We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sasan Gir” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Mahindra Gir Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gir National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Mahindra Gir Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sasan Gir”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Loved the hotel and the environment. It was very different from the other holiday experience. Very peaceful and serene place. The resort was full of mango groves with raw mangoes dangling from the trees. Enjoyed the bird watching expeditions. The safari was also a pleasant experience though we saw only a single lion, it was being in a jungle that was a great experience. I would recommend this for families with young children.

Room Tip: We had a hotel unit on the first floor. You could sit in the balcony and enjoy the very pleasant bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Uma,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. It is wonderful to have read about the wildlife sightings that you have mentioned. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon.In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    126
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
199
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

An excellent ambiance, calm, quite and relaxing. Rooms were neat and clean - typical Mahindra style. Staff at the reception were polite and understanding. Food was excellent especially we all liked the vegetarian food and the variety in the cuisine. Staff in the dinning section took care of the people well. We stayed here for 4 nights and 3 days. They arranged 6 safari trips for us and the arrangements were nice and punctual. But the drivers and guides were not of any useful inside the jungle. Out of 6 trips, only in 2 trips we had good drivers and guides. Especially Driver on the last trip was excellent and well informed about the park. But for this, this a wonderful place to stay and enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srinivasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Srinivasan,

We are really glad to have received your feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are certain the staff at Gir will be delighted to receive your compliment, specifically regarding the interactions you ‘ve had and the dining you ‘ve experienced. Furthermore, your points on the lunch buffet and restaurant service have been duly noted and will be addressed with immediate effect. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went to this property for a 2 night stay. This stay was complimentary so not very sure on the rates. We got a tent. It was a luxurious tent and had all the amenities. The hotel is very clean. They make you feel very home. I loved the activity room. A very good idea as there is nothing much to see once you are done with the jungle safari. This activity room keeps you and your kids engaged the whole day. There are lots of activities planned for the full day. The pool is good. There is a playground which is a good one. The food is good. The cost is high but then what else do you expect in a jungle? I didn't understand why they didn't have a room service for for food. That was inconvinient as we had to walk all the way to restaurant to collect anything. The resort is beautiful and I would recommend it to anyone. If you are going for a safari, select timings 6 30am or 9 30am as the place is very hot and you won't be enjoying the safari after that. Have a good journey!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Gir resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a typical club mahindra resort ment more for the family and not a typical safari resort. Though we stayed in the tent room , I think this was a mistake as the room was not very well lit and zipping and unzipping the tent for entry and exit was painful. The tent also lacked a safe. Though the staff was enthusiastic and helpful, the service staff was poorly trained. The road leading up to the resort is in poor shape.
All other facilities were the usual club mahindra facilities and none of them was outstanding.
Though the resort tries to help you to obtain permits , it is always advisable to book atleast 30-45 days in advance, particularly formthe morning safaris as the thempermits tend to get sold out in advance . For daily bookings, unless the resort is able to arrange for someone to stand in queue(at a price ), it may involve a long wait and possible disappointment.
Overall the trip was enjoyable and we did spot 8 lions in one safari ride!

Room Tip: I would choose the 1 BR rather then a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaushiMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our staff. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. Additionally, we are thrilled to read about the lion sightings. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

a great place this mahindra property. but far from around 8 kms the entry gate, but overall huge area and well mainatained , good pool..good food thanks to the management we got some freebies and discounts, thanks to them despite this being a paid visit..some food preprations were average and some deserts were excelent..

Room Tip: stay in tents for different experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are glad you liked our property and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort. We are certain that our resort staff will be delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We visited this resort for 2 nights during our trip to Saurashtra, Gujarat. It is located about 7 to 8 kms from the Gir national park's main entry, which is okay but the last 2-3 kms before reaching the hotel is off the main road and the narrow lane is not well maintained. Unfortunately we reached th hotel when it was dark and found it tough to locate it. We opted to stay in the tent for the first time, which was a fun experience. zipping the door instead of shutting it was a little funny too. :)

The restaurant is good with quite a bit of variety for both veg and non-veg. I personally liked the food quality and taste although I tried only the Vegetarian options. We left the hotel early morning at 6 am and the resport was kind enough to get some fresh sandwiches packed for us.

All in all a good 3 - 4 star hotel experience with tents and cottages, some open spaces, gardens, pool table, carrom board etc. Good for a nice family outing.

Room Tip: Go for the tent. Try it once if you havnt so far. !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saprenikhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hi Nikhil,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Gir resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the accommodation and the activities our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I always put the CM Goa against all other CM's. and this one is way behind.
Restaurant: The food was good but not special the taste was a bit bland no spice, variety yes but that less is better sometimes. The service was all over the place the waiters had no idea and we found out why because most were on training from other CM’s. When you enter the first thing is water there was never a time where the jug was re-filled after the last people left never. Or if there was any handkerchief’s we were lucky and to have one spoon or fork or knife! In the morning you had breakfast with flies that probably means that no one cleans the restaurant!!
The Room: The room was very high standard as usual but housekeeping was nonexistent a joke you had to tell the staff everything and I mean everything so be prepared for that. Example the man comes to do the bed (which I phoned for obviously!) he does the bed and leaves he doesn’t take the bin out he doesn’t check for towels he doesn’t clean the work top of the kitchenette or anything. Oh he does put the usual animal towel on the bed which he spends nearly 10 minutes doing but I would prefer he cleans the room first!! We had a urine smell in our bathroom for 2 days nothing was done until yes you guessed it you don’t ask you don’t get attitude. At Goa there are 3-4 men coming to do the whole room for in the morning and at night, it’s like watching a invasion. So be prepared for lots of your own cleaning especially if you have kids!!
The Resort:
The resort is good basic but good swimming pool and the game’s room being the best thing.
2N/3D is easily enough here you will go crazy if you stay more. The safari being the main attraction was excellent we didn’t book in advance but we still got to see the lions but it is easier if you book in advance.oh the prices for food is incredible seriously water at 55 rupees and a can drink for for what 60 rupees are you kidding me so be prepared for that even if are a member the buffet I think is a waste.

Room Tip: I bed room is the best for members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skywalker1977India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gir Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hi,

We are truly sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our staff. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We know you have not had the holiday you expected and the one that we are committed to deliver and we request you to please give us another chance to make it up to you. If you were to holiday again at Gir, do contact us, as we would love to host you at our resort so that you can rebuild your confidence in us and we can make adequate amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
3.1 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
7.7 mi away
Vishal The Green Wood Resort
3.0 mi away
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
#1 of 29 in Gir National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Gir Jungle Lodge
Gir Jungle Lodge
#2 of 29 in Gir National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asiatic Lion Lodge
Asiatic Lion Lodge
#1 of 19 in Sasan Gir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 19 in Sasan Gir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Gir Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Gir Resort

Property: Club Mahindra Gir Resort
Address: Village Haripur | Junagadh, Talala, Gir National Park 362150, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Safari Resort)
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Safari Hotel Sasan Gir National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing