We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

the hotel is located in the gir forest on the banks of a stream .one can actually hear lions roaring in the early hours. big rooms with verandas and very comfortable .The staff led by Ms Chaula went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and very welcome. the food was superlative, and menus well thought of . will definitely return there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burmaaunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    93
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
133
41
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Well, well well ..... The Gateway brand under Taj umbrella .... Very good location facing the river 'HIRAN'. We took the suite (only one - Room No. 117) and there were two bedrooms, one sitting room and two sit outs. The bathroom is spacious with two basins. Toiletries were provided and I loved the oil and powder! The restaurant was spacious and the chef Mr. P.P. Bhardwaj is an amicable person. On the food front it is mostly vegetarian with one non veg dish during lunch and two non veg dishes during dinner. However, the chef prepared three special dishes only for us on three days .... Chicken Biriyani; Grilled Chicken; Fish with green salad. The restaurant staff are courteous and helpful especially Mr. Zayeed; Mr. Aladad and Mr. Abhinay. The swimming pool is good with a kids pool. But the water was too cold for us to take a swim. The fitness room has two treadmills. The open lawn at the backside facing the river is a good place to laze. You can also go down right upto the river bank. There are decks also to relax. There is no room service (probably). The travel desk is well managed and try to get Mehmood as the driver while going for safari. Timings are 6.30 and 9.30 in the morning and 3.30 in the afternoon. Housekeeping is good but an evening turn down service should have been there. There are areas around to jog or for cycling. The front office is also ok. However, they must consider offering a welcome drink and I also expected someone to greet us (like most of the Taj properties) while we got down from the car on the first day. Oh, I was told that Gateway is the only non-veg option in whole of Sasan Gir. Ms. Chawla, the overall incharge was full of energy and you will see her everywhere from the entry gate to the kitchen replenishing the buffet items. The laundry service is very good and prompt. Had a good vacation, overall. Will definitely revisit.

Room Tip: Room 117 ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sritesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The property is nice and has extensive space for cycling, walking and generally chilling out. There is a nice spot near the river where you can lie on a hammock or deck/easy chair and read a book. It is also close to the safari booking office. The real difficulty in Gir is to do with booking the safari, especially if you go during a busy season. The Taj will book you a safari but for the rest, you are on your own. Even the one that the Taj booked was confirmed 15 minutes before departure at 6 in the morning when one had to be up and about really quickly. The rooms are nice and well-appointed. The food is average and the non-vegearian options virtually non-existent. The ones that are there are banished far away from the main buffet. However, the al fresco eating area more than makes up for the food in charm and ambience. being a Taj property, the freindly and helpful staff more than make up for any shortcomings.

Room Tip: River facing rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoggleEyedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The property is comparable to other Taj gateway properties that we have visited earlier, Rooms are big and comfortable. We had a river facing room which provided a beautiful view of the birds, peacocks and the jungle. The staff did not commit to any arrangements for the Christmas celebration either. On 25th Dec., there was a tribal dance only. The dancers were more interested in posing with the international tourists and there was hardly any entertainment for the kids in that act. Most of the kids were only frightened by the act. At least a Santa visit could have been arranged. So to be specific I found the hotel to be understaffed and lacking on innovation front to keep the guests engaged in the evening time. Other than that it is quite a relaxing place. In any case the Lions and other animals do give a royal peep to make you feel special at their habitat at the Gir forest!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikaPurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

located in the city center and close to the safari booking office.. good option to stay.. but can certainly offer better options in the buffet meals.. it doesn't stand anywhere close to a 4 star property when it comes to breakfast or even any meal...terrible food

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust_SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at The Gateway hotel for two nights 24th Dec 2012 - 26th Dec 2012. The property is comparable to other Taj gateway properties that we have visited earlier, Rooms are big and comfortable. We had a river facing room which provided a beautiful view of the birds, peacocks and the jungle. Menu spread is limited but good. The evening snacks could have been more innovative considering it was year end and lot of kids in the hotel.

Safari timings are pretty doable and almost well co-ordinated. Appreciated the quilts gicen to each member considering it was very cold in morning in Dec. The drivers and guides are quite informed and take a lot of efforts in spotting wild animals. WE managed to do a rare sighting of a running leopard in the jungle! It is advisable to keep a tab on the status of your permit to the forest with the reception staff. Do not expect them to call on their own to inform about your slot.Kids have cycling and swimming activities within the property.

The only damper was the christmas eve. We were charged 2k per night extra for the entertainment during the peak season that we were travelling in. There was absolutely no cultural or any other activity arranged in the evening on first night of our stay. The staff did not commit to any arrangements for the Christmas celebration either. On 25th Dec., there was a tribal dance only. The dancers were more interested in posing with the international tourists and there was hardly any entertainment for the kids in that act. Most of the kids were only frightened by the act. At least a Santa visit could have been arranged.

So to be specific I found the hotel to be understaffed and lacking on innovation front to keep the guests engaged in the evening time. Other than that it is quite a relaxing place. In any case the Lions and other animals do give a royal peep to make you feel special at their habitat at the Gir forest!

Room Tip: I guess all rooms are facing the river, if possible try for a room on higher floors and away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shikha_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
157 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here in Jan 2013 with the family.

We had a 2nd floor river view room (almost all rooms are river view). It was very spacious and had a decent sized balcony to sit out and enjoy the scenery. There were all the modcons available like a flat screen TV, aircon, wifi (for a steep price) and cell coverage...if you so require.

The bathroom had some issues with it: the shower glass partition is too small, so water goes everywhere when one showers, and secondly there was a foul smell that came and went from the drain...which we informed the staff about several times but they weren't able to fix the issue, instead blaming it on diapers our 2 yr old had used...this was the one negative experience staff-wise.

The hotel itself is located on the river bank, which makes for a great view and also provides some wildlife viewing from the room balcony itself...a lion came by for a sip of water on one of the days we were there. There are large common areas everywhere, which were quite nice as well...but it was quite cold in the evenings, so we didn't use them much. I didn't see an elevator anywhere, so people that can't climb stairs should opt for a room on the Ground or 1st floor. Our room was on the 2nd floor and the 5-6 daily walks up the steps made for good exercise.

The restaurant had a standard buffet, but the quality of the food was very good. This is something we have had issues with at other Taj hotels recently but the food here was tasty. The cook even cooked up some special food for our 2 yr old. The staff in the resto were also very courteous and helpful. The food is not too pricey...much less price than other Taj's (Vivanta/Taj Palace) we have stayed.

The front desk staff we also very nice, except for one minor issue involving repeated early morning wake up calls for the safari one morning, which were not required.

The pool looked inviting but it was too cold for a dip during our stay.

The hotel also arranged our safaris, a trip to Somnath, and the transport to/from Rajkot airport. These were good, except the car on the way back to airport had no aircon, which made for a hot drive...but again the drivers were courteous and safe.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel and suggest a 3.5 star rating for it. Taking away points for the bathroom smell and the star not doing anything about it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor river view rooms are good and spacious...don't need to book a suite. Opt for Ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TooshMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
145 reviews
8.7 mi away
Vishal Lords Inn Gir Forest
0.0 mi away
Van Vihar Farm
Van Vihar Farm
#2 of 4 in Sasan Gir
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
#1 of 31 in Gir National Park
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gir Jungle Lodge
Gir Jungle Lodge
#2 of 31 in Gir National Park
340 reviews
2.9 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 21 in Sasan Gir
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest

Property: The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
Address: Junagadh District | Near Sinh Sadan, Gir National Park 362135, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing