We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True heritage boutique property”
Review of The House of MG

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The House of MG
Ranked #9 of 160 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

House of MG is one of those hotels that one hopes will remain the same and not become a big chain/ star hotel. It stays true to its heritage and delivers a very unique experience. We enjoyed the friendly and super helpful service of everyone from the reception to housekeeping to their in-house guide. The rooms are all different, with unique furniture and portraits of the owners. The rugs are changed every day!!! They even deliver a sweet printed poem at turndown service, left on the bed in a basket of flowers. Agashiye is a superb thali restaurant on the terrace, but if that gets a bit heavy, the Green House downstairs is an ordinary multicuisine option. The location is great for visiting a lot of the sights within the old city that are within walking distance. We loved the fact that they had free wifi in the hotel and in their cars!

Room Tip: Pick a room that doesn't face the street, or it can get noisy at night.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for The House of MG
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 469 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

The House of Mangaldas Girdhardas is in the centre of the busy city of Ahmedabad, once the home of a wealthy merchant, who had it built to his own requirements. The hotel was while we were there being extended into the other half of the building, formerly inhabited by another family member, and it is to be hoped that it loses none of its individuality in the process.
We had a beautiful suite, at the back of the building, so probably a lot quieter than those at the front looking onto the main road. The bedroom window overlooked the cafe at the side of the hotel, but we were not aware of any noise from there. The bedroom had a huge super-king sized bed, very comfortable, a large wardrobe, and a swing seat, an item very popular in Gujerat, but we had never had one in our bedroom before. It was very relaxing.
The sitting room was huge, well furnished with traditional Indian furniture, and comfortable sofa and armchairs. There was TV and DVD player with a vast assortment of DVDs had we had time to watch any! A large bathroom, slightly old-fashioned, but functional, with a good supply of towels and toiletries. Wi-fi reception was good.
Our suite was reached via a warren of stairs, corridors, sitting areas, and a balcony, all decorated with pictures, carvings, and assorted eclectic ornaments.
We only used the Green Room cafe near the hotel entrance, which serves meals throughout the day as well as drinks and snacks. It had a roof, but the sides were open to the air, creating a pleasant environment. There is a restaurant upstairs which serves traditional thali style dinners, and has an excellent reputation, but our schedule did not allow us time to sample it.
For anyone who enjoys heritage hotels, I thoroughly recommend this one, and would be delighted to have the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: Go for one at the back if possible, it is quieter than overlooking the busy main road
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieO34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

the best place to stay in Ahmedabad - charming, authentic vibe of a family heritage mansion, spacious rooms, terrific location. Interesting that most boutique properties throughout India offer free wifi yet the big brand chain hotels continue to charge and not include in their room rate (corporate greed) - another good reason to support places like House of MG. The rooftop restaurant serves a fantastic thali for dinner, an essential city experience

Room Tip: request a room back from the main street and its incessant traffic noise
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 271christine60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

House of MG is possibly the most pleasant hotel I stayed at in all of Gujarat. Conveniently located in the centre of the old city of Ahmedabad, this historical building contains just above a dozen rooms. The feeling is both atmospheric and homely. My room was very large and contained all facilities one could expect in a deluxe property: a large comfortable pollster bed, an efficient air conditioning system, ceiling fans, a minibar with a reasonably-priced choice of drinks, a writing desk with a comfortable office chair and hi-speed internet, a large bathroom etc., all well maintained and clean. Staff –especially housekeeping– were particularly personable and efficient.

There is room for improvement however in lighting: either on the writing desk or at the bathroom’s washbasin, it would be pleasant to have stronger lights. More important would be to have appropriate sound-proofing: to reduce street noise and noise from neighbouring rooms from which you can distinctly hear conversations.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay very much and would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you look for non-chain hotel experience with all comfort of high level hotels with adittional flavour of history, this is the only option in Ahmedabad. Acoustic is good despite being on the bussiest Ahmedabad street. Veranda terrace serves good tali dinner - no copromise Gujarati.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SimplyDrapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel is just as beautiful as it looks on the website. The rooms are large and well decorated in heritage style - the in-room swing was where I spent most of my time, just swinging to and fro. Once you realise there are no quiet rooms here you get used to the constant noise which stops completely from 11pm to 6am. It's a well known landmark in the city and easy to access most places via auto-rickshaw. The in-house shop is very reasonable and well stocked with specialised books and lovely craft.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HafodBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Ok, let's get the first thing out of the way: the hotel is located in the middle of the old part of the city facing a very busy (and noisy) traffic circle. We stayed in room 9, a large suite (well, one giant room with two twin beds and a living room with a full-size couch and two chairs) which faced the front of the hotel. When we checked in I asked for a room in the back because so many reviewers complained about noise, but for our room category this was all they had. It was also a walk-up on the third floor. Despite the location I can't say the traffic noise was ever intrusive, at least to us. There are rooms in the back of the house if you are noise sensitive, so just ask to see the room before you pick to be sure (which is what we did). There is also an elevator (FYI for those with mobility issues), but it only serves one half of the hotel (and the excellent thali restaurant on the roof).

The hotel is funky for sure, but not in a bad way IMHO. This is a heritage property not for those who like formula chain hotels. The staff were generally nice but varied, as did some of their English skills, but we never had any problems.

We came to Ahmedabad to see the Corbusier buildings, and if you have an interest in architecture I highly recommend you book a tour with Mohammed (he works through the hotel). He was a great tour guide and introduced us to some of the works of Indian architects that we were unfamiliar with, and also introduced us to a group which bought distressed heritage wood havelis and restored them. I also highly recommend booking a guided tour of the calico textile museum (BOOK AHEAD!!! They only take 20 at a time and they fill up weeks ahead with a wait list. Even if you don't think you will be interested in textiles you will not regret it).

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sfoartboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#6 of 160 in Ahmedabad
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
4.4 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#2 of 160 in Ahmedabad
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Ummed Ahmedabad
The Ummed Ahmedabad
#12 of 160 in Ahmedabad
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cama Hotel
Cama Hotel
#45 of 160 in Ahmedabad
175 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House of MG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of MG

Address: Opp Sidi Saiyad Jali | Ellis Bridge, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
#5 Family Hotel in Ahmedabad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ahmedabad
#6 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range: $34 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House of MG 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of MG is the only 'boutique' category hotel in Ahmedabad. This stately heritage property has been tastefully refurbished to retain its old-world charm but with all the amenities and comforts of contemporary living. The Lonely Planet Guide and the Rough Guide recommend this hotel highly and the discerning British travel guide 'Sawdays - Places to Stay in India' has singled out The House of MG as the only hotel worth mention, in its Ahmedabad section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The House of MG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Of Mg Hotel Ahmedabad
Hotel Of Mg
Of Mg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing