We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Must experience”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The experience started with my contact with Debashish, the GM at The Fern.

I contacted him with my itinerary and he promptly confirmed the booking. The day I was supposed to reach, had its adventures and I landed at 11 in the night, though since evening Debashish was in touch and was guiding through the route. Much appreciated.

It was a pleasant surprise when I was informed that my rooms were upgraded to a suite. Moreover, the staff had kept our dinner ready and we were served in the room, as per our preference. I appreciate this gesture, thank you to the team. Checking the rooms, I was happy to note the attention to details, cleanliness and user-friendliness. The open to sky shower was a different experience, and many would enjoy it. The property is decently sized and had usual engagements like the pool, gym, table tennis, hammocks, among others.

Food was average and had decent options for vegetarian meals, in buffets. While the food seemed hygienically prepared and nicely presented, they may keep experimenting till they excel at taste. Overall, the food was good and the servers were very happy to tweak the taste on request.

Regarding Safaris, though the resort maintains that they do not arrange safaris, they do help you get in touch with the agents. In my case, Debashish helped not only arrange the agent, but ensured that he charged us right and arranged for a seamless safari. The people who accompanied us at Safari (the guy from the forest and the resort guy), were cheerful and informed souls, we loved their company.

OVERALL:
The team was friendly and helpful, and had an eye to ensure guests' comfort. I would recommend it for Sasan Gir travelers, who would like to experience adventure amidst and comfort.

Suggestions for travelers:
While you have a good chance of spotting the beasts during the jungle safari to Gir, you have a better chance of meeting the king at Devalia (Gir Interpretation Zone). If I am to re-arrange my itinerary, I would visit Devalia before the jungle. Both experiences are different, and recommended.

Room Tip: The last villa, where we stayed, offered a great view of the forest, a water body and calmness in ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZingyLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!!

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time and we could give you some memories to cherish.

Your words are a great source of encouragement to the entire Fern Gir Forest Resort family. We endeavour to give each one of our guest a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Debasish Muduli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    102
    34
    5
    4
See reviews for
176
66
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Fern on 17th Jan 2014. We were really impressed with the facilities, food and environment.Rooms were really nice and clean.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and polite and couldn't do enough. Arjun at the front desk was very pleasant and polite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Namaskar!!

We thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.com. It gives me great pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. I have shared your comments about our room, food and services with Arjun and other associates for whom such positive feedback is their biggest reward.

We hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

Debasish Muduli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hi this pancham , me and my wife had been to fern sasan gir to celebrate our anniversary, it was the great experiance there. we have enjoyed a lot . the staff is so cooperative and they are so positive and always ready to do whatever u ask. the food was so good and the quality was superb. The rooms was cleaned and hygenic. the services was awesome . we will never forget GM Mr Debashish for his respect and hospitality given to us, the staff was like a friend to us. Mr Debashish has done a great arrangement for us on the day of anniversary. that will be remembered for a lifetime. we are so much thankful to all the members of Fern sasan gir for giving such a great hospitality. i would highly recommend all of you to visit Fern sasan gir when you go to Gir. it is such a place that u can fall in love the resort. they have arranged a Lion safari for us and it was also a great managed safari.

Room Tip: you can choose winter green cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcs69390000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!!

Thank you for your feedback. It is the feedback from valued guests that enables us to keep improving and remain motivated to deliver services of the highest standards.

We are honored as we could give you memories to cherish. Your feedback has been shared with the entire staff and we seek to see you soon.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Fern tradition.

Warm Regards,

Debasish Muduli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

All the facilities, food, ambience and staff are extremely well. Hats off to the General Manager Mr. Debashish for providing such luxury for 4 days. One more and most kind service by Mr. Debashish.
One of our members forgot her luggage while checking out and realised only at Rajkot Airport. Mr. Debashish personally took care in locating the bags, packing in a nice tarpoline and transporting to Mumbai. Need not to mention at NO COST!!Haven't enjoyed such hospitality in recent time.
Thank you Mr.Debashish and the entire management and staff of Fern Gir Forest Resort.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!!

Thank you for your encouraging golden words. We here at The Fern Gir Forest ensure to deliver heart touching services so that you have memories to cherish.

It is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and friendly services.

We trust the Fern charm will attract you again soon and it will be our pleasure to delight you. Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true traditional way of Fern.

Warm Regards,

Debasish Muduli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a wonderful experience at the Sasan Gir Fern Forest Hotel. Very well maintained, clean grounds and rooms. Wonderful scenery, peaceful and tranquil, great place to "get away" from the city life if you want to relax, unwind and recharge. Fantastic food, so much variety! All the staff are very pleasant and always happy to assist with any requests. Would definitely go back, thank you once again, UK London

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar…

Thank you for sharing your feedbacks. We are happy that we were able to deliver to you best of our hospitality. Team at Resort takes this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful comments on rooms, garden, food and staff. This is highly motivational and a big inspiration for my team. Your appreciation has been shared by the individual team member.

We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends to our tranquil resort.

Best Regards,

Debasish Muduli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Excellent ambiance! Excellent Property amidst the Gir forest which was just a few minutes away. Completely enjoyed the stay with amazing food. The hotel staff was extremely welcoming be it front office, bellboys, stewards. Particular mention to Mr. Bhandari in the restaurant, very efficient and friendly. Kudos to Mr. Debashish, The General Manager for putting up such a wonderful team.

The room was excellent with amazing view. We could hear the birds chirping throughout the day, squirrels all over the place which was a highlight for I am an avid nature lover. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay, will definitely go back again and recommend to my friends and family wanting a memorable & relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latika_Chinthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Mam,

Namaskar…

Thank you for appreciating the team at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN GIR & sharing your experience with all. I would like to comment that we were warmed by your visit to us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay & ambiance at the Resort. Our endeavor is to make guest experience unmatchable and memorable. We have shared your feedback with Bhandari and entire team.

Thank you for your recommendation & praises, we look forward to welcoming you back at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN GIR on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Debasish Muduli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We found this place unfriendly and unhelpful for foreign travelers. When I booked I asked about airport transfer and was told that the resort does not provide. So I emailed and asked would it be easy to get a taxi to the resort which is 94km from Diu Airport. I never received a reply to this question but I thought it must not be a problem. I should have canceled the booking then. We landed at Dui airport at 1.30pm and saw all the other tourists be greeted by drivers with their names on cards. We were left outside the airport and there were no taxis! Luckily an autorickshaw driver was there and he squeezed us and our luggage on and took us to his house and then drove us the 2.5 hours to the resort. He was not too expensive and agreed to pick us up 2 days later for our flight out. No friendly welcome or glad you managed to get some transport! We have been traveling in India for 3 wonderful weeks and it was the most unfriendly welcome so far. Anyway we then asked about organising a safari tour to see the lions. The response was "haven't you arranged a driver? ". What a stupid question! They just watched us drag our bags off a car. We're from overseas. If they had bothered to supply any information when I had originally booked then we would have tried to arrange a driver. Then instead of saying "we can organize a safari for you for 8500 rupees" we were told a lot of rubbish about agents and permits and then much later we were called to reception and given another spiel. What was really strange was they kept telling us the price indian guests and then what the price is for us a foreigners which was obviously much more. We have paid more for lots of sightseeing in India and have no problem with that but these staff just seemed to go on an on about it. Really weird!! Eventually we were given a price which we would happily have paid and were then told we would have to pay another 30AUD to take our cameras. By this point we were tired, felt really disappointed with the service so just said forget it. I have stayed at wildlife/forest lodges all around the world anf and this place is by far the worst. They actually couldn't care less if the guests get to experience the forest wildlife. This place is expensive, the hot water was tepid at best, there was no wifi and the food was average. Could not wait to leave! Lucky we had organised the drive back to the airport as on checkout no one even asked if we needed help with transport. What a disgraceful way to treat guests.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Namaskar!!

Thank you for taking out the time to give us your feedback. At the onset, I would like to apologize for all the inconvenience which happened during your stay with us. Such incidents are definitely not as per our standards as we always lay emphasis on our guests enjoying a flawless and smooth experience during their stay with us.

I have checked and came to know that your booking was through an Online Travel Agency. Further, we could have arranged for your pick- up if we could have got the information from the agency. The permits for the jungle trail are being handled by the Forest Department of the area and needs to be done in advance. The current booking is little tuff due to heavy traffic during the season. So we request guest’s to send their drivers to stand in the queue rather than going themselves.

I very well agree with your point that the Front Desk should have told you what you need to do and gave you the solutions. I have shared your feedback with them and given them the appropriate training on the same.

I again apologize for not being able to match up to your expectations. I ensure you that you will see the change when ever you have a chance to visit us again. I will personally ensure that the things are taken care in future. Please do get in touch with me when ever you plan up your next trip.

Warm regards,

Debasish Muduli
gm@ferngirforestresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vishal Lords Inn Gir Forest
0.0 mi away
Van Vihar Farm
Van Vihar Farm
#2 of 4 in Sasan Gir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gir Jungle Lodge
Gir Jungle Lodge
#2 of 31 in Gir National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 21 in Sasan Gir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
#3 of 31 in Gir National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Gir Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Gir Forest Resort

Property: The Fern Gir Forest Resort
Address: Sasan Gir, Gir National Park 362135, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fern Gir Forest Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the thick vegetation, picturesque hills, green fields, beautiful landscaped gardens and adjacent to Gir Lion Sanctuary, The Fern Gir Forest Resort is regarded as one of the best forest hotels in India. Enjoy a relaxing holiday with family & friends at one of the best hotels in Gir. A stay at our hotel in Gir guarantees you a memorable holiday.Being amongst the leading hotels in Gir this Fern resort, a Unit of Kotecha hotels and Managed by Concept Hospitality Pvt. Ltd. offers a total of 40 well appointed and aesthetically designed rooms comprising of suites, villas, cottages & luxury tents that exude opulence and style. Our two duplex suites offer a captivating view of the River Hiran flowing by. All our guest rooms are well-equipped with modern amenities like LCD TV, a mini-bar, tea-kettle, digital safe, hair dryer & with flawless service we stand out to be one of the best forest hotels across India.During your stay at Fern Gir forest resort, indulge yourself at the "Sohum Spa", ideally located by the River Hiran and offering a host of treatments, massages, open rain shower etc. Along with it, the state-of- the- art gymnasium, jacuzzi and a swimming pool will completely rejuvenate your mind and body. Indulge in nature and forget the troubles of the world in our luxury resort in Gir. It's because of these unique offerings which make us one of the best forest hotels in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Fern Gir Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing