We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, yet dated”
Review of Cama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cama Hotel
Ranked #46 of 169 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a nice, clean hotel for a good price. It's a bit dated and the security of the rooms is questionable, as the balcony doors don't lock, or close really. The view is awesome on the river side. Great bird watching at sunset! Also, you can get booze in the basement if you're a foreigner.

Room Tip: Pick a top floor room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eltsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 181 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

In the last week I had been to Ahmadabad for a business trip, & this time my sojourn was in Hotel CAMA, I have deliberately chosen to stay on the old Ahmadabad side, because I wanted to feel the vibrant pulse of the city. And I got it.The hotel is in a good location, apparently OK, but i felt some restoration work is due here.The food side is good but not excellent, in comparison to fortune landmark, Mariot, or La meridian it losses its luster. It is clean, Comfortable, Having an excellent gym, where i met Mr. Joshi the General Manager accidentally.The plus side of this hotel is its human resources, they are great, friendly, excellent.I have stayed in many hotels in India & abroad,but rarely felt such friendly ambiance with tradition.I have seen one old man with a bentley ( Mr Cama ?) standing in the lobby.The hotel is a pride heritage piece like him.We should maintain it.
The minus side is, this hotel does not have any toilet shower, if you are not comfortable with TPaper, ask for a mug.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitsarkardsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 days at the Cama in Ahmedabad last week, and thoroughly enjoyed the delicious buffet breakfasts and fabulous service. From the doorman to the general manager Mr. Joshi, all staff were helpful, kind, and quite accommodating. At the end of each day, we always felt like we were coming home when we returned to the hotel. Our room looked out over the river, and was a quiet respite from the hectic city. Another plus: the Cama is one of the few places in Ahmedabad where tourists can purchase a liquor permit (as well as liquor!), which was very convenient. No complaints, only compliments for this wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, which will be quieter as well as more picturesque. Also, ask for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraveLover4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

As two women traveling alone we found the general manager and most staff members very mindful of our safety. We were given a non-smoking room that was very spacious, bathroom was well upgraded and the A/C functioned wonderfully as we were visiting during a time when the city was experiencing some of the highest temps it has ever seen in the month of October. The Silver Leaf restaurant serves a great veggie club sandwich and the service was very friendly. A great breakfast spread at the La Vista made it a convenient stay!

The check in and check out process was challenging as the staff members seem to be new when dealing with bookings through hotels.com. However, we were able to provide this feedback to management. Overall the property needs some upgrading which is underway and we look forward to visiting again in the near future and recommending the property to family & friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the floor and those facing the river are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lurap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Check in staff is inefficient. Service and food is Ok. Rooms are large. Overall reasonable experience

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Freqtravdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My wife and I chose to stay at the Cama because it was close to the airport and was recommended by several family members. We were not disappointed. The rooms are large and luxurious. The quality of the bedding and furniture is top-notch. We were also highly appreciative of the front-desk person, who quickly checked us into the our room and arrange for a relatively inexpensive car (350 Rupees) to pick us up at 4 am and take use to the airport. Overall, a great experience and we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nishp2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

When i visited this hotel i found very incredible staff and great looking atmospere. Staff is so good that i feel this is like my second home. Not to even think about what to do next.

My experience with this hotel is really great as per my point of view because it provided me class level of comfort and homely atmospere.

Location of hotel is such good that easy find out and reach there. JUST AMAZING

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siddharth83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
1 mi away
Armoise Hotel
Armoise Hotel
#28 of 169 in Ahmedabad
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treebo Ambassador
Treebo Ambassador
#33 of 169 in Ahmedabad
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
OYO 3626 Hotel Cambay Sapphire
OYO 3626 Hotel Cambay Sapphire
#134 of 169 in Ahmedabad
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nami Residency
Hotel Nami Residency
#35 of 169 in Ahmedabad
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Ahmedabad
Lemon Tree Hotel, Ahmedabad
#32 of 169 in Ahmedabad
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cama Hotel

Address: Khanpur Road, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range: $33 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing hotel situated in quiet area overlooking River Sabarmati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Ahmedabad
Park Plaza Cama
Ahmedabad Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing