bigger metros it is more like 1/10th of our day travel!)
- Pure Vegetarian 5-star!! (for 99% out there, it is a positive)

To compete with the best like the Taj all it needs is to spruce up their service,in terms of being 'naturally' compassionate... rather than being compelled to...

But anyway, 5-star all the way. The minus 1 star for the lil lack of 'perfect' hospitality!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing ONGC. Gives a great night view of the burning flame (would make more sense once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kunal_Hakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surat hotels
3.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat
7.2 mi away
Lords Plaza - Surat
Lords Plaza - Surat
#5 of 32 in Surat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
7.6 mi away
Budget Inn Bellevue
Budget Inn Bellevue
#2 of 32 in Surat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Ginger Surat
Hotel Ginger Surat
#3 of 32 in Surat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Central Excellency
Hotel Central Excellency
#10 of 32 in Surat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sifat International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Bhagwati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bhagwati

Property: The Grand Bhagwati
Address: Magdalla Circle, Dumas Road, Surat, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Surat
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Surat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Bhagwati 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover and experience the only Five Star Deluxe Hotel in Gujarat This sophisticated, urban retreat includes unique shopping, fine dining and the rich interior setting. The Hotel provides travelers with a unique haven in the city, blending its rich history and timeless service with the latest amenities. Offering 170 luxurious rooms and suites in different categories, this luxury hotel is the ideal headquarter both for your business meeting or a leisure escape. Guests at our hotel can also enjoy a variety of dining experiences – from specialty beverages and light snacks – to multi- cuisine dining, featuring an open kitchen, chef's table and cozy lounge. From intimate wedding celebrations to grand affairs, our event space offers a warm and inviting atmosphere influenced by the hotel’s modern décor. Divided among six state-of-the-art banquet halls, our luxury hotel boasts more than 1,25,000 square feet of pillar less flexible banqueting space. The ClubThe hotel boasts an Elite Club which has best amenities & facilities;• Swimming pool • Coffee shop • Cigar Lounge • Tennis court • Table Tennis • Squash • Billiards & Pool tables • Jacuzzi • Children’s area • Discotheque • Mini Theatre • Walking track and card room Unwind in the hotel club and fitness center, enjoy a mock tail in the lounge or treat yourself to a memorable dining experience at the restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Bhagwati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Bhagwati Hotel Surat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing