We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Gir - Expensive but VFM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Gir - Expensive but VFM”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Gir National Park. The location is very central and Hotel Staff makes all efforts to make the stay most memorable. The food quality is excellent which makes the stay very good. We had booked tents but then decided to stay in the Villas which were huge and worth the extra.

The Resort has been planned very well and all efforts have been put in place to make it as natural as possible. All plants are labeled which is also very good.

Would like to write about the 2 things which I found to be very good.

a) Service --> Excellent to the core. This place is run by the kindest souls possible and everyone lives by the mantra of customer service. NO word does not exist as far as service is concerned.

b) SPA --> My compliments to the Spa team there. The full body signature therapy was one of the best treatments I have ever had in my life. Very detailed explanation of the therapies and the masseur was very considerate as well.

As far as whether it is cheap or expensive is concerned I wouldn't call it either. You get what you pay for, period.

Room Tip: Villas are superb... Tents were OK OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mukul-IND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN and for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and that the service and facilities exceeded your expectations. Yes, you have rightly remarked that our only mantra is flawless customer service.

Your generous praise of our service, spa, food and the room is very encouraging and will motivate the team to strive harder to scale newer heights of excellence.

I do hope that you return soon to stay with us and give us another opportunity to look after you.

Kind regards,

Debasish Muduli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    103
    36
    5
    4
See reviews for
181
69
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gujarat
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Well designed resort, located quite close to the entrance to the Gir Sanctuary. The room was large, comfortable, simple and clean. Staff was pleasant. The food was clean and decent, but not fantastic, could have been better. The absence of non-vegetarian was a surprise, not even an egg at breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you had a fun holiday.

The staff at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN is dedicated to providing exceptional customer service and your comments provide a source of encouragement to us to continue the effort.

Regarding your food suggestions, we are working on the same and I am sure the next time you visit us you will see a change in the taste and visual appeal.

Thank you for your visit and we look forward to having you back.

Warm regards,

Debasish Muduli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Amazing this place!!! I enjoyed a lot! We could saw the lions and a lot of other animals! It is an amazing place! The staff were very friendly and they have a lot of knowledge about the area! This was one of my best human experiences.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Namaskar!!

We thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.com. It gives us great pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and we could give you the best human experiences. I have shared your comments about our room, food and services with our associates for whom such positive feedback is their biggest reward.

Sir, me and entire team would like to spray on you the Fern magic again.

We hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

Debasish Muduli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were @ this resort on the 10th of feb.2014. We found the front desk staff of Arjun, Ayub and Pradhan most polite and very respectful. They very helpful in suggesting how we handle the
Lion preserve visit to meet our time limited schedule. The food in the restaurant was very good both for our supper on the 10th night and breakfast on the 11th morning.....compliments to Mr.Bhandari and his staff in the eatery.The room was also very comfortable in our villa accomodations. We left the place most satisfied and felt that the front desk staff was exceptionally professional.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victorbhera137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Namaskar!!

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN

We always strive to provide the best of the services so that you have memories to cherish.

Your appreciation makes us proud and encourages us to strive harder, towards excellence.

Thank you for recommending The Fern Gir Forest Resort. We eagerly await your return in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Debasish Muduli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had visited this place just before few days.I was expecting a good luxurious resort but this resort is very compact, nothing much to do. And food was not good at all, specially for those who are non-vegetarians, this is not a good option at all, even veg food was very very ok. This resort is not worth the price they are charging. I would say that think twice before going to Fern Gir resort. Not worth spending on this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonali862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Namaskar!!

Thank you for taking out the time to give us your feedback. At the onset, I would like to apologize for the lapses which you faced regarding the food in our resort. Regarding being compact, our resort is the largest in terms of landscaping in entire Sasan. We do not serve non- veg in the restaurant and is served in room service only. I would be obliged if you can give us some suggestions regarding the food enhancement.

We will ensure that the suggestions are implemented and you feel the value for money, the next time you visit us. Please contact me on the undersigned in case of any assistance.

Warm regards,

Debasish Muduli
gm@ferngirforestresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I had visited fern in gir around February 2014 ... We stayed in villas which were nice clean and spacious with personal balcony.. OverallProperty is well managed. But the only concern is about the food,it's tasteless and blend and to add to the misery they don't serve non -veg in buffet meals and neither they serve nonveg starters.... Hotel helps in booking the online gir safari via agent very smoothly... The hotel staff is quite helpful and service is fast...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Austin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!!

Thank you for staying at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN and for sharing your feedback through Trip Advisor.

I am happy to know that you like the property ambiance, rooms and resort's landscaping. Regarding the food, we have a veg. restaurant and so we do not serve non- veg in buffet or
ala-carte. I would definitely like to have your feedback on the food enhancement. If you can write to me on the undersigned, I would be grateful and try to implement your suggestions.

I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity and return to the hotel next time to see that extra element changed.

As and when you plan a trip, please let me know so that I can meet you personally. Please let me know in case of any other assistance.

Thank you,

Kind regards,

Debasish Muduli
gm@ferngirforestresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed with family at The Fern Gir Resort... had a relaxing stay.. general ambience pleasing.. nicely done rooms.. resort centrally located.. nice food.. courteous and receptive staff all around.. recommended.

Room Tip: guess room 108 is the best room with a unique view of the pool.. besides the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyurGohil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Namaskar!!

We thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.com. It gives us great pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. I have shared your comments about our room, food and services with our associates for whom such positive feedback is their biggest reward.

Sir, me and entire team would like to spray on you the Fern magic again.

We hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

Debasish Muduli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
147 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vishal Lords Inn Gir Forest
4.1 mi away
Van Vihar Farm
Van Vihar Farm
#2 of 4 in Sasan Gir
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Gir Garden
The Gir Garden
#4 of 4 in Sasan Gir
11 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 21 in Sasan Gir
259 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
#3 of 31 in Gir National Park
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Gir Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Gir Forest Resort

Property: The Fern Gir Forest Resort
Address: Sasan Gir, Gir National Park 362135, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fern Gir Forest Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the thick vegetation, picturesque hills, green fields, beautiful landscaped gardens and adjacent to Gir Lion Sanctuary, The Fern Gir Forest Resort is regarded as one of the best forest hotels in India. Enjoy a relaxing holiday with family & friends at one of the best hotels in Gir. A stay at our hotel in Gir guarantees you a memorable holiday.Being amongst the leading hotels in Gir this Fern resort, a Unit of Kotecha hotels and Managed by Concept Hospitality Pvt. Ltd. offers a total of 40 well appointed and aesthetically designed rooms comprising of suites, villas, cottages & luxury tents that exude opulence and style. Our two duplex suites offer a captivating view of the River Hiran flowing by. All our guest rooms are well-equipped with modern amenities like LCD TV, a mini-bar, tea-kettle, digital safe, hair dryer & with flawless service we stand out to be one of the best forest hotels across India.During your stay at Fern Gir forest resort, indulge yourself at the "Sohum Spa", ideally located by the River Hiran and offering a host of treatments, massages, open rain shower etc. Along with it, the state-of- the- art gymnasium, jacuzzi and a swimming pool will completely rejuvenate your mind and body. Indulge in nature and forget the troubles of the world in our luxury resort in Gir. It's because of these unique offerings which make us one of the best forest hotels in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Fern Gir Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing