We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is definitely not a five star”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cambay Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambay Sapphire
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Gandhinagar
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is definitely not a five star”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The reception is really small....Mr. Avnish at the Front desk is very rude....doesnt even care to listen when a client is talking to him....the toilets seats in the room have stains...towels have stains...the charging points dont work....when asked to get the room changed it took two hours inspite of the rooms being vacant....the new room didnt have an electronic safe....the swimming pool is under maintenance....when I asked for other recreational activities....they say its chargeable.....i told them that the swimming pool is under maintenance and they can give me access to either table tennis or billiards....but Mr. Avnish simply denies without even trying to listen....I would not recommend anyone to stay over here.....I checked out of Fortune Inn Haveli in Gandhinagar since it was a four star hotel and thought that Cambay resort being a five star would be a better option....but trust me Fortune Inn was much better option to stay at.....Please think twice before booking this hotel....the furniture is very old.....the TV in de room is really small....No window can be opened in de room so a big no no for smokers as well....

Room Tip: All rooms are dirty....So no point giving a tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VikramJ458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurabhgarg5, Public Relations Manager at Cambay Sapphire, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for feedback sir. We are sorry for the issues you had to face during your stay, we have ensured that action is taken and steps taken to improve all areas highlighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    33
    18
    45
See reviews for
42
22
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thane, MH,INDIA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was alloted a room in the rearside, (not in the main building) due to excess rush and to say the least those rooms lack the quality of the ones in the main building.
General Cleanliness is lacking, Bathrooms inefficient and the worst being, lack of hot water.

Shifting to the main building was a good solution offered after suffering for 1 day in the rear.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the main building above the rreception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bakul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Sapphire, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Regret for the inconvenience. We are there to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Cambay Spa & Golf Resort is just an average place. The restaurant is small and the spread of food is limited. The villas in the resort are far away and service is just ok. The rooms are big in size but they are not very cozy and comfortable. Golf facilities are good. High point is Gym. Location is really deep insde Gandhinagar. Check-in experience was average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VaibhavMittal0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Sapphire, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
thanks for your valuable feed back. As Its a huge resort the room service will need more time to deliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went through RCI exchange timeshare . Comfortable room, nice staff and great spa . Also the food at the restaurant is good . Good starting point for daily excursions in the area without getting stuck in the traffic of Ahmedabad .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gneccocristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Sapphire, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We Regret for the inconvenience caused. As it's a resort's it's away from the city in a peaceful surrounding. We will inform our staff on the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The property has been well designed but far for city center. Rooms are large and bed was comfortable but with stain bed sheet and dirty towel. I must say terrible towels with dirty small. Requested to change but the new set of towels were of same quality-dirty laundry service was poor my cloth get damage.
Room cleaning not good w/c area dirty. Window glass dirty. Too much noise. Internet not working.
Need more training for hotel staff. Overall I don't like to recommend this hotel at all....Looks me like a Dhaba.
Regards

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ram p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Sapphire, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We Regret for the inconvenience caused. Would request you to be our guest to sere you better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Noida, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Property is located far far from the city, no navigational signs and not even known to local transport infrastructure like Taxis and Auto drivers. Place is unfortunately not appealing either externally or internally. Upkeep and maintenance seems to be totally missing. Staff untrained/ indifferent and lacks basic knowledge of the product. Front office staff seems OVER CONFIDENT about the quality of the product and services. A very tired and outdated property both in terms of structure and technology. Shockingly the General Manger of the property does not seem to be interested in knowing the facts from his guests and does not return calls even if called on his mobile or messages sent through staff in case of complaints. Rooms are poorly maintained/ equipped with many things NOT FUNCTIONAL. A simple Electronic Airline ticket could not be printed despite two days follow up. Thou called a SPA but massage could not be booked for two days for the reasons best known to the management. Morning breakfast claimed to be part of the room rent is Stale, not palatable and serving staff inattentive to your basic needs such as tea, coffee, bread Butter etc. Not a place definitely for a business traveler and god only knows what happens to leisure travelers. God bless those who choose this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rakesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Sapphire, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We regret for the inconvenience caused to you sir. Resort property are always far off from the city to bring in a peaceful surrounding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gandhinagar hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights.They claim to make big promises on agreement but deliver 0.
Electricity gone for a long time in a 4star property unaccepteble.
I WILL NEVER SUGGEST THIS PLACE IF YOU VALUE YOUR Hard earned money.
Worst resort ever.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoldenDragon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Sapphire, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Regret for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Due some failure there was power disruption.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gandhinagar
1.3 mi away
Fortune Inn Haveli
Fortune Inn Haveli
#1 of 17 in Gandhinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.3 mi away
7 Wonders Hotel
7 Wonders Hotel
#2 of 17 in Gandhinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel German Palace
Hotel German Palace
#3 of 17 in Gandhinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palm Greens Club
Palm Greens Club
#1 of 1 in Kheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grand Midway Hotel
The Grand Midway Hotel
#9 of 17 in Gandhinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
2.9 mi away
Infocity Club & Resort
Infocity Club & Resort
#19 of 43 in Gandhinagar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambay Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambay Sapphire

Property: Cambay Sapphire
Address: 23 Plot No | Sector 25, Gandhinagar 382010, India (Formerly Cambay Spa & Golf Resort)
Location: India > Gujarat > Gandhinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Gandhinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambay Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambay Sapphire , Gandhinagar is located in the capital of Gujarat and, is spread over an area of 28 acres. It is a luxurious resort in Gandhinagar that is aesthetically designed to lure the guests. The Gandhinagar resort encompasses of 199 rooms that include villas and cottages, all of which are elegantly styled to match the repute of the hotel. The hotel hosts an array of facilities and, recreational activities that include restaurants, health club, spa, banquet halls, gym, amphitheatres and, specific game areas that include games like tennis, squash and billiards. The star attraction of this hotel is its nine-hole golf course. This golf course comprises of two levels and, sixteen driving stations, the driving range of which is 240 mtr(length) by 40mtr(width). Cambay Gandhinagar, one of the luxurious golf courses in ahmedabad, also hosts a golf academy where people are trained in golf and, plays host various golf tournaments too. Located away from the hustle-bustle of the city, this resort near Ahmedabad, offers peace and, tranquility to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambay Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambay Spa & Golf Hotel Gandhinagar
Cambay Spa And Golf Resort
Cambay Hotel Gandhinagar
Cambay Sapphire Gandhinagar, Gujarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing