We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what is claimed on the web”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad
Ranked #122 of 160 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is posted as a 4 star hotel and I would give it 2 at best. I stayed 2 nights and slept llittle and badly.
The first night was in a 'standard' room which measured 3x3.5m. The windows didnt close properly and the view overlooked a slum. During the night the noise was constant with shouting and frequent dogfights - the hotel was full so a room change was only possible the next day to a premium room for which I was charged extra!! Even in this room the windows didnt close fully and the noise from the street an the lawn are prevented getting a decent sleep.
The WiFi was through a bought card via Tata so no hotel internet service was possible other than at the 'business centre'
The building was run down and in dire need of renovation, no european news channels - which I need when travelling and whilst it wasnt the hotels fault the noise from other guests didnt help matters.
Staff tried hard - mostly - but at the end of the day this is not a hotel for business travel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here - get a room at the back and overlooking the green area to the left of the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I am personally dismayed to know of the incidents which affected your pleasant stay at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad. We will certainly take necessary corrective measures and we will do our best to delight you, should you give us the opportunity in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 332 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had visited Sarovar Portico, in January 2013 on a business tour.
Breakfast was superb, fantastic, wide-spread.
Room was a single occupancy, full value for money. Bathroom was clean, exhaust was missing !
Overall decent place to stay - good value for the money you are paying

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aDiTyA_6011985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad.

Thank you for your valuable feedback on our hotel hospitality and facilities. We have taken a note of your comment regarding the exhaust fan, will address and rectify the issue highlighted.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Best in class hotels to stay...stayed in for 2 nights, excellent food and service. Liked the room very much, was neat and tidy. I reached the hotel late at 11 pm and was afraid whether any room service would be available, but they had room service for selected food items from 11.30 to 6 am or else i would have to sleep empty stomach, thanx Sarovar for that.
Would recommend everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Advait5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your review of Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel hospitality and facilities, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had visited Sarovar Portico, in February 2013, As I was attending a friends wedding.
Breakfast was superb, fantastic, wide-spread. Room which I stayed was a single occupancy, ideal for the cost. The best part of the room was it had a sideview of the riverfront, It had a rainfall shower, the bathroom fittings were new and the bathroom was newly renovated. A few things as a suggestion to add is, there needs to be an exhaust fan in the bathroom.
I was pleased by the hospitality of Rajiv and Mr Mahato, The restaurant manager. who served me hot milk with turmeric when I was struggling with a throat infection.
I would give 98 on 100 for Sarovar Portico, Ahmedabad

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on the higher floors as the higher floor rooms are renovated.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rishibhise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad.

Thank you for your valuable feedback on our hotel hospitality and facilities. We have taken a note of your comment regarding the exhaust fan, will address and rectify the issue highlighted.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I recommend this option strongly for Ahmedabad. Its a very convenient hotel in Ahmedabad. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast spread is huge and classy. There are good restaurants around too like Silver Leaf restaurant in Hotel Cama next to it.

Room Tip: Try for a river facing room at a higher level
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KhushrooDumasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your review of Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel hospitality and facilities, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for one night. The room was good but did not have carpet flooring. The toilet had one soap....you had to request for other toiletries. The shower cap placed was used one. The toilet seat was broken. The service was average, the waiter refused to serve food when we asked him to do the same in the room service. The breakfast had good variety with focus on vip treatment to the senior staff of hotel whom i found to be GM. The hotel staff are mostly trainees who are learning the skills. Can be better overall average stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tirupatitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I am personally dismayed to know of the incidents which affected your pleasant stay at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad. We will certainly take necessary corrective measures and we will do our best to delight you, should you give us the opportunity in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

stayed for 2 nights.. no driver accomodation.. food is good.. has a good river view from some rooms... centrally located in ahmedabad.,.,
Selection of complimentary mini tea bar was very good..
The breakfast buffet is outstanding and sumptuous and is a great experience. .....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nish_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.1 mi away
Cama Hotel
Cama Hotel
#45 of 160 in Ahmedabad
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#52 of 160 in Ahmedabad
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Starottel Ahmedabad
Starottel Ahmedabad
#11 of 160 in Ahmedabad
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treebo Ambassador
Treebo Ambassador
#38 of 160 in Ahmedabad
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nami Residency
Hotel Nami Residency
#27 of 160 in Ahmedabad
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad

Address: Bhawan's College Road | Khanpur, Ahmedabad 380001, India (Formerly Hotel Sarovar Portico)
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 160 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range: $44 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a cordial reception at Sarovar Portico as you are introduced to this property that promises you every possible comfort and a world-class luxury. The entrance lobby itself is inviting with its wooden feel and plush furnishings. All the rooms and suites come with all of the best luxuries and a dedicated staff ensures that you are attended to anytime during the day. Extra care is taken to provide you with things to pamper you and keep you refreshed throughout the day. The hotel ensures that its guests are always comfortable and well-connected. Business tourists are even provided with the best of business facilities. The hotel even has the capacity to organize business conferences and meetings in its well-equipped conference halls. Dining is a priority for Sarovar. It has an amazing multi-cuisine restaurant that allows guests to enjoy delicious meals as they enjoy a lovely view of the gardens and the Sabarmati River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing