We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great on location, aweful for food..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

located in the city center and close to the safari booking office.. good option to stay.. but can certainly offer better options in the buffet meals.. it doesn't stand anywhere close to a 4 star property when it comes to breakfast or even any meal...terrible food

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust_SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 232 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at The Gateway hotel for two nights 24th Dec 2012 - 26th Dec 2012. The property is comparable to other Taj gateway properties that we have visited earlier, Rooms are big and comfortable. We had a river facing room which provided a beautiful view of the birds, peacocks and the jungle. Menu spread is limited but good. The evening snacks could have been more innovative considering it was year end and lot of kids in the hotel.

Safari timings are pretty doable and almost well co-ordinated. Appreciated the quilts gicen to each member considering it was very cold in morning in Dec. The drivers and guides are quite informed and take a lot of efforts in spotting wild animals. WE managed to do a rare sighting of a running leopard in the jungle! It is advisable to keep a tab on the status of your permit to the forest with the reception staff. Do not expect them to call on their own to inform about your slot.Kids have cycling and swimming activities within the property.

The only damper was the christmas eve. We were charged 2k per night extra for the entertainment during the peak season that we were travelling in. There was absolutely no cultural or any other activity arranged in the evening on first night of our stay. The staff did not commit to any arrangements for the Christmas celebration either. On 25th Dec., there was a tribal dance only. The dancers were more interested in posing with the international tourists and there was hardly any entertainment for the kids in that act. Most of the kids were only frightened by the act. At least a Santa visit could have been arranged.

So to be specific I found the hotel to be understaffed and lacking on innovation front to keep the guests engaged in the evening time. Other than that it is quite a relaxing place. In any case the Lions and other animals do give a royal peep to make you feel special at their habitat at the Gir forest!

Room Tip: I guess all rooms are facing the river, if possible try for a room on higher floors and away from th...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shikha_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here in Jan 2013 with the family.

We had a 2nd floor river view room (almost all rooms are river view). It was very spacious and had a decent sized balcony to sit out and enjoy the scenery. There were all the modcons available like a flat screen TV, aircon, wifi (for a steep price) and cell coverage...if you so require.

The bathroom had some issues with it: the shower glass partition is too small, so water goes everywhere when one showers, and secondly there was a foul smell that came and went from the drain...which we informed the staff about several times but they weren't able to fix the issue, instead blaming it on diapers our 2 yr old had used...this was the one negative experience staff-wise.

The hotel itself is located on the river bank, which makes for a great view and also provides some wildlife viewing from the room balcony itself...a lion came by for a sip of water on one of the days we were there. There are large common areas everywhere, which were quite nice as well...but it was quite cold in the evenings, so we didn't use them much. I didn't see an elevator anywhere, so people that can't climb stairs should opt for a room on the Ground or 1st floor. Our room was on the 2nd floor and the 5-6 daily walks up the steps made for good exercise.

The restaurant had a standard buffet, but the quality of the food was very good. This is something we have had issues with at other Taj hotels recently but the food here was tasty. The cook even cooked up some special food for our 2 yr old. The staff in the resto were also very courteous and helpful. The food is not too pricey...much less price than other Taj's (Vivanta/Taj Palace) we have stayed.

The front desk staff we also very nice, except for one minor issue involving repeated early morning wake up calls for the safari one morning, which were not required.

The pool looked inviting but it was too cold for a dip during our stay.

The hotel also arranged our safaris, a trip to Somnath, and the transport to/from Rajkot airport. These were good, except the car on the way back to airport had no aircon, which made for a hot drive...but again the drivers were courteous and safe.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel and suggest a 3.5 star rating for it. Taking away points for the bathroom smell and the star not doing anything about it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor river view rooms are good and spacious...don't need to book a suite. Opt for Ground fl...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TooshMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during chrismas. We had 3 rooms. All on 2nd floor. View from balcony was just superb! Lounge chair by River were good place to sit and relax.

Bathrooms were bit small but clean and stocked properly. Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful.

Food was good too. We had all our meals at hotel.

Went for 2 safaris during our stay and we were able to spot 3 lions. Great experience.

Kids liked playing in the lawn and riding the bicycle provided by the hotel.

This is the place to stay if you are vising Gir.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nehal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We did not expect the staff to be so efficient as we found their response was delayed when tried booking the room one month prior to our visit.
The front desk lady I think her name is Vaidehi Patel was very efficient guided well. The food was good as the Chef added his touch.
The water in the river was scanty everywhere but near the hotel it was good as there is check dam near it. The view is scenic from rooms balcony.even u can spot some animals and birds coming to water front.
Stay 2 or more days if u want to enjoy and relax in tranquility.

Room Tip: Ask for river view rooms in top floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

When you look out of the balcony of your river facing room, you immediately appreciate the location of the hotel. On the bank on other side of the river you could see peacocks and birds. And with the lush expanse of forests beyond, you can be assured of a great jungle experience and home-like hospitatlity at this property. Although the buffet spread is relatively small, the dishes are tasty. Chef Purushottam Bharadwaj personally attends to guests and you can also request for a dish of your preference. He gladly prepared dishes of our preference on two occassions both exceeding our expectations. The non-vegetarian menu is not quite extensive but the rest of the spread makes up for a good meal. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. The rooms are clean and large with comfortable and large beds. The hotel often arranges for cultural activities in the evenings. All in all, this property is a relaxing and comfortable holiday destination for a few days in the "jungles of the Asiatic lions".

Room Tip: Rooms by the river side and on the top floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_am_on_business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

we were there in dec 2012 loved it great food great service from all the staff, great rooms very comfortable beds we booked the safaris through the hotels and it was perfect and we saw the lions ......on our last day as we had to leave early hours of the morning we got packed lunch to take with us ..........we will definatly visit again ..Pramod Chauhan

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank currykaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
151 reviews
8.7 mi away
Vishal Lords Inn Gir Forest
4.3 mi away
Van Vihar Farm
Van Vihar Farm
#2 of 4 in Sasan Gir
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
#1 of 30 in Gir National Park
354 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gir Jungle Lodge
Gir Jungle Lodge
#2 of 30 in Gir National Park
346 reviews
3.8 mi away
Asiatic Lion Lodge
Asiatic Lion Lodge
#1 of 26 in Sasan Gir
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest

Address: Junagadh District | Near Sinh Sadan, Gir National Park 362135, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Price Range: $80 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing