We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to everyone at Sasan Gir Fern Forest Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thanks to everyone at Sasan Gir Fern Forest Hotel”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a wonderful experience at the Sasan Gir Fern Forest Hotel. Very well maintained, clean grounds and rooms. Wonderful scenery, peaceful and tranquil, great place to "get away" from the city life if you want to relax, unwind and recharge. Fantastic food, so much variety! All the staff are very pleasant and always happy to assist with any requests. Would definitely go back, thank you once again, UK London

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar…

Thank you for sharing your feedbacks. We are happy that we were able to deliver to you best of our hospitality. Team at Resort takes this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful comments on rooms, garden, food and staff. This is highly motivational and a big inspiration for my team. Your appreciation has been shared by the individual team member.

We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends to our tranquil resort.

Best Regards,

Debasish Muduli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    103
    35
    5
    4
See reviews for
178
68
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Excellent ambiance! Excellent Property amidst the Gir forest which was just a few minutes away. Completely enjoyed the stay with amazing food. The hotel staff was extremely welcoming be it front office, bellboys, stewards. Particular mention to Mr. Bhandari in the restaurant, very efficient and friendly. Kudos to Mr. Debashish, The General Manager for putting up such a wonderful team.

The room was excellent with amazing view. We could hear the birds chirping throughout the day, squirrels all over the place which was a highlight for I am an avid nature lover. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay, will definitely go back again and recommend to my friends and family wanting a memorable & relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latika_Chinthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Mam,

Namaskar…

Thank you for appreciating the team at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN GIR & sharing your experience with all. I would like to comment that we were warmed by your visit to us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay & ambiance at the Resort. Our endeavor is to make guest experience unmatchable and memorable. We have shared your feedback with Bhandari and entire team.

Thank you for your recommendation & praises, we look forward to welcoming you back at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN GIR on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Debasish Muduli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We found this place unfriendly and unhelpful for foreign travelers. When I booked I asked about airport transfer and was told that the resort does not provide. So I emailed and asked would it be easy to get a taxi to the resort which is 94km from Diu Airport. I never received a reply to this question but I thought it must not be a problem. I should have canceled the booking then. We landed at Dui airport at 1.30pm and saw all the other tourists be greeted by drivers with their names on cards. We were left outside the airport and there were no taxis! Luckily an autorickshaw driver was there and he squeezed us and our luggage on and took us to his house and then drove us the 2.5 hours to the resort. He was not too expensive and agreed to pick us up 2 days later for our flight out. No friendly welcome or glad you managed to get some transport! We have been traveling in India for 3 wonderful weeks and it was the most unfriendly welcome so far. Anyway we then asked about organising a safari tour to see the lions. The response was "haven't you arranged a driver? ". What a stupid question! They just watched us drag our bags off a car. We're from overseas. If they had bothered to supply any information when I had originally booked then we would have tried to arrange a driver. Then instead of saying "we can organize a safari for you for 8500 rupees" we were told a lot of rubbish about agents and permits and then much later we were called to reception and given another spiel. What was really strange was they kept telling us the price indian guests and then what the price is for us a foreigners which was obviously much more. We have paid more for lots of sightseeing in India and have no problem with that but these staff just seemed to go on an on about it. Really weird!! Eventually we were given a price which we would happily have paid and were then told we would have to pay another 30AUD to take our cameras. By this point we were tired, felt really disappointed with the service so just said forget it. I have stayed at wildlife/forest lodges all around the world anf and this place is by far the worst. They actually couldn't care less if the guests get to experience the forest wildlife. This place is expensive, the hot water was tepid at best, there was no wifi and the food was average. Could not wait to leave! Lucky we had organised the drive back to the airport as on checkout no one even asked if we needed help with transport. What a disgraceful way to treat guests.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Namaskar!!

Thank you for taking out the time to give us your feedback. At the onset, I would like to apologize for all the inconvenience which happened during your stay with us. Such incidents are definitely not as per our standards as we always lay emphasis on our guests enjoying a flawless and smooth experience during their stay with us.

I have checked and came to know that your booking was through an Online Travel Agency. Further, we could have arranged for your pick- up if we could have got the information from the agency. The permits for the jungle trail are being handled by the Forest Department of the area and needs to be done in advance. The current booking is little tuff due to heavy traffic during the season. So we request guest’s to send their drivers to stand in the queue rather than going themselves.

I very well agree with your point that the Front Desk should have told you what you need to do and gave you the solutions. I have shared your feedback with them and given them the appropriate training on the same.

I again apologize for not being able to match up to your expectations. I ensure you that you will see the change when ever you have a chance to visit us again. I will personally ensure that the things are taken care in future. Please do get in touch with me when ever you plan up your next trip.

Warm regards,

Debasish Muduli
gm@ferngirforestresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Fern Gir Forest is an oasis. If you want complete relaxation this is THE place to visit.
We were very well looked after their hard working friendly staff.The ambience of the place is above average. It has all the facilities of any five star hotel. We found that the staff were not only friendly BUT also very cooperative and efficient. Our Experience in the spa was sensational.
Food was tasty and well presented.
We only stayed there for three days but we will go back for at least a week to feel one with nature and get spoilt by their hospitality.
Pratibha Gokani
Sydney
Austrlia.

Room Tip: We stayed in a villa which was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pratibha46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Mam,

Namaskar!!

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very delighted to receive your feedback and to learn that you enjoyed the location, your dining experience at our restaurants and moreover, the service provided by our staff. The team is indeed our asset.

As you have remarked, we would be happy to have you with us for a week and spend beautiful time with you.

We all look forward to your visit.

Kind regards,

Debasish Muduli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I travel frequently internationally and I have not hesitation to recommend Fern Gir Forest to anyone wanting to experience international standard facilities at true value for money prices. I have stayed at International five star luxury hotel chains like Hilton, Trident etc and I definitely feel Fern offers much better value for money and quality at much less prices compared to international hotel brand. Their Customer service was a real highlight during our stay, staff werew always smiling,friend and happy to attend various request. Fern employ majority of frong office, housekeeping and restaurent staff locally and I really appreciated how it generates local employment and assists local economy. We travelled as a group of 2 families with young and older children .Both rooms were booked under my name but our family was running late and our 2nd family (in seperate car) reached Fern resort 2 hours early so contacted them on phone so their General Manager Mr Muduli happily arranged a room for our 2nd family prior to our arrival without any paperwork formalities which I completed after reaching 2 hours later. Check in process was smooth and efficient, check in area/lobby has great ambience with lion statues and huge Forest mural on wall, great photo opportunity and a hit amongs children. Our wintergreen rooms were quite spacious, neat with fresh bed linen. Bathrooms were nice with quality plumbing which did not leak which is rarity in India (Jaguar Fittings-photo attached) and shower with adequate pressure. Bathroom toiletories were of Biotique brand a leading Indian ayurvedic brand which was nice touch.Resort is nicely spread with excellent landscaping, swimming pool and elevated deck with great views of Hiran River and Gir Forest. Plenty of trees within and surrounding resort area, we saw many birds and early morning stroll in resort was well worth with beautiful sunrise and sounds of birds in background. Truly relaxing holidays from hectic city life. Breakfast was great with variety of Indian and Continental variety prepared under strict hygienic condition. We had all meals in their restaurent and enjoyed immensely. Chef Kartik came to us and introduced him and asked us about our specific food preferences and we requested if possible to have traditional kathiavadi (Saurastra region of Gujarat) food and he dished out delicious authentic traditional food for us. Our children are fussy eaters and even they enjoyed food. Food/meal prices are on higher side but if you want safe,hygienic and delicious food than it is well worth it. In evening they have daily activities like musical chairs in group and children really love it. They also have complimentary bicycle hire and also Trishaw ride for children within resort which they really enjoyed. We travelled in private car and our driver was provided safe,clean driver's accomodation and heavily discounted meals through their staff kitchen. So many wonderful people we came across, I can't remember everyone's name but Ayub,Yunus and Arjun at front office,Mr Bhandari at Restaurent and best of all Mr Debashish Muduli who is young,cheerful General Manager with very pleasant and positive attitude towards guests and his attention to detail. I unreservedly recommend Fern Gir Resort for any one wanting to experience true value for money luxury holiday in Gir Forest. We will most certainly return to Fern Resort during our next India Trip.

Room Tip: Tent is suitable for couple, For family with children I recommend Wintergreen room/Villa. Try to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfan123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Namaskar!!

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN GIR.
Thank you for nominating as “Amazing Resort”. Further I am very obliged that you took out your valuable time and wrote to the TripAdvisor community your micro analysed experiences. It would definite help others whenever they plan a trip to Gir.

Your appreciation makes us proud and encourages us to strive harder, towards excellence.
Thank you for recommending The Fern Gir Forest Resort. We eagerly await your return in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Debasish Muduli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We really missed the opportunity to stay at the Fern during our visit last week. Mr. Debashish was Lion hearted to Welcome us to enjoy their hospitality in form of Dinner though we were staying in another property. Chef Kartik was very courteous to offer us a fantastic dinner. We had a look at the rooms and must tell you they are Fabulous. Keep up the good job Debashish n team.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santosh_bapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Namaskar!!

We thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.com. Your title “Excellent Resort in the midst of Gir” gives me pleasure to learn that you liked our services. Further I have shared your comments about the food and services with our associates for whom such positive feedback is their biggest reward.

Next time hoping to see you in our resort as you spend some memorable moments with us.

Warm regards,

Debasish Muduli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had good stay in the Hotel. The Hotel Team staff are friendly and helpful. Good Service, good food and good ambience. Can be highly recommended for 3 nights 4 days.. It is hardly 2kms away from the Forest Gate. But having a vehicle along will be helpful. Car pick up and drop provided by the hotel works out expensive. OR no choice but to hire from the hotel. It

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shefali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debasish M, General Manager at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskar!!

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fern Gir Forest Resort, SASAN and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very delighted to receive your feedback and to learn that you enjoyed the location, your dining experience at our restaurants and moreover, the service provided by our staff. The team is indeed our asset.

We have also noted your suggestion about the cab services. We do not have our own cars and have to hire it from outside. We will surely see to contract with vendors who provide flexible price ranges.

Your feedback is indeed very encouraging and inspiring.

We all look forward to your continued visits.

Kind regards,

Debasish Muduli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
145 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vishal Lords Inn Gir Forest
0.0 mi away
Van Vihar Farm
Van Vihar Farm
#2 of 4 in Sasan Gir
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 21 in Sasan Gir
257 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
#3 of 31 in Gir National Park
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gir Jungle Lodge
Gir Jungle Lodge
#2 of 31 in Gir National Park
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Gir Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Gir Forest Resort

Property: The Fern Gir Forest Resort
Address: Sasan Gir, Gir National Park 362135, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fern Gir Forest Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the thick vegetation, picturesque hills, green fields, beautiful landscaped gardens and adjacent to Gir Lion Sanctuary, The Fern Gir Forest Resort is regarded as one of the best forest hotels in India. Enjoy a relaxing holiday with family & friends at one of the best hotels in Gir. A stay at our hotel in Gir guarantees you a memorable holiday.Being amongst the leading hotels in Gir this Fern resort, a Unit of Kotecha hotels and Managed by Concept Hospitality Pvt. Ltd. offers a total of 40 well appointed and aesthetically designed rooms comprising of suites, villas, cottages & luxury tents that exude opulence and style. Our two duplex suites offer a captivating view of the River Hiran flowing by. All our guest rooms are well-equipped with modern amenities like LCD TV, a mini-bar, tea-kettle, digital safe, hair dryer & with flawless service we stand out to be one of the best forest hotels across India.During your stay at Fern Gir forest resort, indulge yourself at the "Sohum Spa", ideally located by the River Hiran and offering a host of treatments, massages, open rain shower etc. Along with it, the state-of- the- art gymnasium, jacuzzi and a swimming pool will completely rejuvenate your mind and body. Indulge in nature and forget the troubles of the world in our luxury resort in Gir. It's because of these unique offerings which make us one of the best forest hotels in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Fern Gir Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing