We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt like I was in some kind of hidden camera prank”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pride Plaza Hotel Ahmedabad
Ranked #14 of 160 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Reviewed February 28, 2009

First room we were given, the construction was not complete, wires were coming out of the walls. Second room the A/C didn't work. Third room we stopped hoping for anything better and settled in. Rooms are clean and modern. (some are too modern with a peep show shower, glass wall so you can see into shower from bedroom. The staff assured us westerners like that). 24 hour room service and dining room is available, which is much appreciated when dealing with jet lag.

A few tips:
Do not bring valuables. The safes are not bolted to the wall or furniture. Staff did not understand why this concerned us or how to remedy it.
Do not bother booking your airport transfer in advance. It wont get done. Just be in the lobby and wait and wait and wait until they can find the car to take you.
You are in a dry state, bring something with you.
Take advantage of the car service available at the trip desk. Its a bargain and these are the only people in the hotel that can offer advice on dining shopping. (dont bother asking reception)
Request a room near elevator/high floor. Traffic is noisy if you are near the street.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesley012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for Pride Plaza Hotel Ahmedabad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 632 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2009

It was my first time to Ahmedabad and I didnot have any idea about the city or the hotels there. I searched the website and found out this hotel. I made my booking and was given a complimentary airport pickup. On reaching there, my car was ready to pickup from airport and it took me almost 40 mins to reach the hotel which i found to be a little long but the roads in the city was good and ride smooth. If the driver had informed me i would have prepared for the ride and did some sightseeing on the way. Anyway on reaching i was checked in immediately and i found out that they had upgraded me to their premier rooms which was really very nice and spacious. Even though i did not find much time to spend in my room, it was very comfortable and i liked the idea of having a glass cubicle shower area. The washbasin area was a little small. On the whole the bathroom was spacoius and the glass gave it a even bigger look. The bed in the room was good and hard enough whcih didnot cause a backache which i generally have at most hotels. I had my meals in the coffee shop and also in their speciality reastaurant where they had a food festival going on. Both the places the ambience was good and the food also was excellant. I also tried their midnight buffet at coffee shope which had a very large variety. One thing that really i enjoyed was their band which was playing at the coffee shop. They were simply superb and i had a very good time listening to them. I stayed there for three days and it was a good time. My work got over on the third day by afternoon and the hotel was kind enough to arrange a car for me to do some local shopping and sightseeing which was very enjoyable. On the whole a very good experience and would definetly like to come back whenever at Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mennu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

This Place is next to heaven.

I had visited this place on one of toughest times of my life .
I have found out this place to be the best of its type, as it brought peace of mind and relaxation for body as well as soul.

I had visited this hotel for aduration of 3 days, and have found the service to be very pleasant good management and great facilities at the end.

It is some what expensive but worth what it takes !

All in all a enjoyed a great & a pleasant stay !

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Luvash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

Its a large hotel with several function rooms and hosts corporate events, its also the hotel that Spicejet use for aircrew stopovers in Ahmedabad.
My room was clean, the foods good too but sevice can be slow and as the hotel caters to big buisiness the solo traveller seems to be lower down the priority scale.

That aside the hotel is ok but the "pool" is ornamental, if it was any smaller you could blow it up with a foot pump. The internet at the Pride is dissapointing for a corporate oriented hotel, its cable connect rather than wireless and bandwidth drops off after 8-9PM and speed becomes little better than dial up.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Master_Ohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

This is quite a good option in Ahmedabad, a city that is still lacking some decent hotels (Taj? are you coming or not?). Its clean, comfortable and has a great club/bar in the middle. If you want to go to the club, its great. If not, its a pain and very noisy that will keep your mini-bar rattling till all hours.

Certainly better than Fortune Landmark.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank timborules84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

I was booked in here by a third party when I travelled to the city on business. The complimentary shuttle picked me up at the airport and transferred me to the hotel which was a great service. Whilst there is nothing particularly wrong with the hotel, it is not a particularly friendly place which makes it a less pleasant experience. The receptionists at times could be downright rude! Nevertheless, the rooms are spacious, clean, have individual air conditioning and everything works. Mine (312) was next to some internal hotel equipment that made a dreadful noise. For the first couple of nights it didn't cause me any problems because I was so tired, I went straight to sleep but by night 3, the noise was quite intrusive. By then, however, I was too lethargic to ask for a change! The breakfasts are generous and of good quality, there is plenty of fresh fruit and individually made egg dishes available as well as some hot dishes and the usual cakes and breads. Because the hotel is quite a distance from the centre, you need to get a tuc tuc into town and there are plenty around - if you havn't been to India before, brace yourself! Driving in any form of transport is a nerve wracking experience and Ahmedabad is no exception. How the drivers manage to avoid having more accidents is simply a miracle. Although Ahmedabad is certainly not a tourist area, there are some interesting places to walk around. Be aware, however, that if you are European in appearance people may stop and stare at you, giggle, want to touch your hair or hands and generally be quite amazed at you. This is not as frightening as it sounds and most people just want to make contact. There is wonderful shopping in the way of textiles and outside shops you can haggle with stall holders. Most shops are fixed price. Another thing to be aware of if you are coming here is that it is an alcohol free state. I understand that some of the hotels in the centre have alcohol for sale provided you can prove that you are a tourist but the Pride did not have any alcohol. This was not a problem for us but you may find you want to bring in some duty free if you will really miss it! All in all the Pride served its purpose in providing comfortable accommodation but not much else.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sallymarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Pride is one of the new hotels in Ahmedabad. As with most of India, the rates are outrageous relative to the income of the locals.

I was given this hotel because it was nearer the outskirts of town where I was going to.

The standard aka deluxe room I had came with a minibar, kettle and (standard in all Indian hotels) a flask for cold water. There is internet access chargeable by the hour at 500 INR a day.

The room is clean and things work.

There is a decent gym with the minor catch of the instructor who kept the volume of the music high even after repeated telling off.

The swimming pool is used pigeons to drink, so I saw no foreigners and only locals there.

I used the barber--ok, not great but my hair was getting unsightly--for 200 INR.

A couple of strong suits. There is a good restaurant that serves non-vegetarian food. A pretty big deal in Ahmedabad.

And there is a tour desk. So when I had to make a last minute booking for a mini-van to ferry 5 of us to dinner, I could do it quite quickly.

The hotel, however, is not particularly charming in its view. You just see apartment blocks around you.

But it works and it is certainly one of the better hotels in Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#10 of 160 in Ahmedabad
660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#2 of 160 in Ahmedabad
935 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The House of MG
The House of MG
#9 of 160 in Ahmedabad
470 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
3.8 mi away
Starottel Ahmedabad
Starottel Ahmedabad
#11 of 160 in Ahmedabad
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pride Plaza Hotel Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pride Plaza Hotel Ahmedabad

Address: Judges Bunglow Road | Off S.G. Road, Ahmedabad 380054, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ahmedabad
#22 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range: $58 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pride Plaza Hotel Ahmedabad 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best contemporary five-star hotel in Ahmedabad with all modern facilities, situated at the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pride Plaza Hotel Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pride Hotel Ahmedabad
Ahmedabad Pride Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing