We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, courteous Service”
Review of The Grand Bhagwati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Bhagwati
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Surat
Pune
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, courteous Service”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Hotel The Grand Bhagwati has recently opened in Surat of the famous Bhagwati Group, Ahmedabad. The Hotel is on Dumas Road around 15-16 kms from the Railway Station and you are out of city limits when you reach this Hotel. However convinient for people visiting Hazira as it is closer from there. The Hotel has excellent indoors, and you get a warm welcome to this hotel. You are also guided to the room and the check in formalities were completed without any wait. The rooms are excellent with all the ammeneties you could wish for. I was suprised to see a 46" SONY colour television in the room which none of the Hotels provide. The complimentary breakfast is extensive although they serve only veg, However with the current scheme of Rs.3250/- + Taxes the deal in really great and you get much more value than spent. Overall a thrilling experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnandRajore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    155
    46
    22
    32
See reviews for
113
47
12
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Grand Bhawati: first thing is this hotel is completely VEGETARIAN! No liquor service. Quite remotely located in surat outskirt. There is no optional eateries nearby. The amenities: swimming pool-not swimmable, room service is not very prompt.
Food is completely vegetarian and not tasty. All is cooked with industrial efficiency and there is lack of human touch. Cheese served in buffet breakfast is YUk!
Delux rooms are moderately clean. Mattress is good. They have large LCD tv with limited channels. No wifi. Toiletteries are good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voice4nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We are visited TGB in march 2011 for take dinner. In this hotel rooms also available,its room very nice and clean, spaceus. Its food are very teste and hygeiniqe.We loved its food.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ababariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I visited The Grand Bhagwati on a business trip for Surat,Auto-Expo. The best thing about the hotel was its proximity to the airport. Hence the comfort !
The second best thing about the hotel was its ambience ! It was more than expectations to see a palace in the surburbs.
Price was high but was worth the place. The service was good and staff was friendly. The security was very good.X-Ray machines were used for checking.
There were two lifts , which rather confused as the reception was reached by one lift and then had to go on the other lift to reach the room.
The restaurant was fair enough and food was decent. I loved the paranthas, which made me nostalgic ! Would recommend them the most.
Conference rooms were fair enough for meetings and presentations.
Overall, it was a good stay with luxury and comfort during business.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baljinder_bedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

During my last business trip to Surat, I clubbed it with leisure. Though I used to stay with Hotel Gateway (Taj Group), I decided to give TGB (as popularly known by this name) a try. And, believe me- no repent at all - my decision turned out to be fantastic as we were overwhelmed by their unique way of welcoming us with folding hands and everybody (right from Doorman to Security man to Bellboy to Receptionist) by saying "Namaste"

As TGB is newly built, cleanliness is spic'n span. First we were given airport view room, which on our request was changed over to city view, the next day. Food in their restaurant was though a bit spicy but delicious as well.

Only thing one should consider before opting for TGB is that it is pure veg hotel and located quite far off from the centre of main city.

Overall, our stay was truly memorable and I highly recommend TGB to all would be travellers to Surat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones with impeccable details and fantastic designs. Price-wise Casa Candolim is on par with these better-class hotels. But the comparison fails, I’m sure we will still fondly remember the vacation we had there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msakhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

When we heard that theres an exclusive only veg Five-star Hotel in Surat I decided to take my wife to the hotel - The Grand Bhagwati Hotels (TGB) hotel - on Valentines eve (both of us being vegetarian).

The hotel is truly grand and is built on an area of 6, 00,000 lakh square feet. It is also the biggest five-star of the city having 170 rooms and the biggest convention hall in the country (in-hotel category). The hotel also has club facilities, half Olympic-sized swimming pool, spa etc

But all this was secondary as we found out that the best part of the hotel is its F&B. A large spread of veg food with an amazing range of desserts (they dont even use eggs). My wife truly enjoyed it.

The only drawback is its slightly outside the city but much closer to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satana66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surat hotels
3.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat
7.3 mi away
Lords Plaza - Surat
Lords Plaza - Surat
#5 of 37 in Surat
461 reviews
7.6 mi away
Budget Inn Bellevue
Budget Inn Bellevue
#2 of 37 in Surat
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Ginger Surat
Hotel Ginger Surat
#3 of 37 in Surat
320 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Sifat International
7.1 mi away
Hotel Central Excellency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Bhagwati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bhagwati

Property: The Grand Bhagwati
Address: Magdalla Circle, Dumas Road, Surat, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Surat District > Surat
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Surat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Bhagwati 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover and experience the only Five Star Deluxe Hotel in Gujarat This sophisticated, urban retreat includes unique shopping, fine dining and the rich interior setting. The Hotel provides travelers with a unique haven in the city, blending its rich history and timeless service with the latest amenities. Offering 170 luxurious rooms and suites in different categories, this luxury hotel is the ideal headquarter both for your business meeting or a leisure escape. Guests at our hotel can also enjoy a variety of dining experiences – from specialty beverages and light snacks – to multi- cuisine dining, featuring an open kitchen, chef's table and cozy lounge. From intimate wedding celebrations to grand affairs, our event space offers a warm and inviting atmosphere influenced by the hotel’s modern décor. Divided among six state-of-the-art banquet halls, our luxury hotel boasts more than 1,25,000 square feet of pillar less flexible banqueting space. The ClubThe hotel boasts an Elite Club which has best amenities & facilities;• Swimming pool • Coffee shop • Cigar Lounge • Tennis court • Table Tennis • Squash • Billiards & Pool tables • Jacuzzi • Children’s area • Discotheque • Mini Theatre • Walking track and card room Unwind in the hotel club and fitness center, enjoy a mock tail in the lounge or treat yourself to a memorable dining experience at the restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Bhagwati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Bhagwati Hotel Surat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing