We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The House of MG
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Volga(Ahmedabad)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Prime(Ahmedabad)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kingsway(Ahmedabad)
View Hotel
Hotel Sagar Inn(Ahmedabad)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Vinus Hotel(Ahmedabad)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rajkamal Hotel(Ahmedabad)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveler rating
306
171
42
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
171
42
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen househeritage hotelthalirooftop restaurantold citytextile museumgreen roomgrand deluxe roomheritage walkfour poster bedthe ground floorcalico museumheritage tourindoor poollotus roothuge roomsitting area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 539 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our second and third stay at the House of MG allowed us to confirm our first impressions. This is an absolutely marvellous hotel, unlike any other we know. Think of it as an oasis of generous peace in the heart of the city. The rooms are wonderful, amazingly spacious and thoughtfully furnished
Instead of mindless opulence, the hotel has a commitment to personal hospitality that shows itself in the smallest detail (they give you a ganger plug extension that takes every imaginable kind of plug; a torch on your bedside table; wifi that is not just free, it's fast, and you even get fast free wifi in the hotel taxis; you have a quite brilliant eclectic and updating choice of DVDs to borrow (free of course). I also appreciated that when we went out and turned off the lights, the aircon stayed on and our phones etc. kept charging. My wife loved the bed, the large and very comfortable sofa, and the bathroom all beautifully and thoughtfully planned. No two rooms are the same: we've stayed in three and they were amazingly huge, cool and cozy all at the same time.
The staff are brilliant - kind and thoughtful.
I noted this time that there are rooms on the ground floor for people whose mobility is limited.
And this time, the pool was open. Aaaaah, what a delightful relief from the heat and turmoil of town. The fitness centre was a bit sad, but I'm sure they'll fix it.
The hotel has a rickshaw driver, Mohammed Malik, who speaks English well and is a brilliant guide - he knows the Corbusier buildings, where to change money at best rates, where to get an alcohol permit with a good choice of wines and spirits, and can take you on a great tour of the Pols in the old town, etc etc. He is charming.
Three tips for travellers:
1: If you are coming from Europe and you wear glasses, go and see Mr Kumar at Kumar Opticians on Ashram Road: they make spectacles (normal, bifocal, varifocal and tinted) to the highest standards very, very fast at staggeringly cheap internet-price-busting prices. You could pay for your stay at the House of MG with what you'll save.
2: If you are booking to go to the Calico museum, make sure you are booking for the right tour: mornings for textiles (heavily booked in advance, and fabulous), afternoons for the more general tour.
3: The street food area at night in Manek Chowk is a fabulous experience, but be very wary of the Pani Puri. They are so delicious I might well have them again even though I know what the consequences will be. Later we were told that even an Ahmedebadian will usually avoid them on health grounds, But the Dhosas ! they were fabulous.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quentar_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Magnificent historic and beautiful hotel in the heart of ahmedabad. The rooms are spacious and beautifully turned out, staff are helpful though can be a little tip hungry. The restaurant served some of the best food I have had in India which is saying a lot, particularly the exquisite rooftop thali. The swimming pool is nice enough but was a bit eerie lacking in staff and information (towels etc). It was also a little cold inside being an indoor pool!
If you can afford a suite it is more than worth it, and they have some fantastic deals to make it more affordable. WIth the deals in place there are few places you can stay of this quality for the money we paid.
The heritage walks organised by the hotel are nice but the day one is better (the night one is basically just edited highlights of the day walk) but the night market is worth a visit.
But you don't really need to spend much time outside this lovely environment so relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howsey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Ahmedabad is a frenetic city, and we chose to stay here primarily because it is a port of entry to India. The House of MG is very much in the centre of this chaotic capital of Gujarat, but is an interesting and thoughtfully renovated building with enough comfort but without detracting from its character. It is not a cheap option, but our room was large and comfortable. It was also quiet, and decorated and furnished in a style very much in keeping with the character of the hotel. We had some excellent food at The Green House, and our experience of the staff was that they were attentive and helpful. There are a number of fascinating gems tucked away amongst the city centre madness, all walkable, and we particularly enjoyed the wonderful Sidi Sayeed mosque, the Jama Masjid and the old city bazaars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

With a week in Ahmedabad, I wasn't about to spend the entire time in a big, western "chain hotel" twenty minutes from the old city, where I planned on spending many hours. But despite the number of Ahmedabad's incomparably-fascinating old "haveli" mansions, few have been turned into proper hotels, and House of MG seems to be the main game in town. It's a charming place, one I'd happily return to, with a very friendly staff and a great location right across the (busy, noisy, insane) street from the uber-famous Sidi Saiyyed mosque.

My room was also charming: roomy, high-ceilinged, with two twin beds surmounted by gauzy (and necessary) mosquito nets, a comfy couch, useful desk, and a typical Indian swing that was lovely to sit on while reading. The large bathroom (shower only, and sadly, no particularly-hot water!). As I was in the ground floor and facing the street, it was helpful to leave the fan going to tamp down the noise....earplugs are also useful.

The rooftop restaurant at the House of MG is renowned and worth it's reputation, service delicious Gujarati "thali" off gleaming copper plates. It's an all-vegetarian restaurant as are most in the city, Gujarat being a vegetarian -and alcohol-free state (foreign tourists can buy a temporary booze license at the airport. All very controlled). Also, the open-air ground-floor cafe was equally delicious for any meal or snack, and guests from other hotels in the city are found here, gazing wistfully up at the elegant facade. Wishing it was their hotel!

This is not the typical "5-star luxury" brand-name place most American travelers seem to require, but there are plenty of French, British, Italian and other nationalities there who aren't as picky as my compatriots. If luxurious products and towels and high-thread count sheets matter a great deal to you, get thee to the Marriott on the ring road, and you'll be extremely comfortable. But if you want to experience the real heritage of Ahmedabad and Gujarat, and eat yourself silly, and walk out the door to some of the city's most spectacular monuments and markets, look no further. You'll love the place. Bonus points: free wifi in the room! Try and get THAT in a 5-star hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Writerontherecord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice property but a bit expensive. Old decors, well maintained with very friendly staff. Very good food, this is the best part about the property. I personally found it a bit expensive. Night heritage walk is good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashishlath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews