We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ummed Ahmedabad
Ranked #12 of 160 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Had buffet breakfast. Great hospitality and nice choice of food considering limited choices available in city. Nice and clean place. Worth a spend- buffet breakfast at Inr 475/- plus tax. Good deal it was.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TPsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 579 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was stayed here in the month of november for 4 days. that was a business trip for me. hotel is good a comfortable stay and food was nice. About the staff there are 2 names in my mind Mr. Neeraj and Ms. Hetal they both are very co operative and helpful. I stayed here for some office event and event was good bcoz of the support of these two. they fulfilled all our needs for event on time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anselmdsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This airport hotel, located just outside the airport, is on the banks of the Sabarmati river which runs through Ahmadabad city. It serves India's most sought after happening business city, and caters to the business visitors to Gujarat state's capital.
We entered the hotel through its bright welcoming lobby, and the helpful staff- right from the duty manager downwards, assisted our check in, and in no time were we in our room. The inside rooms are pool facing, and are preferable to outside rooms, many of which do not have as good a view as the inside pool facing rooms.
The rooms are of standard size, with the usual facilities that can be found in Taj business class hotels: cable TV, tea & coffee maker, wire free internet facilities, etc. There is a fitness center, and an adequate 'spa', but the pool is refreshing and cool in the heat of the day.
Early morning, as we sat eating breakfast at "GAD", the Coffee shop, we could see pigeons come to the pool's edge to drink. The breakfast is a buffet, and they serve eggs to order. The restaurant is a bright room with comfortable seating. The tables by the french windows overlooking the courtyard lawn and the pool are specially attractive.The price of breakfast was included in the room rate.
The Indian restaurant "Narmada" was a disappointment. The decor was unremarkable, and, somehow, heavy and not welcoming. There was live music, which was nice, but the service was slow.The waiters didn't look very well trained, and the head waiter was doing all the jobs in the restaurant- from seating the guests, to taking orders, to even serving food. That apart, the food was strongly spiced and highly seasoned. If you want to eat Indian food in Ahmadabad, this is one place where you shouldn't.
The room service was excellent. They were happy to make me very nice a sundae although it wasn't on the menu.
The travel desk arranged our transport to & from the airport, and their cars were clean.
Except for the dinner at their Indian Restaurant "Narmada", we found the hotel up to the Taj hotels' high standards.

Room Tip: ask for pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aney60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Location is good only if you are flying in. Very far from the city. Being away and the price it charges, a definite no go. Also the breakfast is not included in the price and the high taxes makes the stay even more expensive. The only good things is the comforatble rooms which any other hotel at this price would offer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonikaPurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Location is good only if you are flying in. Very far from the city. Being away and the price it charges, a definite no go. Also the breakfast is not included in the price and the high taxes makes the stay even more expensive. The only good things is the comforatble rooms which any other hotel at this price would offer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sumeetarora1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is not the newest, but the bed was surprisingly good. Close to the airport but no noise of planes. Gym is small but will do. Food not bad. Service was very good however. Very hospitable. Will go again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank RetailCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed as a couple with my 11 year old cricket crazy son on 15th November 2012 for 1 night.

We had travelled to Ahmedabad from Jamnagar (350 kms) for seeing the cricket test match between India & England. We reached the hotel at 7.30 early in the morning and voila they had the room ready for us. FANTASTIC. Since we had left Jamnagar at 3.00 am, it was really very refreshing to have been given the room so early.

The check-in was really very smooth. We had a beautifully appointed garden view room. The room was very well cleaned and all the standard amenities were provided for in the room. The bathroom was very spacious and well lit. However, I felt that the Shaving Mirror (a necessary accessory in the bathroom) was missing.

The breakfast was very nutritious and the spread of the breakfast was very good. We did not have lunch at the hotel as we had gone out to see the cricket match.

On returning in the evening, the front office gave us warm towels to freshen up before we proceeded to our room to relax. A very nice gesture indeed. We used the spa, gym and the swimming pool in the evening and found that they were properly manned by the hotel personnel and taking good care of the guests. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant (buffet dinner) and found the same to be of good taste and quality.

Overall a very good hotel property that is very very close to the airport but a little away from the city center to enjoy the malls, restaurants and sight seeing points.

Will definitely recommend this hotel for a quality stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RajaSethJamnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
4.4 mi away
The House of MG
The House of MG
#11 of 160 in Ahmedabad
473 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#7 of 160 in Ahmedabad
691 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#1 of 160 in Ahmedabad
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#9 of 160 in Ahmedabad
685 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Ahmedabad

Address: Airport Road | Near International Airport Circle, Ahmedabad 382475, India (Formerly The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad)
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ahmedabad
#12 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range: $75 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Ahmedabad 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ummed Ahmedabad, located just 1 km from the airport and in close proximity to the government and developing industrial areas makes this location an apt choice. The Ummed Ahmedabad, is an oasis of warmth and soothing surroundings. Splashes of greens and blue welcome you to our elegantly designed, low-rise property spread over four acres of manicured gardens. The location of hotel is well connected to the old and new business districts of Ahmedabad. Gandhinagar, the state government's seat, is also a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. Feel welcomed in one of the 91 rooms and suites along with gives you a choice of indoor and outdoor venues to host your business or social events. The hotel boasts of ease of access, manicured gardens, world class amenities and customized food and beverage services to create the memorable events. Tastefully appointed using suitable tones, styled with custom made teak furniture and convenient amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ummed Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ummed Ahmedabad
Taj Residency Ummed Hotel Ahmedabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing