We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$49
$39
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $53/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$85
$72
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cama Hotel(Ahmedabad)
$38
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Courtyard Ahmedabad(Ahmedabad)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Ahmedabad(Ahmedabad)
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
$72
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$68
$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveler rating
313
174
43
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
174
43
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen househeritage hotelthalirooftop restaurantold citytextile museumgreen roomlotus poolgrand deluxe roomthe ground floorfour poster bedheritage walkcalico museumheritage tourindoor poolhuge roomcharming hotel
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 550 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2016

the perfect place to stay in Ahmedabad ,easy for transport ,good location.
the rooms very good and love the boutique heritage hotel feel .

very big rooms ,clean and very tiny love all decoration during the rooms ,very warm and comfortable .

24 hours hot water for shower ,and have their own brand hair wash and body wash and body lotion , very good feeling,

the restaurant also supply very good menu , love the rose lassi so much .

the hotel also have a shop selling some cutie things .

all of the hotel good for take picture ,because full of the history and grand feel .

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HouseOfMG, Manager at The House of MG, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2016

Thank you for your appreciation! We look forward to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2016

We recently visited Ahmedabad and not sure of good property in our budget. We found this hotel on top ranking on trip advisor and when we looked their website we were amazed with the rate. On check in we have been given room which is like a suite as its very huge with swing inside. This is the must visit place if you are in Ahmedabad. Its like a royal palace. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel has 2 restaurant but I like the thali one best gujarati food. They also have gift shop and textile gallery and lovely pool. We had great time here and surely coming back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for room with swing
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discoverer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

One day is all we had and how a stay here has made an entire city fonder for us.
Travelling by road to a new city in india even for an indian can be overwhelming...there is just so much happening out there! And more so when the hotel you choose is in the'older' and ' innermost' part of the city.
Well on spotting the welcoming gates of this heritage property we as a family found hope but on getting in, and stepping out, to be ushered around to check out the suites & rooms, we were floored!and quite literally walking in the air!! Its a museum guised as a hotel and every square foot breathes a time long gone by. If one wishes the uniquest of experiences this is it- a whole ancient city goes about its daily chores outside while you recap the art, craft, lifestyle, royalesque comforts inside the boundaries of this house from another times. Too bad we could stay only a day,havent left a hotel as reluctantly as we did this.Will return:)

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Thank Bobby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016

This is an extremely beautiful hotel. The rooms are stunning and well maintained. Sadly though the senior staff (in the purple/pink kurtas) let the entire operation down.

Really this review should be focusing on the beautiful rooftop restaurant, the gatsby-esque indoor swimming pool and the stunning rooms.

However, the lingering thoughts are mainly on the staff. The reception staff had a casual and disinterested attitude. This is pretty unremarkable and wouldn't have been noticed had it not been for a few incidents.

We were out site seeing and my girlfriend got some dirt caught in her eye. When we couldn't fix it there, we decided to head back to the hotel. She was clearly in pain but the staff showed no concern at all on our return. We went to the wash room but after more efforts still were in trouble. I went and asked the reception if they had an eye wash. "No" came the reply. Do they have a first aid? "no" again. Ok, my girlfriend is in a lot of pain, what do you suggest. "go to a doctor or pharmacy" came the reply.

Sure, not bad advice. But zero offer of a number, no concern as to her well being, just them sat down, disinterested, behind their desks. Fine, I went out to a pharmacy, got some eye wash, not terrible.

At check out we were then handed a feedback form and asked to fill it out. We did and suggested that perhaps they could get a first aid kit or be a bit more helpful when their guest were having medical difficulties, albeit pretty minor ones.

Oh, the tantrum that was thrown. Maam, this is not my fault. Management says no first aid. I did everything I was told I should do. Please do not write these things. Shall I really submit this form? etc etc

Pathetic and undeserving of such a beautiful hotel.

Saying all that, it is very beautiful, good value and I would go back.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel will likely be quieter
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HouseOfMG, Manager at The House of MG, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

We regret the inconvenience you had to face. We usually keep the first aid box at the security cabin, which is barely 15 metres from the reception. The eye wash is usually not a part of the first aid box in hotels since it is a very sensitive material. However, we understand your point of view and will ensure to have an eye wash as a part of our first aid kit. We also understand your concern in our reception staff interfering in your feedback and have already instructed them to refrain from doing so.

We are glad that barring these stray incidences you liked our hotel, the rooftop restaurant and the indoor swimming pool. We value for your appreciation and hope to have you back at The House of MG soon.

Thank You
Vivek Vyas
For The House of MG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the House of MG in mid April, after a short holiday around Gujarat. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is nothing short of stunning. It is exquisitely done up and falls short in no detail - luxurious but not stuffy. We fell in love with it as soon as we walked in. However, we were thoroughly disappointed throughout our stay...

What would've been an absolutely perfect stay was ruined by what I can only describe as the utterly embarrassing attitude of their "senior" staff (more "junior" staff, i.e. servers and cleaners, are absolutely charming). The reception staff were idle and unwilling to help beyond their duty. They were also self-righteous and impertinent, the best example of this being when the person at checkout read my feedback form in front of me and challenged every point where I had not rated the hotel as "good/excellent ".

The hotel also has appalling pricing policies, very uncharacteristic of a " luxury boutique hotel". Some of these include the very crass policy of charging by the hour for early check-in (to my knowledge this is not a brothel), charging 15% extra for dining in the AC hall, and 40% surcharge on room service. Whilst it is understandable that any hotel may want to have extra charges for "special" amenities (although I fail to understand which of these fall under the "special" category for a so-called boutique hotel), fine print and door notices that state these surcharges only make it appear like a cheap backpackers' hostel.

It is a pain to see such a stunningly done-up place face such an identity crisis.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HouseOfMG, Manager at The House of MG, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

We regret the convenience you had to face and understand your concern in our reception staff interfering in your feedback. We have taken your feedback in full earnest and have already instructed them to refrain from doing so.

With regard to the pricing policy, to our understanding most hotels have a policy of charging extra for early check in and we follow the normal industry practice. However, we try to make special exceptions in this whenever possible if intimated in advance. Besides, it is a normal practice for every hotel to have a separate in-room service menu or levy surcharge on the restaurant menu. Here too, we follow the normal industry practice. 15% extra for dining in AC Seating too is not something that is off the industry practice. You might not have noticed this at other hotels since most of them do not have an option of dining on an open-air rooftop restaurant or in open at the ground floor amidst the greenery under a pavilion.

We are glad that barring these stray incidences you liked our hotel and the ambience. We value for your appreciation and hope to have you back at The House of MG soon.

Thank You
Vivek Vyas
For The House of MG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews