We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Ambiance and food & dismal service”

650 - The Global Kitchen
Ranked #22 of 3,567 Restaurants in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance and food & dismal service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We went there for my wife's birthday after hearing some good recommendations. We were a party of 18 people and needed to combine tables to sit together. After waiting for 15 minutes inspite of a reservation we were told it was not possible to combine the tables. After a heated discussion with the person in charge who refused to hear reason, the manager stepped in and agreed to their fault and had the tabled arranged accordingly. We ordered a few starters and almost something from every cuisine on the menu but the one thing we all fell in love with was the Kaali daal and rumali roti. The food ranged from good to awesome and every dish we ordered was worth having.

We found the service slow, waiters non responsive and the people in charge quite stubborn, astonishingly poor choice of people for a restaurant which can definitely become one of the best in the city.

We hope to be treated to better service the next time but going by the reviews it will take some time for it to happen

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rishabh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    58
    11
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One Of The Modern Model of Dine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was my 4th attempt to Visit Restaurant and because of Good Office of Mr. Nisarg Patel we have enjoyed one of the best Sunday Lunch. The good options in menu with fantastic choices of dishes. They were prompt in serving. The only thing which is little disturbing is too much of inter noise. Restaurant little required some noise absorb system for peace and comfortable dining. Open view of kitchen is also a glory. Ambiance of entrance is very ethnic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smruti2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Had heard lots of praise about the place, but did not enjoy the food, service and the lack of light.
It took almost 20 mins before any waiter showed up. Few servers were looking at us but they were not helpful. After serving the first dish of appetizer, we had to wait again 25 mins for second serving. We had there fixed lunch buffet. So what was taking them so long for prompt service was questionable. The sequence of the food items were not synced with the type of dishes were served. It was very disappointing experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AM26105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
“Reservation policy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We are quite dissatisfying with reservation policy.
First of all what is the mean of reservation?
Why people do reservation?
Ans: reservation means that particular table is booked for some one at specific time as per restaurant.
And people do reservation because they do not need to wait for dining. Right?
So u have policy like you take reservation till 7:30 pm as I have word on call with reservation manager.
I have informed him that We can able to reach at restaurant at 8 pm if we all come in hurry as you know due this hectic schedule.
Instead of providing any solution reservation manager denies for the reservation after 8pm.
I would like to share one of incident with you in which earlier we had dine at the same restaurant after 8pm with reservation.
But reservation manager told that I am here for longer time it won't be posiible.

Behaviour from reservation manager is not good. They need to understand one's problem and need to provide some solution instead of saying no flat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nishit111188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good ambience, OK food !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

First of all this is the overly talked about restaurant in Ahmedabad since last few months. We visited only because of its positive reviews and lots of talk. But to be honest we did not quite like the food. One of the dish was extremely salty. When we informed steward about that then he was not ready to accept it. Attitude of the staffs are not impressive. They dont take reservations after 7:30 PM. And normally people have dinner after 7:30 PM. So whenever you go there you have to wait for 20 to 30 minutes. Ambience is excellent but food is ok. Thats it !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freeshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 650 - The Global Kitchen also viewed

Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 

Been to 650 - The Global Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing