We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gir Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gir Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Michigan
1 review
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Friendly service, clean rooms and good food. The staff is very helpful and ready to please. Location is close to the forest, we saw close to 6 lions and countless deer. There are lots of mango trees and surrounded by farms.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are bigger and better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamaldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukeshx, Owner at Gir Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
thanks Mr Dave. we will try to improve our property with better amenities, and will make your stay more memorable. Mukesh Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    101
    38
    11
    8
See reviews for
219
39
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

It was a great experience tp stay here. Right from reservation to safary every thomg was hassel free. All of us enjpyed our stay here. Will visit the lodge again. We took twp safaris and visited devalia park, top. We are specilly thankfull to Mr Raman Mishra GM, for organising our safaris,with best route and guide. We could see lions and other wild life.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwadiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukeshx, Owner at Gir Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks lot sir, we are very happy to receive your good review. mukesh mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great place. I had been to the lodge with my family . It was booked through web site. We got very fast and convincing response from reservations. We stayed there for couple of days, did safaris, which was well organised by the hotel. We had sent our I d proof well in advance. Best thing of the lodge is, they take best care of the safari. Many hotels refused us for the advance permit, as its a big problem during high season. We were also happy with the lodge planning.the food was very basil but hygenic. It's is also a good bird watching site. We found lot of birds within lodge. We strongly recommend this hotel and would like to come again.

Room Tip: First floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukeshx, Owner at Gir Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
dear mr kishor, we are gratefull to you for good review. we will try further to improve our services. mukesh mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavnagar, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Gir Jungal Lodge is the best property in Gir Sasan.. The staff was extremely knowledgeable
friendly and offered great service. Staff (in particular the naturalist at the lodge) went out of their way to ensure. we had a great stay! The food was fantastic. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. I definitely hope to return to the Gir Jungal Lodge someday soon!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweta635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukeshx, Owner at Gir Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
thanks a lot sir, your review on tripadvisor, matters us a lot. mukesh mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allahabad
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Gir Jungle Lodge is set among a sprawling mango orchard & is tastefully designed. The rooms have double balconies. While one side opens to the mango orchard, the other opens to lush wheat fields. In the cool winter evenings you get a pleasant whiff of flowers. The rooms reminded me somewhat like those of the the White Tiger resort of Bandhavgarh, small & equipped with the bare minimum.

The resort is situated some 3-4 kms from Sinh Sadan, the Forest Department guest house & the so called city centre so this makes it as a sort of disadvantage, because they have fixed meal timings & menu's. I found the catering staff helpful & even provided us a separate dish with no onion/garlic, but the hotel management cannot be trusted with your permit for entering the park. So it is advisable to manage on your own.

On the whole, it appears expensive if you compare it with other properties.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the first floor because they have double balconies & a splendid view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashvin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I came for a vacation to India for a month... We planned fr a nature trip to Sasan Gir... Gir jungle Lodge was recommended by one of my frnds as we were looking fr a natural n calm experience.... We booked through their website n received a very prompt response from Mr. Kunal. This place is truly a gr8 place for those coming from a hectic city life as it has been built keeping nature intact n gives u a real feel of being in a forest....the place is noise free, pollution free n completely refreshing environment just like a country side in US.. The staff was very cooperative n humble, they also arranged for our safari n we were very lucky to sight a lioness with two cubs.. Beautiful experience.. Truly worthy visit.. I would also like to thank the owner Mr. Mehta who personally took care of our group n is very knowlegable about the area.. Would definitely love to visit this place agin when get a chance n would also recommend to other friends...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renutdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukeshx, Owner at Gir Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
thanks mam. we hope to welcome you again and aspect will bring your American friends, to our country. mukesh mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Group Stayed at Gir Jungle Lodge ”

We - Group of 42 persons reached at Gir lodge at 10.15 a.m in stead of 12 noon check in time , still almost all 17 rooms were allotted immediately without any extra cost . Excellent Planning of 40 Rooms having huge bathrooms with hot water facilities . A nice place for leisurely holiday with big group

Food served for two days stay were Excellent . All our choices are accomodated & tried to satisfy other guest also by excellent staff services . Gir Jungle Lodge has arranged " Jeep Safari " which were requested well in advance very nicely with perfect timings including arranging forest permission without any trouble . Excellent support provided by Lodge management

Dhamal Program arranged as Complimentary for group were excellent . All members and other guest has enjoyed a lot

Entire group would like to personally thank Mr. Mukesh Mehta - Owner & Mr. Raman for giving us personal attention for smallest need during our two days stay in Gir Jungle lodge

Excellent Place to stay here for two days with big group



( Dipak Mehta )

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swapna49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
8.2 mi away
Vishal The Green Wood Resort
0.4 mi away
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
#1 of 29 in Gir National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Asiatic Lion Lodge
Asiatic Lion Lodge
#1 of 20 in Sasan Gir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.6 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 19 in Sasan Gir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amidhara Resort
Amidhara Resort
#5 of 29 in Gir National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gir Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gir Jungle Lodge

Property: Gir Jungle Lodge
Address: Sasan Junagadh Road | Sasan Gir., Gir National Park, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gir Jungle Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gir Jungle Lodge is offering best value for money. It is planned in such a way it gives feeling of stay within the jungle. Entry is from the main road, and property is quiet inside, safe from noise and air pollution. We offer all inclusive, like all meals and tax. No hidden cost. We have highest inventory in this area, so high occupancy results in lower tariff. The area of the land is also vast, can do jogging, morning walk, etc. Have very large swimming pool, too. We also offer multi cuisine food in our restaurant. We arrange safaris on behalf of our guests. We provide transfers from nearest airport/railway station, with nominal cost. We also organize local tribal dance, on chargeable basis. It is best property, having best sunrise and sunset view from the rooms, as the rooms are facing east and west directions, clear view, without any obstructions. It's most natural location in this area. You will love to come again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gir Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing