We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD STAY AND FOOD FACILITY IN SAFARI RESORT IN SASAN GIR”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gir National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Mahindra Gir Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GOOD STAY AND FOOD FACILITY IN SAFARI RESORT IN SASAN GIR”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had visited this resort just recently in February 2013. The resort is 5 Kms. away from main state highway to Somnath from Sasan Gir. It is located within the Forest region, but far (almost 8 Kms. from Gir national park- an area reserved for Asiatic Lions. Being gujarati, and resort being in Gujarat, all Gujarati tourists will definittely enjoy classic buffet spread, good place to enjoy food, as in nearby area no good fast food restaurents in Sasan Gir. All resorts have reserved restaurents. Junagadh is very far (almost 58 kms from resort site). The 5 Kms. road to resort from state highway is horrible. The Resort company should donate money to renovate the road. The safari arrangements have to be booked in advance through resort at the time when you book resort, otherwise you will have to arrange your own by going to Govt.office for jipsy pass at the Torusm Office early morning as early as 5.00 a.m. We could locate almost 6 lions most lucky to watch 2 lions on roads of forest just 15 feets far from our open jeep. Resort has swimming pool, evening activities, bedminton and cricket net grounds, indoor games room cum children activity center. Rooms are better option then tents. Camel cart ride in the nearby village is another benefit at resort. During this visit in the evening at about 5.00p.m., you can also enjoy fresh cow or buffellow milk milked in front of you. You can also enjoy village food in near by village of Bhalchel if you are not health savvy. However, being in Gujarat, you will have maximum Vegetarian food available, non veg food is difficult to find even in resort, the non veg spread is also limited to only 2 or 3 items in lunch or diner and only 2 in break fast. Die Beach and Somnath temple are another attraction to visit from this place, you can cover up both in one day (full day) site seeing tour. You have to higher resort vehicle only which is very costly if you are not travelling by your own vehicle. Another unique attraction, just make a second class train travel from Junagadh to Somnath/ Veraval and return to junagadh or resort by taxi, as the train passes through the Gir National Park forest itself at a very low speed of less than 20 km ph. you can enjoy the entire forest and watch many wild animals from this train.

Room Tip: Rooms are better than tents. Select ground floor rooms if you are senior citizen. Select first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSHAHCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Gir resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, we are equally thrilled to read about the lion sightings. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    128
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
203
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A comfortable Family stay is all what I can say about Club Mahindra Safari Resort. Fantastic indoor and outdoor entertainment, Safari arrangements, Camel ride, special events and good food all under one roof!!! Only one thing that I requested the Chef to add is some fish dishes to the menu. But you may really want to discount this and much more if you get to see the Asiatic Lions (Pride), the undisputed king of the jungle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshuRadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Ashu,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

It is worthwhile to stay at this resort only because of the staff - their positive attitude. They conduct quite a few activities to keep you engaged.

We had stayed here for 2 nights in June 2013. We spent in their 1Bedroom living room apartment. Their 1 bedroom living room apartment was quite spacious and had it's own private balcony. We were on the first floor & 1 is ground Floor, (401 & 404)

The food was good but quite costly.

Thanks to Kamal, Khan, Hemant to Make a wonderful holiday.

There is a fine swimming pool,e video games to keep children engaged. And also a cricket net put up and we had fun.

The resort is a bit far from Gir sanctuary. The staff here arranges for the permit to visit the sanctuary. Luckily we saw 2 Lion in Forest Safari. Thanks to Mr Thomas & Bhadresh for arranging the Safari Trip.


It was a peaceful stay and completely relaxing,

Stayed June 2013, with family

Room Tip: We had a 1 BR on the first floor & Gr floor & 1 Tent unit. But Don't go for Tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Ashwin,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Gir resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and hope you enjoyed activities our resort offered. Additionally, we are equally thrilled to read about the lion sightings. Furthermore, your points regarding the food prices have been duly noted and will shared with the resort management on priority. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had visited in December with my wife. If you are not travelling by your own vehicle then it will be a uphill task to reach to the resort. Worst roads, no public transportation (transportation provided by resort is very costly).
when we visited resort was under development, there r options to take a tent or a room, we preferred a room.

In swimming pool frogs were swimming so is not recommended, when i complained to the maintainace guy he said its a forest region so its had to maintain.

Badmintion and out door activites a good. there is also a village camel cart tour which is quite good, we took the forest safari which the hotel manager arranged it for us was beautiful in morning.
overall expectations were very high but didnt turn out to be the best of all. there are other good options than this in the region.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirav309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi Nirav,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
363 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

It is worthwhile to stay at this resort only because of the staff - their positive attitude and trying to ensure that you have a wonderful stay. They conduct quite a few activities to keep you engaged.

We had stayed here for 4 nights in November 2012. We spent the first night in single room and the balance 3 nights in their 1Bedroom living room apartment. Their 1 bedroom living room apartment was quite spacious and had it's own private balcony. We were on the first floor.

The food was a bit on sweet side, given that it is in Gujarat. It is better to opt for À la carte instead of buffet as these dishes are prepared the way you want them.

There is a fine swimming pool. There are video games to keep children engaged. However, their table tennis is on a mini table and not convenient to play. There is also a cricket net put up and we had fun. They also hold salsa dance classes to keep us engaged - please do join in the fun - they are quite good. They also organise a camel ride in the evening (nominal charge) which was good. And there are activities before dinner which bring all guests together and increases interaction.

The resort is a bit far from Gir sanctuary. The staff here arranges for the permit to visit the sanctuary.

It was a peaceful stay and completely relaxing, away from the maddening crowd. End of the day, it boils down to the service we receive and it was amongst the best we have had.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandramohanamritkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi Chandramohan,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Gir resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the accommodation and the sports activities at our resort. Additionally, it is wonderful to know that you experienced the different activities our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I AM a CM member and this was my first visit to any CM Resort in APRIL 2012.

Overall was happy with the resort, but not with services and prices.

The resort location has bad roads of more than 4-8 kms.
The resort has nicely laid cottage type apartments and Tents with some beautiful landscaping.

Had not opted for food, on reviews from other travelers and friends recommendations of being too PRICEY.
The menu was same every day and almost everyone was dissatisfied with the prices & taste but were helpless as nonavailability of any other nearby restaurant.
The only savior was a typical Gujarati dhaba 1 km ahead from CM, serving a Gujarati desi thali lunch & at a fraction of the cost. A perfect outing.

For the evening cultural show, they expected everybody to pay 100 Rs. as entry. That was very funny and amussing, and we 8 people were not at all ashamed to walk off within 5 mins of the start for such ridiculous management.

The rooms were excellent with the attached kitchenette. Beds and linen were comfy for a good nights sleep after heavy safaris.

Room Tip: 1BR is good for a Couple & 2 kids, for lesser people a Studio is sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vakubhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Resort was located little away from the main roads (where most of the other resorts are located) and inside the resort, the rooms were clean and service was very good. Children activities were lacking and they need to provide more food options. Otherwise it was a decent place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkrengan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
3.1 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
145 reviews
7.7 mi away
Vishal Lords Inn Gir Forest
3.0 mi away
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
#1 of 31 in Gir National Park
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 21 in Sasan Gir
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asiatic Lion Lodge
Asiatic Lion Lodge
#1 of 23 in Sasan Gir
238 reviews
3.1 mi away
Amidhara Resort
Amidhara Resort
#5 of 31 in Gir National Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Gir Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Gir Resort

Property: Club Mahindra Gir Resort
Address: Village Haripur | Junagadh, Talala, Gir National Park 362150, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Safari Resort)
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Safari Hotel Sasan Gir National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing