We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to airport quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ummed Ahmedabad
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Close to airport quality hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

A well built quality hotel with nice fixings and fittings. Comfortable beds in spacious rooms with a good bathroom. Showers need to be adjusted from time to time to maintain a consistent pressure. Wide ranging evening buffet offered at good prices. Staff very friendly and keen to do all possible to provide the best possible customer service. Security provided at main gate and front entrance to the lobby. Just 5 minutes drive from the airport. This is a good location for air travellers arriving in the city. Convenient for the centre of the city and the cricket ground via tuk tuk for 150-200 rupees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    206
    97
    27
    16
See reviews for
63
29
42
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location and comfortable rooms and facilities. But the most pleasing aspect is, definitely, the courteous and friendly staff! From the time of the booking of the room to the time you check out, the helpful and efficient attitude stands out.

The quality of the food is reasonable but the choice is restricted, with one coffee shop and one speciality Indian Restaurant that opens only in the evening.

Overall, the experience was very satisfactory.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Debu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was a corporate, large group stay at the Hotel and the pricing we ended up getting was heavily discounted from the rack-rate. If I were to rate the hotel on the price we paid, this would be five stars perhaps.

The Location is very convenient, barely 10 mins from the airport.

The hotel just has one restaurant - but the food is great if you like Indian food. We not only had dinner/breakfast here but our lunch was catered from the hotel. I have had occasion to eat at their restaurant during my previous trips and the food is always good. The banquet manager takes personal interest in making sure you get the best experience. I have actually not had any Continental / Asian cuisine here though.

Also remember that Gujrat is a prohibition state though. So if you like a tipple with your food - then you are going to be left high and dry.

The staff is extremely courteous and very willing to help - which is the Taj culture. The challenge is that not all of them are fluent in English. So if that's the only language you know, you could have communication challenges with the restaurant staff & facility management staff.

The property is good, though not very modern. It could do with a refresh design - some of the newer rooms in other Taj hotels do tend to break the room into clear work/sleep areas - which is useful. The air conditioning could also do with some maintainence.

The swimming pool is just for the show though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

On my second visit to the hotel, my experience was somewhat mixed. The hotel was very crowded this time because of some conferences etc. and maybe the festive season. Which is OK in a way as long as it doesnt affect the service. Service was again somewhat mixed. The people who served us at the coffee shop one night (we were late for dinner as we had gone out and placed our order only at 10 pm) were very patient and helpful. I found the front desk staff somewhat brusque except for the manager on duty at front desk. I requested for some packed breakfast as I had a very early flight. They flatly refused saying you can eat at the coffee shop...! At 5:30 am?? Later the same person agreed sheepishly to pack something, I guess he had been instructed by the front desk manager. However what they packed was quite stale and tasteless so I need not have bothered carrying it. I also asked them why they hadnt given me fruits (supposed to be fruits and flowers) as promised to all Gold innercircle members to which they say they only give "cut fruits" "on request". Wonder why you have to fight to get uncut fruits when the effort is less for them anyway!
Overall sleep quality was only average, there is a lot of noise from the road in front. The bed and pillows were not very comfortable. The ac was too strong and I agree with an earlier review about feeling like living in a cave!
However this was the first time I tried their Indian restaurant and the food was very good, though the music a bit loud. Overall I would maintain that given the proximity to the airport and given the other available options, this is a good choice especially for business travellers, but they should work at not taking themselves and their location too much for granted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rashig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a little technical, but bear with me: Like a lot of Indian hotels, the air conditioners are old and tired and overworked and don't get proper maintenance. So their cooling coils do not operate cold enough to condense moisture in the air and reduce humidity. So you end up with cool and humid air which feels clammy. So they run the air conditioners longer and harder until the rooms are too cold. If you turn off the air conditioner the room won't warm up for days because its a room-cave of marble (no carpet) that will remain cold soaked for days. Either way, the effect is like living in a cave--cold, humid and clammy.

The food is so-so to ok, and the furnishings on their umpteenth coat of varnish atop wall-to-wall beautiful marble. Location is convenient to the airport, which you probably knew or you wouldn't be considering staying here in the first place. The other good hotels in town require a grueling ride through one of the most congested towns in India.

Room Tip: Get a pool side room. Others look away from the hotel at the crappy neighborhood and noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G4gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

In Ahmedabad I stay in one of the best area & have many restaurants in surrounding but still I travelled almost 15 kms from my place just to have dinner @ GAD (a Restaurant in Gateway Hotel).

I went there with my wife & 5 yrs kid. Despite having high price for buffet dinner we still decided to have buffet as we were sure about the quality & cleanliness of the restaurant as it belongs to Taj Group of Hotels.

We started from having soup & then proceed to having starters with some onion. I was shocked to see the onions were not fresh & find few live insects in the onion. I just asked the nearby passing waiter, he too was shocked & without asking me he just took away plate from my table. That was very shocking & was really irritated to see such behaviour of the staff. I could not dare to take another plate after seeing live insect in my food.

While leaving I was being insulted by offering us free food.

Shame on Taj Group of Hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulSanghvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is essentially a business hotel and lives up to the reputation of a decent Taj Property. Rooms are good and so is the location. The deal-breaker for some could be the breakfast served. You expect the spread to have the right balance for business travelers. However, here it comprised primarily of South Indian and Gujarati food. There were parathas and they were cold.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animesh202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
4.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
6.2 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#8 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
4.4 mi away
The House of MG
The House of MG
#9 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Ahmedabad
Hyatt Regency Ahmedabad
#6 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
8.0 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#11 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Ahmedabad

Property: The Ummed Ahmedabad
Address: Airport Road | Near International Airport Circle, Ahmedabad 382475, India (Formerly The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad)
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ahmedabad
#12 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Ahmedabad 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ummed Ahmedabad, located just 1 km from the airport and in close proximity to the government and developing industrial areas makes this location an apt choice. The Ummed Ahmedabad, is an oasis of warmth and soothing surroundings. Splashes of greens and blue welcome you to our elegantly designed, low-rise property spread over four acres of manicured gardens. The location of hotel is well connected to the old and new business districts of Ahmedabad. Gandhinagar, the state government's seat, is also a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. Feel welcomed in one of the 91 rooms and suites along with gives you a choice of indoor and outdoor venues to host your business or social events. The hotel boasts of ease of access, manicured gardens, world class amenities and customized food and beverage services to create the memorable events. Tastefully appointed using suitable tones, styled with custom made teak furniture and convenient amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ummed Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ummed Ahmedabad
Taj Residency Ummed Hotel Ahmedabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing