We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sabarmati ashram and its outskirts”

Sabarmati Ashram / Mahatma Gandhi's Home
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.00*
and up
Private Ahmedabad Tour: Calico Musuem and Gandhi Ashram
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Mumbai Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Mumbai Motorcycle Tour
Ranked #1 of 130 things to do in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Visakhapatnam, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sabarmati ashram and its outskirts”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

serene place on the bankrmatis of river sabarmati
can understand the austere life of not so great Gandhi
visit the samadhi od morarji desai nearby,
ask ant about jail inmate bhajiya house and enjoi
pakodas made by jail inmates

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank biswajita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,172
    737
    183
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peace, Tranqility define this wonderful piece of history”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I frequent this wonderful piece of history - a monument of Peace, a place to discover yourself. The best part is the fact that it retains the simplicity of the by gone era. Almost everything in the Ashram defines the life of the Mahatma.
The natural surroundings - tree, birds, squirrels and the Sabarmati river banks add a bliss of vividness to this place. If you are in Ahmedabad and want to spend sometime with yourself - this is the place to be.
The exhibition halls are basic and have maintained the sanctity of what the Mahatma stood for "Simplicity". You feel like walking through the history of Indian Independence. You must visit the souvenir store and compliment your visit by picking a book or anything else that interests you.
The road outside the Ashram is studded with KHADI Stores, one must visit and see the magic of this basic fabric.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HimanshuSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad-Deccan, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great recall and learning put together”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I happened to visit this ashram first time when I was posted there on election observer duties and I must admit that the visit changed my outlook totally. There are things you learn about Gandhi only after seeing what is there. I am always reminded of the quote which Albert Einstein wrote about Gandhi and that summarizes the life of Gandhi absolutely. I suggest all people to visit this ashram to learn about India and its journey through Gandhi over those tumultous decades.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 84doctor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“My life is my message..”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Sabarmati Ashram is located on the bank of Sabarmati river.It was the home of Mahatma Gandhi and his wife Kastuba. It's a museum now,there are so many gallery showing the photos and letters of Mahatma Gandhi.
Hridya Kunj(Gandhi's cottage),Vinoba Kutir are major sites in ashram.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kavi91189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful and serene like the Mahatma”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a MUST visit on any trip to Ahmedabad.
Our IIMA Reunion (40th Year!) took us all there. The old memories of a visit there came right back. Nostalgic.

The visiting hours include Bhajans in the early morning (and if I'm not mistaken) in the evening too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Srinivasan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabarmati Ashram / Mahatma Gandhi's Home also viewed

Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 

Been to Sabarmati Ashram / Mahatma Gandhi's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing