We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to the airport but no plane sound can be heard!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ummed Ahmedabad
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great location to the airport but no plane sound can be heard!!!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Arrived late at the hotel so had no idea how it looked! The rooms were pleasent and a good size. The restaurant was still open and as I was in a group some had the buffet but I ate from the menu and all options were excellent....especially recommended is the dal and the paneer, it was wonderful with fresh roti.
All staff very pleasent and polite as you would expect with the taj brand

Room Tip: Chose away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    213
    100
    29
    16
See reviews for
67
32
42
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I recently spent 2 nights/3days at the Gateway Hotel and was very impressed with the service given by everyone at the hotel. I had the misfortune to arrrive 2 days before my luggage and the staff went out of their way to help me locate it. All the staff were very attentive without being intrusive and always remembered my name! The hotel is a little worn but very clean and well maintained and beds very comfortable. Nice clean swimming pool. I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Overlooking swimming pool is very nice and not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awayagainBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Gateway is a pleasing delight: clean, comfortable, friendly staff and great food in the cafe (GAD).
The hotel is a courtyard design around the pool. Some rooms overlook the pool and others the garden. Rooms are generously sized and frequently serviced. Bottled water is freely and readily available. Kettle in the room. Bathrobes and reasonable toiletries. TV works, with a number of English channels (including Australia Network and numerous news channels).
The hotel is clean and the food in the cafe not only safe but tasty. There is a range of food too: not only Indian with Gujarat specialties but also European.
Beauty shop in hotel, try a pedicure (550INR) or a massage.
No special sights within walking distance other than life in India. Walk across the road and buy some snack food (10INR for a bag of crisps). Wander around and take a look. We weren't hassled at all.
We found the hotel quiet, despite being nearly full with business guests and a group tour or two. Sleep quality excellent.
While this hotel is not in the league of The Imperial or Taj bling hotels, The Gateway is a comfortable and safe stop in Ahmedabad.

Room Tip: In winter, overlook the pool; in summer, the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doingittough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochkirch, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I´m quite often travelling to India and a business trip brought me to Ahmedabad. Unfortunately the Taj Hotel Ummed is not up to the Taj Standards expected. I´ve paid 130€ a night for a hotel with a huge lack of service, a very nice - but also very smelly room. So I found the hotel completely overpriced. I´ve stayed in the Aloft Bangalore before coming to Ahmedabad and the service provided by the Taj was much worse.

The prices for the food were doubled, but when I went to the Gateway restaurant these guys ignored me for THIRTY minutes. After asking if can have the menu they told it would be better to take the buffet. I would not ask for the menu if I would go for the Buffet. Having the menu they did not show up for another 20 minutes so I went forward taking the buffet. Asking for the bill, again nobody showed up, but at least when I wanted to leave the speeded up.

By the same time the room service was working very well, but it was still quite expensive.

When I asked for the car they told me that only big cars are available. While I was still discussing my plans another indian family came and they got offered the small car. I will not complain, the big car was nice, but not necessary.

But the worst thing was that the room and the air condition smelled fungi and mold. During the weekend they had a (graduate?!) party going on, so they were closing the pool and on Sunday they made another party in front of my room which was going up until midnight. I felt they are more interested in the money from the parties than their hotel guests. I have to go to Ahmedabad a couple of times per year, but I think they lost a customer. Next time I will try another hotel in Ahmedabad.

Room Tip: Take a room to the pool-side, its more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter_biber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great place of Taj standard, very close to the airport and convenient if you can get the people you need to work with to come over to see you. The building is old but well maintained. Hats off to the Ahmedabad municipal corporation for the cleanliness that is maintained on the roads and the greenery around the place. Room Service was a little problematic as what was ordered and what was received was different and took 2 times for them to get it right

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parimalpandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This hotel is good and is a great price. It is close to the airport, had good food, room was nice and spacious. Good service as well. I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again the next time I am in Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deena77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Have stayed twice at this property. It is almost next to the airport, but a bit far from the main city. Well appointed rooms,friendly staff,good housekeeping. Decent breakfast spread.... Overall a convenient & good option.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelove82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
6.2 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#7 of 161 in Ahmedabad
667 reviews
4.4 mi away
The House of MG
The House of MG
#11 of 161 in Ahmedabad
465 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#3 of 161 in Ahmedabad
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
8.0 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#10 of 161 in Ahmedabad
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Ahmedabad

Property: The Ummed Ahmedabad
Address: Airport Road | Near International Airport Circle, Ahmedabad 382475, India (Formerly The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad)
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ahmedabad
#12 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Ahmedabad 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ummed Ahmedabad, located just 1 km from the airport and in close proximity to the government and developing industrial areas makes this location an apt choice. The Ummed Ahmedabad, is an oasis of warmth and soothing surroundings. Splashes of greens and blue welcome you to our elegantly designed, low-rise property spread over four acres of manicured gardens. The location of hotel is well connected to the old and new business districts of Ahmedabad. Gandhinagar, the state government's seat, is also a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. Feel welcomed in one of the 91 rooms and suites along with gives you a choice of indoor and outdoor venues to host your business or social events. The hotel boasts of ease of access, manicured gardens, world class amenities and customized food and beverage services to create the memorable events. Tastefully appointed using suitable tones, styled with custom made teak furniture and convenient amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Ummed Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ummed Ahmedabad
Taj Residency Ummed Hotel Ahmedabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing