We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad and deceiving hotel.”
Review of Hotel Damji's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Damji's
Ranked #120 of 231 Ahmedabad B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Very poor maintenance. The bathroom was not cleaned properly. To my horror, the bathroom drain was choked. And the receptionist was not ready to agree to it. Then got it cleared after shouting to her. Then started the ordeal to get hot water. Ultimately, they gave me a bucket of water.
The hotel charges 5.15% service tax on their printed tariff. This is absolutely illegal, as we have paid the service tax once by the cleartrip invoice. The hotel only gives you receipt of the money, and not tax invoice. I am taking with cleartrip the tax issues also.
PLEASE AVOID THE HOTEL.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank SRAY2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 32 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

I booked the hotel in August 2011 by seeing the pics and reviews given in this site, but I was really shocked to see the poor condition of the hotel. The hotel is very poorly maintained, with leaking roofs at corridors, dirty floor and corners, dusty mattresses, poorly maintained bathroom with water shortages and very noisy airconditioner.
We reached at middle of the night and had no other options but to spend the night there itself. There was no water available in the washbasin n flush. when enquired about the reason, they said that the waterpump is not working and running water will be available only by next day early morning and told us to adjust with hot water tap through which cold water was running.
Next day early morning itself we left the hotel. It was a really horrible experience.

Room Tip: i dont think any better rooms are available there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaathrikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

I booked this hotel for my 1 Day stay in Ahmedabad mainly based on its rating and rates. And it is a unique little gem, really.

I have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones with impeccable details and fantastic designs. But the comparison fails: Hotel Damji is not a luxury place.

It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this small family-run hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home.

The room I had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kudurgesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

The hotel is centrally located in Ahmedabad and is convenient for getting around all of the city. It is on a main road and the noise of traffic with hooting from morning till night the only drawback. However once inside the room, the noise is almost nil.
I only got the chance to look at the smaller rooms later on and they looked comfortable. The rooms could do witha paint job and the promise of Hot/Cold water is 24/7 is broken quite often with almost no hot water after 9am. And the water can stop anytime.
The room service,cleaning of the room and the restaurant downstairs were excellent.
Food is available from many take aways along the road,however caution is advised from eating from street vendors.
The overall impression is that I would stay at the hotel again,but make sure the facilities on offer are working properly. The staff are very friendly , and always eager to plese. Banks and ATM's are close by . I had issues with the water only and the needs of extra bedding.pillows etc was always fulfilled.Bottled water is available from across the road from a shop and is much cheaper than the hotel. If you want to experience the locally brewed tea stalls,then they are much cheaper as well than the hotel. Always ask for a plastic cup as the china ones seem to be washed in the same water all the time. And sugar is pre added so ask if you want sugar free.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKJ1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I have stayed in this property for 1 night before proceeding to dwarka the next day morning. It is a average budget hotel to stay. The a/c took at least 5 hours to cool the Ahmadabad heat. The rooms are a bit old fashioned bed linen also not so upto the mark. Hot water was available for bathing. The room size are big ones. Good thing about the hotel is location is good for the price paid. Toilets are ok. We have not availed the room services. so cannot comment! You have good restaurants nearby serving you authentic styled gujrathi food called SASUJI where we had food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The hotel is no doubt located in a good location. However, when it comes to room cleanliness or prompthness, the hotel is pathetic. The management of hotel is very rude with customers. Moreover, the hotel rooms are certainly not worth the price that they charge. Very small rooms with just not sufficient space to move around the double bed. A very old property worth avoiding.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank thecrowkaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I stayed with Hotel Damjis in Ahmadabad during my visit on a business trip. It was peaceful stay there, quality of food and room service are very good at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinay_shukla1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#6 of 165 in Ahmedabad
732 reviews
2 mi away
The House of MG
The House of MG
#11 of 165 in Ahmedabad
482 reviews
4.4 mi away
OYO 3626 Hotel Cambay Sapphire
OYO 3626 Hotel Cambay Sapphire
#130 of 165 in Ahmedabad
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Prime
Hotel Prime
#106 of 165 in Ahmedabad
26 reviews
4.6 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#8 of 165 in Ahmedabad
721 reviews
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#1 of 165 in Ahmedabad
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Damji's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Damji's

Address: Opp. Auda Office,Ashram Road, Ahmedabad 380013, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Ahmedabad
Price Range: $17 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Damji's 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We introduce ourself as three star facilities Hotel “HOTEL DAMJIS" located at the heart of Ahmedabad city at Ashram Road. Our brief introduction and facilities details are attached herewith for your ready reference. It is one of its kind Boutique Hotel offering the best of accommodation. - Our rooms comprises of Executive, Deluxe and Suites to meet your suitable requirements. - The in-house restaurant "SPICE", serves you round the clock, its multi-cuisine menu created by our professional chefs to pamper your taste buds. - The Hotel has its own high-capacity corporate Conference Hall , and all the ingredients of a perfect place for your leisure and business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Damji's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing