We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent, but some changes required...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maneland Jungle Lodge
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“decent, but some changes required...”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

i went to sasan gir with my mother and younger sister on a holiday trip on a 3 day holiday trip, and decided to stay here for 2 days.
the caretaker of this place seemed very cordial initially, and that's why we decided to stay there (we hadn't done reservations as we wanted to explore all aspects of gir). Below I enumerate my views in tangible terms.

PROS
This place has a 'retro' look, and this gives a lot of novelty value. Outside the rooms, they have kept village-designed cots where we can sit and chat.
The washrooms are reasonably spacious.
Since the rooms are designed as separate cottages (2-attached together), so there is good privacy.
The food is decent, and they are flexible about the timing of the food as well.

CONS
The rooms and washrooms are not very well maintained. In our room, the washroom had a big hole towards the ceiling :( Likewise, the a/c was very inefficient and the room would simply not get cool.
Our drivers (yes, we had two of them) complained of poor service from the people who served the food.
Room service is not good... we had to actually scold the attendants (who were young lads) to make them work, and even for basic things like arranging for drinking water, etc.

Overall, this is a good place, but there is huge scope for improvement and there is potential to make this the No. 1 accommodation in Gir.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xplorer_DrChewIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashokchavda, General Manager at Maneland Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Sir, You will see many visible changes viz. service, AC quality, TV, Hot water etc on your next visit.
We are changing the place keeping the retro look the same.
We wait for your next visit.
regards,
ashok chavda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
126 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed as a part of our Gujarat road-trip and visit to Gir. The resort seems to have seen better times and needs some serious investment by its owner as a lot of the resort is falling apart. However, the staff and the manager at the resort were genuinely nice and provided very good service. The young boys handling the kitchen and overall affairs of the resort were enthusiastic and served us well. The food was amazing and catered to our needs and tastes without being repetitive. Our kids loved the food and that was a big relief for us!
The rooms were quite basic (which was fine for the 'out in a jungle' feel) and we enjoyed the large window overlooking the jungle periphery. The split ac was good and there was running water and our room came with a tiny 14 inch CRT TV. However, lots of broken/shaky bits in the room and bathroom - curtain rods, soap holder, toilet seat, rickety chair, generally pretty old furniture kind of made us feel that the owner did not seriously have his heart in the resort.
There is not much to do at the resort. There are some sporting equipment like bat, ball, frisbee etc, which was welcome. It has a non-functional pool gathering dust and muck, a pity!
Some land-scaping, optimizing the facilities (without losing that rustic/jungle charm) and up gradation of the room interiors and furniture can make it a great option for stay.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a balcony and is a good idea if you want a private sit out. However it will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank deepz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashokchavda, General Manager at Maneland Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Deepz,
On your next visit you will see a lot of changes in the hotel. We are taking genuine interest in our property and now all the rooms are fitted with good sized TV. New AC, Geyser, etc. We are also in the process of changing the look without loosing the charm of the hotel.
You are invited to have one more appointment with Lions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The staff are very humble and go out of there way to make your stay memorable . Food is a basic vege meal but clean and cooked well and is tasty . The gardens is abundant with bird life and is in close proximity to the sasan gir park .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashokchavda, General Manager at Maneland Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you, Do visit again to the only place that have real Jungle Charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were group of 12 and had a wonderful experience of jungle stay with very humble staff and simply adorable food.. Need not even think of eating outside,,, Very good ambience and special was the dhamake dance arranged by staff....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gopal0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashokchavda, General Manager at Maneland Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you Gopalji,
We look forward to serve you again and again with the same zeal.

Ashok Chavda.
GM,
Maneland Jungle Lodge..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 Nights at Maneland Jungle lodge - Gir. Amazing resort with a perfect ambiance for the wild. The resort is spread across the large area with very limited amenities. But if you wish to have a feel of forest than I think one have to go for this. The food we had here was the best out of all the other hotels we stayed in Gujarat. Its a full course meal that starts with papad and buttermilk and completes with dessert. Rooms are not with very higher facilities but we get very clean rooms and having a big space in the rooms.
The managing person here Bharatbhai (cell no – [--]) has been the most hospitable host who made us the most comfortable and memorable stay at this property helping us with anything that we asked for during the stay including arrangements for all the safaris we had here.
Also thanks to mr. jay (cell no – [--]) who made our all bookings. He was also very caring and friendly nature boy helped us very well.
Overall I strongly recommend any one who looking for good location in gir and also with good hospitality. this is not luxury abode but it is definitely a decent place to roughen up away from luxury resorts for families.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshanahuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed for two days at this lodge. Apart from being economical it has great service. The staff makes you feel warm and welcome. The location of the lodge adds to the experience of living in the wilderness. I loved the food here, it was very fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhaumik_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

If and whenever I visit gir again, its surely going to be this place. The only place where you get a feel of Jungle. Lovely location, clean bathrooms and rooms . Located on the main road from medarda to talala . exatly near to petrol pump , not on main road but have 1kms rough road to reach at lodge . but hey we're here for camping and wildlife. The staff too was quite friendly. Keep it up! its a really a nice experince.

Room Tip: if you are 6 to 7 adult in a group than demand for a seprate vila . that is very nice and littlw aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radhika m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
145 reviews
7.2 mi away
Vishal Lords Inn Gir Forest
0.6 mi away
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
#1 of 31 in Gir National Park
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gir Jungle Lodge
Gir Jungle Lodge
#2 of 31 in Gir National Park
340 reviews
2.9 mi away
Asiatic Lion Lodge
Asiatic Lion Lodge
#1 of 23 in Sasan Gir
238 reviews
3.1 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 21 in Sasan Gir
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maneland Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maneland Jungle Lodge

Property: Maneland Jungle Lodge
Address: Sasan Gir, | District Junagadh, Gir National Park 362 135, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maneland Jungle Lodge is designed to match the asthetics of the area & stylized using local material & construction techniques. The lodge nestling in small hills offers a perfect blend of the wild, exciting & even romantic experience of the forest.Gir - a proud heritage possessed by the present generation, is not merely a heaven of wildlife. It symbolizes history , that has witnessed the vicissitudes of nature, the travails of wildlife development, the gradual recognition given to this nature's bestowal, and consequent emergence of conservation ideology. Despite the onslaught of biotic disturbances and climatic hostilities, Gir - with its virginal identity, stands as a testimony of nature's intrinsic self reviving power. Gir promises to unfold before you the unexplored vistas of wilderness and the splendour of wildlife, which is tranquil yet vibrant, serene yet colourful, silent yet communicative, distracting and yet captivating. It took a royal decline to an offer of a lion hunt and then nearly a whole of a hundred years to pull the Asiatic Lion back from the brink of near extinction. Now that the species seems finally secure, the management is faced with another paradox. Unaware of the awe they continue to inspire and retaliatory risks they face, the lion tends to follow it's wild instincts and venture out of man-made boundaries and reach upto the waves of the Arabian sea. The Asian Lion is amongst the rarest animals in the world and its best to visit him in summer, where the trees are bare, the grass has withered and he's down at the watering holes to quench his thirst. As you roam the sanctuary you'ed encounter the straight probing gaze of a Nilgai, the flighty stare of a Chital and if you're lucky the stralthy menance of the Leapord or the gentle call of a Lioness to her cubs. Only if man would make an attempt to understand that! Perhaps, you would! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Maneland Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maneland Jungle Hotel Sasan Gir National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing