We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel”
Review of The House of MG

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The House of MG
Ranked #9 of 160 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a rambling old mansion that is charming and unusual. Our room was large and comfortable. A/C was good; wifi was good (room had its own router). Service was top notch. Good location, right across the street from the Siddi Saiyad Mosque. A bit noisy since it's right in the middle of the old city. Breakfast was to order and very good. On site restaurants were very good.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nortguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for The House of MG
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 470 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed two nights at the House of MG. The first night stayed alone and the second night with my friend. I got an opportunity to stayed in suite since there was not a single room I supposed to stay. Each room has slightly different furniture and decoration. I enjoyed so much with these antique items and delicately covered modern equipment (A/C and switches, etc) with wooden case or panel. So total tone of decoration had been integrated well. corridors and courtyard or entrance area of the room houses sofas or chairs too. The only pity point was that Wifi Internet was not so strong. I had to go down the reception area. Rooftop restaurant offers Gjarati tali which were superb. They also offer various city tours. Recommendable one is city walk in the old town. I joined the nighttime version, but early morning might be much better as to see the detail of the city.

Room Tip: Street side might be noisy. Room #1 is next to the laundry room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candra_chandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Love going to this hotel. Stay here when I ever I got to Ahmedabad!

They just need to concentrate on the room's hygiene e.g shower area, shower heads and toilet shower all need to be paid attention to. Also there are no ladies at reception however if any ladies have any concerns go to the ladies at the beauty stall is excellent they are excellent and helpful - Jagruti is great!

Their evening chocolate is scrumptious!

I feel safe here even when I came on my own! The staff are always welcoming!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisseySLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were highly recommended and treated by a friend of ours to stay a night at House of MG.....and wow, we were completely blown away by its warm traditional and highly classy ambiance. The house of MG reflects the vintage history of it's traditions in terms of art, architecture, authentic Gujarati food etc.....I'm a designer for womenswear by profession and this hotel with its personalized artworks, the mosaic work that's different on each floor, the intricate tile work reminding us of old world Italian flooring just inspired me so deeply to come up with another stunning collection in the near future..... We loved the organic nature of the rooms with vintage carved wooden poster beds, even a lovely couchy swing in the room.... There is no end to applauding this jewel of a hotel in the city. A must stay for every traveller indeed... And do take a tour of the entire hotel and take a dip in their gorgeous swimming pool that has some intricate mosaic flooring of Lotuses for the flooring and hand painted Lotus ceiling......

Room Tip: Room with a Swing... old world charm... warm and friendly!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajdeepRnwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The House of Mg is a beautiful hotel with an old world charm about it. Formerly the house of one of the oldest and most established families of Ahmedabad, the scion of the family has restored it to a very comfortable and special hotel....great attention to details, great hygiene, friendly staff and a superb variety of tasty food.....was a lovely experience !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roopalshodhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at The House of MG recently and was completely charmed and enchanted by it! This is a lovingly restored old "haveli" with a great deal attention paid to decor details. I have stayed in lots of hotels all over the world, and I love it when hotels can combine comfort and luxury with old world grace. We got a free upgrade to a better room, which had a sitting area in an enclosed verandah. There was a traditional gujarati swing along with a couple of sofas. The main room itself was very large with a beautiful bathroom done in terra cotta tiles and old-world white-chip tiles. The rest of the hotel was also very beautiful. We found the beds to be comfortable and the air conditioning very effective. Service staff was very reponsive too. House of MG was a refrshing change from the usual cookie cutter hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InformedDecision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed there last year. This is a former home of a wealthy Hindu extended family. In India, give me western style luxury hotels with style and comfort! Indians may enjoy the experience but I travel for comfort and good air-conditioned rooms with western choices in food. The food was not up to my standards either. I love non-veg Indian food but it was not available here.

I had to climb three separate staircases to get to my room. Corridors are open to the elements and mosquito ridden after dark. Elevator choice is just one and very inconvenient. If you want to see how rich Hindu business families lived in the 1920s, this is your place. .

But nor for me!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoVATWins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#6 of 160 in Ahmedabad
680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
4.4 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#2 of 160 in Ahmedabad
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Ummed Ahmedabad
The Ummed Ahmedabad
#12 of 160 in Ahmedabad
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cama Hotel
Cama Hotel
#45 of 160 in Ahmedabad
175 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House of MG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of MG

Address: Opp Sidi Saiyad Jali | Ellis Bridge, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
#5 Family Hotel in Ahmedabad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ahmedabad
#6 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range: $34 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House of MG 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of MG is the only 'boutique' category hotel in Ahmedabad. This stately heritage property has been tastefully refurbished to retain its old-world charm but with all the amenities and comforts of contemporary living. The Lonely Planet Guide and the Rough Guide recommend this hotel highly and the discerning British travel guide 'Sawdays - Places to Stay in India' has singled out The House of MG as the only hotel worth mention, in its Ahmedabad section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The House of MG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Of Mg Hotel Ahmedabad
Hotel Of Mg
Of Mg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing