We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old heritage in Ahmadabad”
Review of Cama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cama Hotel
Ranked #35 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Durgapur, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An old heritage in Ahmadabad”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

In the last week I had been to Ahmadabad for a business trip, & this time my sojourn was in Hotel CAMA, I have deliberately chosen to stay on the old Ahmadabad side, because I wanted to feel the vibrant pulse of the city. And I got it.The hotel is in a good location, apparently OK, but i felt some restoration work is due here.The food side is good but not excellent, in comparison to fortune landmark, Mariot, or La meridian it losses its luster. It is clean, Comfortable, Having an excellent gym, where i met Mr. Joshi the General Manager accidentally.The plus side of this hotel is its human resources, they are great, friendly, excellent.I have stayed in many hotels in India & abroad,but rarely felt such friendly ambiance with tradition.I have seen one old man with a bentley ( Mr Cama ?) standing in the lobby.The hotel is a pride heritage piece like him.We should maintain it.
The minus side is, this hotel does not have any toilet shower, if you are not comfortable with TPaper, ask for a mug.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitsarkardsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    69
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
31
21
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 days at the Cama in Ahmedabad last week, and thoroughly enjoyed the delicious buffet breakfasts and fabulous service. From the doorman to the general manager Mr. Joshi, all staff were helpful, kind, and quite accommodating. At the end of each day, we always felt like we were coming home when we returned to the hotel. Our room looked out over the river, and was a quiet respite from the hectic city. Another plus: the Cama is one of the few places in Ahmedabad where tourists can purchase a liquor permit (as well as liquor!), which was very convenient. No complaints, only compliments for this wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, which will be quieter as well as more picturesque. Also, ask for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveLover4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford,CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2011

As two women traveling alone we found the general manager and most staff members very mindful of our safety. We were given a non-smoking room that was very spacious, bathroom was well upgraded and the A/C functioned wonderfully as we were visiting during a time when the city was experiencing some of the highest temps it has ever seen in the month of October. The Silver Leaf restaurant serves a great veggie club sandwich and the service was very friendly. A great breakfast spread at the La Vista made it a convenient stay!

The check in and check out process was challenging as the staff members seem to be new when dealing with bookings through hotels.com. However, we were able to provide this feedback to management. Overall the property needs some upgrading which is underway and we look forward to visiting again in the near future and recommending the property to family & friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the floor and those facing the river are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lurap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Check in staff is inefficient. Service and food is Ok. Rooms are large. Overall reasonable experience

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Freqtravdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My wife and I chose to stay at the Cama because it was close to the airport and was recommended by several family members. We were not disappointed. The rooms are large and luxurious. The quality of the bedding and furniture is top-notch. We were also highly appreciative of the front-desk person, who quickly checked us into the our room and arrange for a relatively inexpensive car (350 Rupees) to pick us up at 4 am and take use to the airport. Overall, a great experience and we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishp2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2010

When i visited this hotel i found very incredible staff and great looking atmospere. Staff is so good that i feel this is like my second home. Not to even think about what to do next.

My experience with this hotel is really great as per my point of view because it provided me class level of comfort and homely atmospere.

Location of hotel is such good that easy find out and reach there. JUST AMAZING

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siddharth83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Although wifi is expensive there and the rooms are a bit shabby - especially when compared to the standards of the lobby and backyard - I would recommend Cama Hotel. The beds are comfortable, there is a gym, the breakfast is good and you maybe able to negotiate the rate. More importantly the reception staff was very helpful when I got stranded in Ahmedabad (I didn't pass my train wait-list). They really tried their best to find me a way to reach my destination and must have called 15 bus and car service companies to help me. They found a bus and drove me to it. Very much appreciated!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
1.0 mi away
Armoise Hotel
Armoise Hotel
#30 of 161 in Ahmedabad
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#48 of 161 in Ahmedabad
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treebo Ambassador
Treebo Ambassador
#36 of 161 in Ahmedabad
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The House of MG
The House of MG
#11 of 161 in Ahmedabad
465 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Formule1
Hotel Formule1
#20 of 161 in Ahmedabad
292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Starottel Ahmedabad
Starottel Ahmedabad
#12 of 161 in Ahmedabad
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cama Hotel

Property: Cama Hotel
Address: Khanpur Road, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing hotel situated in quiet area overlooking River Sabarmati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Ahmedabad
Park Plaza Cama
Ahmedabad Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing