We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very historic”

Sabarmati Ashram / Mahatma Gandhi's Home
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.00*
and up
Private Ahmedabad Tour: Calico Musuem and Gandhi Ashram
Ranked #1 of 125 things to do in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I went there for the first time as a kid and it was great.
I is cheap and very educational.
I you are interested in the fight of freedom and want to know how victory was achieved by nonviolence and truth please visit.

Helpful?
Thank fearundead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,112
    716
    180
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“sabarmati”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

very good atmosphere ,neat and calm on the banks of the river sabarmati. Anybody visits Gujarat has to visit this sacred place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sundar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you want to learn about Ghandi, or are a Ghandi buff this will float your boat.

Personally, the museum was a bit boring and the buildings were an just an old ashram. A great man does not make a great site. I found his other monuments in India and South Africa much more inspiring.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rtwveteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Respect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

If there is a place one must visit in ones lifetime ,let sabarmati ashram be the one.its mesmerising.the whole ambience makes your heart fill with gratitude for the living mahatma,whose deeds spoke more than his words.i felt humbled. The humility of this great man had me in tears.and the very idea that i was in the same space as the great man.thank you to the messiah of non- violence.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank saddy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gujarat
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Kind of a must-see place in Ahmedabad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Usually, travellers to Ahmedabad want to visit this place if they find some time. Well-maintained museum, peaceful environment-one can spend some time here.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PinakiMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabarmati Ashram / Mahatma Gandhi's Home also viewed

 

Been to Sabarmati Ashram / Mahatma Gandhi's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing