We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$97
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Ahmedabad(Ahmedabad)
$63
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cama Hotel(Ahmedabad)
$50
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$49
$39
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $53/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$98
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$66
$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$42
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveler rating
313
174
43
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
174
43
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen housethaliheritage hotelrooftop restaurantold citytextile museumgreen roomlotus poolgrand deluxe roomthe ground floorfour poster bedheritage walkcalico museumheritage tourindoor poolhuge roomcharming hotel
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 551 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My first overnight stay in ahmedabad. Was simply blown over by the ROYALTY.
Saw the top 15 hotels on this website and chose House of MG.
Located in a very busy area but once inside you will forget about the noise and commotion outside.
Massive rooms and bathroom.. elegantly classic! Made me feel like a Maharaja and was treated just like a king!
The wi-fi in the room was pretty good.. Outstanding food both at the coffee shop and at the Agashiye.
booked from their website to get a very good deal.
Definitely stay here whenever next in Ahmedabad.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the main road
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

A bit like a Portuguese posada. Not the best location for business, but there are so many upsides. Staff with good English. Generous spaces for just sitting or reading; whatever. Great spacious rooms. Nice dinner terrace.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vechrolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This has to be one of the most interesting Indian buildings to stay in as a city hotel - and one of the most comfortable. Quietly elegant rather than luxurious, our spacious grand deluxe suite (we were upgraded from a deluxe on arrival) had two 4-poster beds complete with gauze netting and a delightful swing seat as well as comfortable sofa and armchairs. Family photos of the MG lineage with famous friends such as Prime Minister Nehru adorn the walls. The hotel has been refurbished in stages and the different public areas are worth an explore. The indoor pool area was a liitle sombre and deserted but my daughter made good use of the facilities.

We enjoyed delicious chaat and the mango festival in the groundfloor restaurant and a sumptuous Gujarati thali on the stunning roof terrace.

The best thing about the hotel was the thoughtful and attentive service (individual tips are discouraged - there is a staff tip box you can use). We came for two nights and stayed for four. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 2 is delightful though it shares a party wall with Room 3 and you can hear their tv!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueheron5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our second and third stay at the House of MG allowed us to confirm our first impressions. This is an absolutely marvellous hotel, unlike any other we know. Think of it as an oasis of generous peace in the heart of the city. The rooms are wonderful, amazingly spacious and thoughtfully furnished
Instead of mindless opulence, the hotel has a commitment to personal hospitality that shows itself in the smallest detail (they give you a ganger plug extension that takes every imaginable kind of plug; a torch on your bedside table; wifi that is not just free, it's fast, and you even get fast free wifi in the hotel taxis; you have a quite brilliant eclectic and updating choice of DVDs to borrow (free of course). I also appreciated that when we went out and turned off the lights, the aircon stayed on and our phones etc. kept charging. My wife loved the bed, the large and very comfortable sofa, and the bathroom all beautifully and thoughtfully planned. No two rooms are the same: we've stayed in three and they were amazingly huge, cool and cozy all at the same time.
The staff are brilliant - kind and thoughtful.
I noted this time that there are rooms on the ground floor for people whose mobility is limited.
And this time, the pool was open. Aaaaah, what a delightful relief from the heat and turmoil of town. The fitness centre was a bit sad, but I'm sure they'll fix it.
The hotel has a rickshaw driver, Mohammed Malik, who speaks English well and is a brilliant guide - he knows the Corbusier buildings, where to change money at best rates, where to get an alcohol permit with a good choice of wines and spirits, and can take you on a great tour of the Pols in the old town, etc etc. He is charming.
Three tips for travellers:
1: If you are coming from Europe and you wear glasses, go and see Mr Kumar at Kumar Opticians on Ashram Road: they make spectacles (normal, bifocal, varifocal and tinted) to the highest standards very, very fast at staggeringly cheap internet-price-busting prices. You could pay for your stay at the House of MG with what you'll save.
2: If you are booking to go to the Calico museum, make sure you are booking for the right tour: mornings for textiles (heavily booked in advance, and fabulous), afternoons for the more general tour.
3: The street food area at night in Manek Chowk is a fabulous experience, but be very wary of the Pani Puri. They are so delicious I might well have them again even though I know what the consequences will be. Later we were told that even an Ahmedebadian will usually avoid them on health grounds, But the Dhosas ! they were fabulous.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quentar_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Magnificent historic and beautiful hotel in the heart of ahmedabad. The rooms are spacious and beautifully turned out, staff are helpful though can be a little tip hungry. The restaurant served some of the best food I have had in India which is saying a lot, particularly the exquisite rooftop thali. The swimming pool is nice enough but was a bit eerie lacking in staff and information (towels etc). It was also a little cold inside being an indoor pool!
If you can afford a suite it is more than worth it, and they have some fantastic deals to make it more affordable. WIth the deals in place there are few places you can stay of this quality for the money we paid.
The heritage walks organised by the hotel are nice but the day one is better (the night one is basically just edited highlights of the day walk) but the night market is worth a visit.
But you don't really need to spend much time outside this lovely environment so relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howsey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews