We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property but still needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice property but still needs work”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at Aloft Ahmedabad for 2 nights while I was attending a family gathering in the city. The hotel is not fully complete yet and still needs quite a few finishing touches. It has all the typical elements of a regular Aloft hotel but lacks the detailing that I have seen at some of their other properties. For example, the wheelchair ramp has grooves facing downwards instead of upwards which is actually counter-productive in moving up the ramp for handicap people. Also, the elevator switches are a touch-pad type but not very sensitive hence, it needed to be tapped multiple times before it responds. 2 of the 4 elevators weren't operational, and even the 2 that were operational had separate call buttons and weren't linked.

The hotel sign is extremely insignificant from the main highway as well making it slightly hard to spot the hotel when you arrive for the first time especially if it is night.

One beautiful thing about the hotel is the artwork that they have displayed in the corridors; very contemporary!

Room Tip: Pick a room with windows facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Aloft for your stay .

We have initiated action to address the concerns raised by you and would have the same addressed shortly

We would also like to thank you for sparing time from your busy schedule and giving us your valuable feedback

We look forward towards welcoming you back at Aloft

Regards
Vikas Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    77
    34
    4
    7
See reviews for
69
11
12
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was my worst experience ever in a SPG Hotel. The overall impression of the hotel is a "quick and dirty" built hotel. The neon lights under the windows, looks as if you have arrived in a brothel.

In spite my privileged SPG Platinum status the check-in procedure was tedious and time taking. Same applies for the check-out, which took believe it or not more than 35 minutes. Then only 2 out of the 4 elevators were in operation causing long waiting time to get to the room. The hallway is furnied with a poor quality dark brown carpet already dirty and stained in spite the hotel only opened mid 2013. The room likewise, dirty carpet, dirty room, stained bathroom, low water pressure. poorly filled minibar, which was not refilled for the second night. Male local partying in their room drinking and smoking with open door to the hall way contributing to the already high outside noise. The management and staff are poorly trainined and unqualified. The fitness room is a disaster. Carpeted bare room with a few treadmills and equipment. There is no heart in this hotel and it is completely unworthy of beeing part of the SPG group.

I will for sure never again stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Not worth it. All rooms are of similar poor quality and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClausMunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Mr Claus.

On the onset i would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to city and sparing time to share your valuable feedback

Your feedback gives us an insight into certain areas that require attention and we are in the process of addressing the issues.

Request you to please give us a chance to make up for this un pleasant experience .

We look forward towards welcoming you back at Aloft for a memorable stay.

Regards
Vikas Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Neat and clean rooms. great value for money.

My booking was through travel agent, I paid the room charges in Dubai but upon check-in the hotel insisted me to pay directly. next day reception staff informed me that they received the payment and it is already sorted-out but again at the time of check-out reception asked me to settle the room charges directly. Had to explain the scenario, they internally made some communication and allowed me to check-out.

During my stay at around 1.15 mid night somebody opened my room and closed it immediately. I wakeup and look outside, some trolley was lying out but could not find any one. informed reception two times but no one reverted me back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sivasankaran p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us .

I have made note of the points raised by you and taken corrective measures to ensure this is not repeated again which causes inconvenience to our guests ..

Team Aloft thanks you for sparing time from your busy schedule for sharing your feedback and looks forward towards welcoming you back at Aloft on your next visit to the city

Regards
Vikas Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Situated on the highway, Aloft is strategically at a nice location. Though the property is quite new, staff seemed very well trained & efficient. Beds are really comfortable, so is the ambience of rooms. Keeping in mind business traveller needs, shoe mint was carefully provided in rooms. Free WiFi is also available in the rooms but you can connect only one device at a time. In-the room food/ mini bar is quite expensive. Better to bring some munching items along for emergencies. Windows are quite small, so one needs to get out of the room to feel the world outside. The cab service that hotel has tie-up with is expensive. Better to go for Apple Cabs.(~ 25% cheaper)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GirishB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Mr Girish

On the onset we would like to thank you for sparing time to share your feedback

We have made note of the difficulty faced by you in trying to connect more than one device to Wi Fi , my colleague from the IT team would have got in touch with you by now to understand the problem faced by you in logging in , as our system accepts upto three devices on a single log in .

We pride our selves in offering value for money , to our guest based on which our in room dining offerings are priced very reasonably as compared to similar hotel

We look forward towards welcoming you back at Aloft on your next visit

Regards
Vikas Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Hotel still in startup phase. Helpful reception staff but no getting away from the inefficiencies pervasive in India - took reception 5 tries to draft letter that we were staying at the hotel in order to get my local Sim card. But I am grateful they finally got there. Front desk manager Kuntal very helpfully arranged for transport when we had a last minute change and all other taxis called were apparently busy. Bhavana's service at breakfast was particularly noteworthy - always smiling and making sure we had plenty of masala tea.

Hotel in very good location to get easily to Bodakdev - a thriving commercial centre in Ahmedabad. But Starwood have missed a trick here - why put thick western carpets in a hotel in a town where the average temperature is 30C and above? Makes the rooms unnecessarily hot and full of carpet dust/smell.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank spiritvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing , to stay at Aloft on your visit to Ahmedabad .

I have made note of your feedback and passed on your appreciation to Mr Kintul and Ms Bhavana

We regret the delay in giving you the letter , for getting you local sim.

We look forward towards welcoming you back at Aloft on your next trip

Stay Aloft
Vikas Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I was booked into this hotel in November 2013. I was received at the airport by the hotel cab and the first impression is that the vehicle is clean, well maintained and driver courteous. It took us some time to reach the hotel because of traffic. The driver offered me a bottle of mineral water.On reaching the hotel all check in formalities were already printed. All I had to do was show my identity and sign and I was escorted my room. My escort explained location of switches, etc. and also informed me about the restaurant location, etc.
Had a lovely nights sleep in the king sized bed and in the morning viewed a number of birds perched on wires, from my window. Breakfast is good and sumptuous and the service is quite quick. Staff are smartly and snazzily attired, All services in the hotel seem to seamlessly integrated to give the guests a quiet, comfortable yet professional hospitable experience.

Room Tip: A room on the higher floor would enable a good morning view of S.G Highway and its environs. In wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay_bhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Aloft

We are delighted to know that team Aloft has been able to look after your requirements and make your stay comfortable .

We look forward towards welcoming you back at Aloft on your next visit to the city

Stay Aloft
Vikas Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed at aloft as part of a corporate event. The rooms are spacious, nicely laid out, clean and wifi facility was available. Staff was very helpful as well as courteous and swift. Food spread was good as well as delicious. The hotel is on main SG Road and is well connected to highways leading to Gandhinagar and Airport. The hotel doesnot have a swimming pool, though it has other facilities like a small coffee shop, pool, chess and gym. Overall impressive

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback

We are happy to know that Team Aloft has been able to look after your needs and made your stay comfortable .

We would like to inform you that hotel now has a splash pool operational on the first floor , which was not operational during your stay .

We look forward towards welcoming you back at Aloft during your next visit

Stay Aloft
Vikas Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#7 of 161 in Ahmedabad
669 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caspia Hotel
Caspia Hotel
#1 of 161 in Ahmedabad
353 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Ahmedabad
Radisson Blu Hotel Ahmedabad
#8 of 161 in Ahmedabad
780 reviews
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#3 of 161 in Ahmedabad
879 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road

Property: Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road
Address: 147 /1 Opp Bhagwat Vidya Peeth | Sola, Ahmedabad 380061, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you have business with corporate honchos in Ahmedabad or the policy makers at The Sachivalaya in Gandhinagar, Aloft Ahmedabad is the place to set up base .This centrally located trendy business hotel has easy access from the Airport, business hubs and The Sachivalaya, the seat for the Government of Gujarat and is located on Sarkhej Gandhinagar Highway- the express way connecting the twin cities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing