We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ummed Ahmedabad
Ranked #12 of 160 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

During my last stay at the hotel, I enjoyed a lot and the service rendered by the staff of hotel was excellent. Room was so clean and spacious. I also like the lobby of the hotel. When ever I visit A’bad, I would definitely stay at Gateway Hotel Ummed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RajeshDLaywer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay experience was as per your expectation.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for The Ummed Ahmedabad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 577 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

I stayed with my family last week. The hotel is very spacious wrt its lobby and the pool is the best place to relax.
The staff are very helpful especially the housekeeping boys who took very good care of my family at all times. I will return next month for sure on my business trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardeepsinghMahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay experience was as per your expectation. We have shared your feedback with housekeeping team for doing a great job.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed in June 2014 on a personal visit to Ahmedabad. We have been frequenting this property since 2011.

To start with the proximity to the Domestic and International Airports is a major plus. You can reach the hotel in under 10 minutes from the airport. We have often checked-in at odd hours and always had a friendly reception, a comfortable room and delicious food waiting for us ! The hotel has a classic feel. The rooms are spacious, clean with good hygiene.


The General Manager Mr. Merchant is very particular in making each guest comfortable. He is a nice and jolly person to meet. We have seen the massive improvements he has brought to this property in the last 3 years. This property is slightly ageing but is nicely maintained.

On our last visit we requested the hotel in the evening to keep our meal ready (to our specification - non-spicy vegetarian) as we were going to check-in past mid-night. On arriving at the hotel and after a quick check-in formality we were treated to a piping hot delicious fare. Must say the fatigue of the trip was almost forgotten. Our room was to our specifications (we usually stay in Taj hotels while travelling in India). They make a record of your specific requirements and go out of the way to make you comfortable each time. We once had an issue with the softness of the water in the bathroom. To our surprise it was resolved on our next visit just a week later !

Must thank Mr. Kaustava Mukherjee (F&B Manager), Mr. Tejas Shroff (Restaurant Manager), Chef Harish (Indian cuisine) and Chef Sharma for treating us to really delicious meals all through our stay. Also like to mention Mr. Arpen at the restaurant. A wonderful team who really make you feel pampered.

We were on a 2 night stay and needed to travel to the city on both the days. Mr. Ankit Patel at the travel desk and his able team made all the necessary arrangements for us. Our chauffeur Mr. Jagdish is one of the safest and best drivers we have experienced. We strongly recommend him if you need to reach any of the locations in the old and congested part of the city. He knows the city like the back of his hand.

Over the last few years the front office and the reception has greatly improved thanks to Mr. Anthony Daniel. The hotel has a pleasant ambience and a beautiful pool area.

To sum up, Gateway Ummed is by far the best hotel to stay in Ahmedabad if you wish to be close to the airports in a nice quiet and green surrounding. The food and service is top notch and value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floor pool facing rooms are quieter. Avoid rooms too close to the lifts as the noise of other...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banerjee_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable detailed feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay & food experience was as per your expectation. General Manager - Mr. Merchant is a great leader. We have shared your feedback with concerned departments for their attention to detail.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

One of the best hotel in Ahmedabad. Good location, Excellent room with delicious food specially 'Roti pe Boti' and lovely staff who knows the meaning of hospitality. Courteous Doorman Mr Pandey has good knowledge about city

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanuveer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 1 week ago

Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 4 June 2014

Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay & food experience was as per your expectation.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed with a friend who came from Switzerland for a tour on Gujarat. Had a pleasant stay and nice food. Complements to the hotel management and the chef for the excellent food served.
Although we were impressed by Modi's Gujarat, we were equally charmed with The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad services.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NagaFoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 1 week ago

Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 4 June 2014

Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay & food experience was as per your expectation.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights and it surely was a great place. I was looked after well by the management, and had absolutely no complaints. The staff were friendly, rooms were neat and clean and very very comfortable. Its a paradise for food lovers like me. The chefs surely knows all the secrets of great cooking... Next time i ll make it sure i book the same hotel. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Go for higher floors
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2bs982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 1 week ago

Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 4 June 2014

Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay & food experience was as per your expectation.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed at this Hotel with two friends for 2 nights. Initially a bit skeptic after reading a few reviews but then finally decided to stay here because ..eh its a Taj property after all. Amazing staff who were very accommodating and helpful even though we arrived a bit ahead of the normal check in time.

The rooms as with many good Indian hotels were pretty large (compared to European rooms) and although there is nothing much special to mention about them, however, they did not disappoint at all. Although I have to admit that I have been to other great rooms with a bit better ambiance elsewhere in India.... this in no way means that they were bad ..

Finally the food and that was the best part of it .. had to shell out quite some amount for the food ..true .. but again .. this was the best part of the stay :) .. the buffet breakfast was very good with many choices and servings done in typical indian style. Dont miss the Restaurants though .. if you really want to taste mouth watering Dhania Murg ir Martawan ja Ghosht ...even the Dosa was actually really fab.

Overall very impressed with the hotel and would like to visit again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OneLife1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 1 week ago

Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 4 June 2014

Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay & food experience was as per your expectation.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#2 of 160 in Ahmedabad
935 reviews
4.4 mi away
The House of MG
The House of MG
#9 of 160 in Ahmedabad
470 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#6 of 160 in Ahmedabad
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#10 of 160 in Ahmedabad
660 reviews
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Ahmedabad

Address: Airport Road | Near International Airport Circle, Ahmedabad 382475, India (Formerly The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad)
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ahmedabad
#12 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range: $73 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Ahmedabad 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ummed Ahmedabad, located just 1 km from the airport and in close proximity to the government and developing industrial areas makes this location an apt choice. The Ummed Ahmedabad, is an oasis of warmth and soothing surroundings. Splashes of greens and blue welcome you to our elegantly designed, low-rise property spread over four acres of manicured gardens. The location of hotel is well connected to the old and new business districts of Ahmedabad. Gandhinagar, the state government's seat, is also a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. Feel welcomed in one of the 91 rooms and suites along with gives you a choice of indoor and outdoor venues to host your business or social events. The hotel boasts of ease of access, manicured gardens, world class amenities and customized food and beverage services to create the memorable events. Tastefully appointed using suitable tones, styled with custom made teak furniture and convenient amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ummed Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ummed Ahmedabad
Taj Residency Ummed Hotel Ahmedabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing