We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, average stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gir National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Mahindra Gir Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great service, average stay”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Club Mahindra Gir is a neat, cosy property about 6 Kms from the safari registration gates. The approach is a bit poor especially closer to the hotel but once inside, it's fairly self-contained. Food was okay but the service was excellent. The hotel was very helpful in organizing our transport from Rajkot airport and later our safaris.

A few negatives: there was no gym, the swimming pool looked dirty and uninviting. Overall, a fairly scaled down version of a typical Club Mahindra property though service levels, room cleanliness and a decent food spread more than made up for it. And like all Club Mahindra properties, they had some indoor games and activities for kids.

The tent rooms, in particular, were spacious and clean. Our friend took a room in a hotel unit which was smaller and crammed. Property size is small but if safari is the main agenda, this place serves the purpose.

Room Tip: Stay in a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bundle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Gir resort. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort and our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    128
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
203
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have been to several Club Mahindra resorts, but this was a real disappointment. Absolutely not upto Club Mahindra standards, despite completing 3 years into operation.

a) There is no room service for food. (You need to order at the restaurant and pick it upto your room)

b) The food at the restaurant was not that great. Not many options and even the preparation was not very good.

c) The menu at restaurant has some X price for Khichdi and when they bill it, they bill you for some other higher price. Reason stated, the menu on display is older one. What a rubbish excuse that was.

d) The activity centre is horrible. The sections for toddlers has stuffed toys placed in adhoc manner, probably not washed since ages. There is a mattress in this section, on which the bedsheet is in a real sad state. I don't know if they ever wash it. ABSOLUTELY NOT HYGENIC FOR TODDLERS.

e) The rooms were not clean and the housekeeping took ages to attend us.

f) The children park has broken swings, rusted equipments. ABSOLUTELY UNSAFE for Kids.

g) The only good part is that the staff is very friendly.

We are really not satisfied with this resort.

Room Tip: Try staying in studio apartments or tents. The hotel units are far from the pool and reception and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrunal_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi Mrunal,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our staff. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Club Mahindra's resort in the heart of Gir is out of the world. Though situated a bit off the main road, the location is superb and compactness of the resort catches the eye. The rooms are very cosy with a balcony looking out to the greenery, an ideal place to relax. The staff confirm the Club Mahindra Hospitality of repute. The food is amazing, considering the remoteness of the place. The only improvement needed s the approach road, which is terrible.

Room Tip: The Studio rooms facing the lawns are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srijan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi Srijan,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Gir resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the accommodation and hope you enjoyed the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Una, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

It is a beautifully built resort in the middle of the Gir Jungle. The resort is located around 40kms from the Veraval railway Station (nearest railhead) and around 46 kms from the Somnath Temple. The Resort is quite big and has nice rooms as well as tents available. We had taken a Hotel Unit. This was the first Club Mahindra resort where i did not find one of the Front office manager to be humble and polite. However the rest of the staff was very warm and courteous. The Travel desk was handled by Mr. Haresh who was extremely helpful and cordial. On the last day of our stay he gave us a Tavera for Station drop whereas we had booked an Indica and also made arrangements for our Somnath Temple again, since we wanted to visit it once more before leaving, and he did this all without any extra charge. The food was average we did not find it to be great. I got a masala dosa when i ordered a Maharaja dosa, and then when i complained to the f&b manager he himself went to the kitchen and got me a maharaja dosa, and wehn i told him that last night instead of rabri i was served fruit custard, he apologized for everything and gave us a complimentary sweet box. Despite of all odds we loved the stay in the resort, probably because the staff was too warm and cordial.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thakur_rajat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi Rajat,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Gir. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, your points regarding the food at the resort have been duly noted and will be shared with the resort management on priority. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We went there by our own car, right from Mumbai, with a quickie over nighter at Rajkot. Traveled and explored Gondal & Junagadh enroute, which was quite memorable. but the last 4 km stretch was terrible. We reached the resort around 4:00 pm and settled in our tent by 4:30 pm. The resort is in a remote location with a small village around 1.5kms. Food, as usual was expensive, and we just took fun dining package with Breakfast and Dinner once once we on two occasions took in room dining. But that was not of concern as we wanted to explore local cuisine and so mostly ate out in local dhabas and restaurants, which we savoured. Overall the resort is beautiful, with all necessary amenities and facilities. The housekeeping staff was really good. Even the Restaurant Staff was quite courteous. Had a memorable stay.

Room Tip: If you like tents, then go for them. Or go for the 1 BR apartments, Hotel Units and Studios are a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meshcons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for writing in and providing us feedback regarding your stay at our resort! It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Thanks so much for your compliments and our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback and we look forward to welcoming you at our resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed during the Diwali 2013 week , classified as purple season of Club Mahindra.

Pickup from Diu airport , closest to resort , was smooth but was overcharged 25% which is typical for Club Mahindra. Checkin went fast.

Then the disappointments started:
1. Studio apartment was small. Nowhere near the size of STU units in Madikeri and even smaller than the HU units in Poovar. They wasted a lot of square footage in a porch and sitout (facing a brick wall!) while making the unit really small.
2. When asked about the key attraction , Safari in Sasan Gir , was told that if not booked online , one had to wait for four hours in the sweltering sun to get a chance at one of the 25 passes given during the day. This online service had started on October 3 and we hadn't been informed , all slots were fully booked by the time we knew of it the week before checkin when WE CALLED THE RESORT and enquired about booking for the safari. Resort made ABSOLUTELY NO EFFORT in informing guests by email or SMS when the online booking started.
3. Room service (called "In room dining" in Club Mahindra) was downright horrible. The WORST room service that I have ever encountered. Normally restaurant and room service are huge revenue generators and every Club Mahindra resort maintains them at a higher standard than other non-revenue generating services but THIS one flips the concept on it's head. Food is served in plastic containers , no plates , spoons or napkins. Like a chinese takeout but at six times the price! And if the item you order doesn't happen to be part of the buffet that day best of luck in getting it served!

Conclusion: I don't think this Club Mahindra is even trying. Thomas the general manager seems to have no grasp of the situation and he not being a local is totally out of water in this location.Don't go there expecting Club Mahindra standards. This resort falls far short. Avoid if you can.

Room Tip: Studios are smaller than standard. The third bed provided is tiny. Even the double bed provided is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SridharCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Sridhar,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai india
Level Contributor
136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Yes , thats right , go to gir reserve forest if you really love wild life & especially lions in gir , as there is nothing more to do in the resort as such , its only the safaris that tempt you to go all the way to the western edge of Gujarat ,
my family really love the resorts of club mahindra as we are members since 10 years now , so this resort was always on our mind & finally in october 23rd to 27th we visited this place ,
road to the resort is in dumps , last 25 kms took us 2 hours to reach , we left mumbai in morn at 5pm in our xylo E8 & reached at night 8.30pm at the resort , a good drive of 900kms one way with 2 halts only , one at bharuch & another at rajkot for fueling & tea . last leg of journey was really tiresome as roads are bad for last 30 -50 ksm area as u enter junagadh area off the highway to porbander , the resort is 60 kms away in a internal road to sashan - talala road.
once we reach the room given to us 204 was excellent , near the lobby area , resort is large with 43 rooms in 43 acres , so lots of open spaces , though think they could have better room size in studio apts , cant compain though.
room service & FNB staff were excellent , thanks to Che rajkumarji & exec Kamal who took good care of us , try their black dal once its mouth watering , also the paneer is good , dont recommend italian nor chinese as its ok , quantities need to improve as portion serving are very small & prices on par with 5 star resorts , so please take this suggestions from us .
children area is small activity center needs to expand , Table tennis area is in another hall, pool area is very small , mini pool i can say , they have net cricket & there is no free wifi as they said also front office staff prateek & piyush were very helpful .
safaris please arrange for your own permits online , try the devalia national park too as this is a must if u have small kids , otherwise morning gir safari or afternoon is good for safari , we were lucky & spotted a lion on our trip in the afternoon , thanks to badresh & ashraf .
overall good management & team by Ratnesh sahaji who head the resort , keep it up , all the best & hope you will improvise more in our next trip , god bless the team .

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool area & lobby area are preferred as service is better & closer to the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at our Club Mahindra Gir resort. Thanks a lot for your compliments and our staff will certainly be thrilled to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the Club Mahindra experience. We’ll certainly pass along your appreciation to our staff as well. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice regarding the activity center and roads have been shared with the resort team. In case you wish to provide us with any further feedback or information, please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab. Please continue to provide us such feedback and we look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
3.1 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
146 reviews
7.7 mi away
Vishal Lords Inn Gir Forest
3.0 mi away
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
#1 of 31 in Gir National Park
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 21 in Sasan Gir
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asiatic Lion Lodge
Asiatic Lion Lodge
#1 of 23 in Sasan Gir
238 reviews
2.9 mi away
Daksh Resort Sasan Gir with swimming pool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Gir Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Gir Resort

Property: Club Mahindra Gir Resort
Address: Village Haripur | Junagadh, Talala, Gir National Park 362150, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Safari Resort)
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Safari Hotel Sasan Gir National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing