We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir(Gir National Park)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gir Jungle Lodge(Gir National Park)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Gir Garden(Sasan Gir)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vanvaso Resort(Gir National Park)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness center
Daksh Resort(Sasan Gir)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Van Vihar Farm(Sasan Gir)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (409)
    Filter reviews
    409 results
    Traveler rating
    246
    114
    38
    6
    5
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    246
    114
    38
    6
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgir forestswimming poolnon vegnice clean roomsplace to stayf bdevaliya parkroom servicetent roomhigher sidememorable staybeautiful propertychecking outcourteous staffhis teamrestaurant staffbird watching
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    303 - 308 of 409 reviews
    Reviewed February 15, 2014

    Well located and huge property to spend good time with ur loved ones and friend. Facility provided by the hotel are up to the mark. Spa is one of the best part of Fern. Tariff rates keep on changing according to season, so their r possibility of bargain in room rates.

    Room Tip: Try to stay in villa if u can afford, coz their villa r very much different and very much isolated.
    • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Deepak J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Namaskar!!

    It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN GIR . Thank you for sharing your feedback in Tripadvisor.com. We could spread the FERN MAGIC and give you some memories to cherish, that's what our motto is always.

    Further, the pics which you had posted are awesome and proves that you enjoyed a lot.

    Thank you for your appreciation and your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back soon.

    Kind regards,

    Debasish Muduli
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 14, 2014

    Awesome Hospitality... Very Courteous staff.. great place and nice food....

    The rooms are very spacious, neat and well done. The mattresses are clean and sparkling white.

    A lot of activities are there in the resort campus for one to indulge into.

    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank prashdolls
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Namaskar!!

    It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN. Thank you for nominating as “ The Best Place in SASAN GIR”. We always strive to provide the best of the services so that you have memories to cherish.

    Your appreciation makes us proud and encourages us to strive harder, towards excellence.

    Thank you for recommending The Fern Gir Forest Resort. We eagerly await your return in the not too distant future.

    Kind regards,

    Debasish Muduli
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 9, 2014

    It is one of the finest hotels in Gir... very close to the Gir Safari Park.. Superior Rooms, Disciplined staff, Quality Food, decent indoor activities.... Very well maintained and made resort.. Really enjoyed the stay.. The One to recommend.....

    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Nirav0703
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

    Dear Guest,

    Namaskar!!

    Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

    We are very delighted to receive your feedback and to learn that you enjoyed the location, your dining experience at our restaurants, indoor activities and moreover, the service provided by our staff. The team is indeed our asset.

    Your feedback is indeed very encouraging and inspiring.

    We all look forward to your continued visits.

    Kind regards,

    Debasish Muduli
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 29, 2014

    Well located with friendly service and professional team. Fern at Gir forest is the best property I have stayed at. Have been to Sasan Gir at least thrice and this was the most memorable, considering the comfort and facilities of the hotel, it is indeed like being at home - entire team is passionate about providing quality service, food, entertainment and land scaping is best in class. Debasish Muduli and his team Thank you for the wonderful time we had at Fern and amongst lions at Gir

    Room Tip: standalone Villas are the best
    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank PRT2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Namaskar!!

    We thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.com. You have rightly remarked us “Pride of SASAN GIR”. It gives us great pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. I have shared your comments about our room, food and services with our associates for whom such positive feedback is their biggest reward.

    Sir, me and entire team would like to spray on you the Fern magic again.

    We hope to see you soon.

    Warm regards,

    Debasish Muduli

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 29, 2014

    The experience started with my contact with Debashish, the GM at The Fern.

    I contacted him with my itinerary and he promptly confirmed the booking. The day I was supposed to reach, had its adventures and I landed at 11 in the night, though since evening Debashish was in touch and was guiding through the route. Much appreciated.

    It was a pleasant surprise when I was informed that my rooms were upgraded to a suite. Moreover, the staff had kept our dinner ready and we were served in the room, as per our preference. I appreciate this gesture, thank you to the team. Checking the rooms, I was happy to note the attention to details, cleanliness and user-friendliness. The open to sky shower was a different experience, and many would enjoy it. The property is decently sized and had usual engagements like the pool, gym, table tennis, hammocks, among others.

    Food was average and had decent options for vegetarian meals, in buffets. While the food seemed hygienically prepared and nicely presented, they may keep experimenting till they excel at taste. Overall, the food was good and the servers were very happy to tweak the taste on request.

    Regarding Safaris, though the resort maintains that they do not arrange safaris, they do help you get in touch with the agents. In my case, Debashish helped not only arrange the agent, but ensured that he charged us right and arranged for a seamless safari. The people who accompanied us at Safari (the guy from the forest and the resort guy), were cheerful and informed souls, we loved their company.

    OVERALL:
    The team was friendly and helpful, and had an eye to ensure guests' comfort. I would recommend it for Sasan Gir travelers, who would like to experience adventure amidst and comfort.

    Suggestions for travelers:
    While you have a good chance of spotting the beasts during the jungle safari to Gir, you have a better chance of meeting the king at Devalia (Gir Interpretation Zone). If I am to re-arrange my itinerary, I would visit Devalia before the jungle. Both experiences are different, and recommended.

    Room Tip: The last villa, where we stayed, offered a great view of the forest, a water body and calmness in general.
    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ZingyLeo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

    Dear Guest,

    Namaskar!!

    Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

    We are delighted to hear that you had a great time and we could give you some memories to cherish.

    Your words are a great source of encouragement to the entire Fern Gir Forest Resort family. We endeavour to give each one of our guest a memorable experience.

    We look forward to welcoming you back.

    Regards,

    Debasish Muduli

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews