We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Value for money experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in this property on 24 th and 25 th dec-2012. The property is well maintained but the marketing people are lousy as they can not Handle the bookings and customer requests properly.Food served here is more than pathetic. There is a lot of scope of improvement in all the areas.

Room Tip: Avoid the tents near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 364 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

First the pros : Outstanding property to relax and visit the Gir Forest. Wonderful rooms, nice spa, and jacuzzi, well maintained property.
The cons : they management just wants to fleece you. We had booked extra beds for our kids in the package, however when I asked for one I was told I have to pay additional for it (they later admitted to their mistake). To see the lions at the Park they provided no assistance other than give us the number of an agent who took double the amount to get a permit. They did not tell us that we should not take the 9 am safari. They charged a massive amount to give us a car to take us to the nearby Devalia Park. Another guest was not informed that the park is closed on Wednesday and they were told to proceed there. Most dishes ordered in the room service were not available. Some of the staff at the front desk were downright rude. The GM, Mr D'Silva however was friendly and polite, as was the staff in the restaurant. However the food in the restaurant was BAD......really tasteless. They have a pool table but the sticks are broken. There is a TT table with raquets that have torn padding. The dart board comes without any darts. The swimming pool is tiny. The property has the potential to be an absolutely outstanding one, but they need to pay special attention to service, and food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Had a chance to stay in The Fern, Sasan Gir recently. It was a wonderful experience. The ambience is very good, the food is simply delicious, the staff courteous, The General Manager, Mr. Romol D'Silva was a great help and it was nice to watch him interact with all the guests and going out of the way to help each one of them. Surely, he is a big asset to the place! I must make another mention of the lipsmacking delicacies and the variety of the food offered. We did not expect so much at a place like Sasan Gir! Thanks to chef Karthik!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anuyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Had booked 2 cottages for the family. Stayed put at the resort for 3 days. Though towards the expensive side, the stay was worth it! On the first day, there was a special tribal dance performance arranged for the guests. Food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was all included in the package and was very good. The play facilities allowed us to play volleyball, carrom, pool. Decent sized swimming pool and massage centre. Rooms were tented cottages. Though a bit small, however in perfect condition. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Special marks to the beautiful landscaping and maintenance within the resort.

Room Tip: Cottages are nice, as they have an extra bed apart from double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neetukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A chance encounter with the General Manager of The Fern - Gir, Mr. Romol D'Silva, led to an exciting and pleasant change in our recent holiday schedule.

We had initially opted for a 3-night package at another resort in Gir, and were scheduled to proceed later to Diu/Junagadh for a couple of days. But, after accepting the G.M.'s invitation to see The Fern, we changed our plans of visiting Diu/Junagadh, and instead opted to extend our holiday in Gir with a 2-nights stay at The Fern. And that is one decision which we certainly did not regret!!!

During the period of our stay we discovered the personal touch of almost every staff-member, specially guided & led from the front by the G.M., to ensure that we had a warm and memorable stay. An unscheduled "Siddhi Dance Program" - a highlight of Gir, an event performed by the Siddhis (Gujarati Africans) - was arranged for us.
A visit to the Gir Forest & Devaliya Park, and a Plantation Visit were also organised - to ensure that there wasn't a dull moment during our stay. A small trek along the river was also arranged to facilitate bird watching and a visit to the nearby Hirneshwar Temple.

Now about the resort - comfortable & cosy rooms, beautifully landscaped ambiance, friendly & efficient staff - all in all, a perfect holiday experience.

I would certainly recommend The Fern, Gir - for anyone planning a trip to Gir.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was a wonderful experience staying at “The Fern”. The property is excellently designed and maintained very nicely. The entire team at the resort was extremely courteous. The Chef in particular was very kind and provided more than expected. In spite of the location of the property being in Jungle, the rooms were free from any type of insects. Value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Visited Fern it was unplanned visit hence was not sure if we will get the room.We opted for tented accomodation.The tent was very good and luxurious...dining area serves all kind of Vegetable food and it has lot of variety.other rooms are also excellently made.staff was friendly and helpful.Only negative point is if you wish to have Non-veg.food its not possible here.Fern Resorts serves only pure vegetarian food.
value for money and can take this option if you want a sheer luxury in Jungle

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madhuvanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
161 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vishal Lords Inn Gir Forest
7.5 mi away
Van Vihar Farm
Van Vihar Farm
#3 of 4 in Sasan Gir
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
#4 of 30 in Gir National Park
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gir Jungle Lodge
Gir Jungle Lodge
#2 of 30 in Gir National Park
352 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 21 in Sasan Gir
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Gir Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Gir Forest Resort

Address: Sasan Gir, Gir National Park 362135, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Price Range: $109 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fern Gir Forest Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the thick vegetation, picturesque hills, green fields, beautiful landscaped gardens and adjacent to Gir Lion Sanctuary, The Fern Gir Forest Resort is regarded as one of the best forest hotels in India. Enjoy a relaxing holiday with family & friends at one of the best hotels in Gir. A stay at our hotel in Gir guarantees you a memorable holiday.Being amongst the leading hotels in Gir this Fern resort, a Unit of Kotecha hotels and Managed by Concept Hospitality Pvt. Ltd. offers a total of 40 well appointed and aesthetically designed rooms comprising of suites, villas, cottages & luxury tents that exude opulence and style. Our two duplex suites offer a captivating view of the River Hiran flowing by. All our guest rooms are well-equipped with modern amenities like LCD TV, a mini-bar, tea-kettle, digital safe, hair dryer & with flawless service we stand out to be one of the best forest hotels across India.During your stay at Fern Gir forest resort, indulge yourself at the "Sohum Spa", ideally located by the River Hiran and offering a host of treatments, massages, open rain shower etc. Along with it, the state-of- the- art gymnasium, jacuzzi and a swimming pool will completely rejuvenate your mind and body. Indulge in nature and forget the troubles of the world in our luxury resort in Gir. It's because of these unique offerings which make us one of the best forest hotels in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fern Gir Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing