We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$49
$38
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $53/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$85
$71
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cama Hotel(Ahmedabad)
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Ahmedabad(Ahmedabad)
$63
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Courtyard Ahmedabad(Ahmedabad)
$74
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$67
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveler rating
313
174
43
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
174
43
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen househeritage hotelthalirooftop restaurantold citytextile museumgreen roomlotus poolgrand deluxe roomthe ground floorfour poster bedheritage walkcalico museumheritage tourindoor poolhuge roomcharming hotel
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 550 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Ahmedabad is a frenetic city, and we chose to stay here primarily because it is a port of entry to India. The House of MG is very much in the centre of this chaotic capital of Gujarat, but is an interesting and thoughtfully renovated building with enough comfort but without detracting from its character. It is not a cheap option, but our room was large and comfortable. It was also quiet, and decorated and furnished in a style very much in keeping with the character of the hotel. We had some excellent food at The Green House, and our experience of the staff was that they were attentive and helpful. There are a number of fascinating gems tucked away amongst the city centre madness, all walkable, and we particularly enjoyed the wonderful Sidi Sayeed mosque, the Jama Masjid and the old city bazaars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

With a week in Ahmedabad, I wasn't about to spend the entire time in a big, western "chain hotel" twenty minutes from the old city, where I planned on spending many hours. But despite the number of Ahmedabad's incomparably-fascinating old "haveli" mansions, few have been turned into proper hotels, and House of MG seems to be the main game in town. It's a charming place, one I'd happily return to, with a very friendly staff and a great location right across the (busy, noisy, insane) street from the uber-famous Sidi Saiyyed mosque.

My room was also charming: roomy, high-ceilinged, with two twin beds surmounted by gauzy (and necessary) mosquito nets, a comfy couch, useful desk, and a typical Indian swing that was lovely to sit on while reading. The large bathroom (shower only, and sadly, no particularly-hot water!). As I was in the ground floor and facing the street, it was helpful to leave the fan going to tamp down the noise....earplugs are also useful.

The rooftop restaurant at the House of MG is renowned and worth it's reputation, service delicious Gujarati "thali" off gleaming copper plates. It's an all-vegetarian restaurant as are most in the city, Gujarat being a vegetarian -and alcohol-free state (foreign tourists can buy a temporary booze license at the airport. All very controlled). Also, the open-air ground-floor cafe was equally delicious for any meal or snack, and guests from other hotels in the city are found here, gazing wistfully up at the elegant facade. Wishing it was their hotel!

This is not the typical "5-star luxury" brand-name place most American travelers seem to require, but there are plenty of French, British, Italian and other nationalities there who aren't as picky as my compatriots. If luxurious products and towels and high-thread count sheets matter a great deal to you, get thee to the Marriott on the ring road, and you'll be extremely comfortable. But if you want to experience the real heritage of Ahmedabad and Gujarat, and eat yourself silly, and walk out the door to some of the city's most spectacular monuments and markets, look no further. You'll love the place. Bonus points: free wifi in the room! Try and get THAT in a 5-star hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Writerontherecord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice property but a bit expensive. Old decors, well maintained with very friendly staff. Very good food, this is the best part about the property. I personally found it a bit expensive. Night heritage walk is good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashishlath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

HOUSE OF MG
Ahmedabad is a chaotic city like all Indian cities and you will not see many tourists here. There is however a lot to see and the House of MG is a good place to stay. It is not your ritzy American 5 star sanitised hotel but a rustic time machine where you wake up in the 1930's in a huge room full of old black and white photos hanging crookedly on the wall and ancient but comfortable furniture. The staff are very helpful and they can assist you in purchasing alcohol if you need it. The Internet is dicey but good when it works. I would definitely stay here again as it is a great escape from the chaos of the city. The restaurant on the roof is great and so is the one by the front door. Although on a busy main road I was able to sleep well. A great old hotel that in March 2013 was in the process of expanding. Note that a few rooms at the rear - in particular the single rooms - fill with restaurant cooking odours in the evening and are noisier than the central rooms. Also note that there are lots of stairs in this hotel. They lead all over the place and no room seems to be on the same level as another. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The House of MG is a gem of a hotel, rarely experienced.
Ahmedabad is a great place for tourists, and this hotel added so much charm to our stay.
Special mention to Ambalal, guest relations manager, who was so helpful.
The building is opposite the Mosque with the intricate Tree of Life windows. It is a rambling family home with terazzo tiling, portraits and quaint sitting areas.
The rooftop restaurant is exotic, as is the indoor pool.
We appreciated the small touches like bowls of floating marigolds, suspended swing seat in some rooms and a quality, good-priced gift shop.
We had booked in for only a couple of nights, but re-arranged our trip to stay a week here.
We ate almost exclusively at the restaurants in the hotel as the food was excellent and good value.
They were also able to offer us the services of Mohammed the Rickshaw driver, who took us to the step wells, Ghandi site and Calico museum at our request.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews