We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff but very mediocre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
Ranked #1 of 160 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel does not live up to its name, but it is still a nice place to spend a night if you have been off the beaten track a bit and look forward to a hot shower, flush toilet and comfortable bed (although if it's two of you, the duvet becomes very narrow and your night might be spent fighting over it). Very strangely, this hotel, although it is part of an international group, has no international TV stations. About 100 Indian ones, but not a single international one. Now, that is poor! Also, the buffet breakfast is very poor. IF this were not a Meridien, it wouldn't be so obvious, but Meridiens have really special breakfast items - and this hotel did in the past too, but whatever happened to it now, who knows?
I guess, just do not expect your regular Meridien hotel standards, but rather a mediocre Indian style hotel operation and you will like your experience better.
Spa is not recommended - went down there with previous booking, but no one knew about it when the time came. I was expected to sit wrapped in a towel (no robes) at the reception area, which was manned with a male staff. what looked like the cleaning lady (she was cleaning at the time) turned out to be the massage lady....

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOItravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 580 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

Ahmadabad city Branded Hotel of S P G Group good hotel for stay Enjoy it Hotel staff & service is good

Room Tip: stay any where its same
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

It's hard to believe that an international chain like Starwoods puts its name to this property. This is a middle-of-the-road hotel whose sole feature is a view over the river. Previous reviewers who were offended by the shanties will no doubt be delighted to hear that they've all been cleared as part of the extensive riverbank redevelopment project.

I should state that there's nothing especially wrong with Le Meridien. Generally speaking, things like disfunctional elevators, dodgy smoke detectors, jaded furnishings, and the tiny balcony completely covered in bird droppings are just minor annoyances.

Low scores are reserved for the following:

- Extremely limited, unattractive fare for breakfast; low-grade evening buffet (how can anyone make Indian food look like goo and have none of the usual aromas?)
- Expensive internet - INR 650 (c. $13) per day plus another 10% tax
- Lack of guest amenities
- Run-down and demoralised feel to the hotel, as though it's awaiting demolition to cash in on the riverside project rather than renovation

The room was adequate but more like a motel than a hotel. Bathroom was also adequate, no hint of luxury. I had a room to the rear of the hotel with a view over the river. With blue skies, the rising and setting sun gave a beautiful orange glow to this broad expanse and its lightly-coloured urban setting. This was undoubtedly a high-point, you could forget the rest (except for the pigeons, who are determined to peck or crash their way into the room).

The hotel is seriously overstaffed, in the usual manner of too many people with too little to do. It's worst in the restaurant where they literally get in your way as you are trying to get at the food, while the suits effectively block the entrance while striking their pose. I must acknowledge that there are a few waiters who seem to do most of the work, who are busy, helpful. A few of the younger reception staff are also enthusiastic and have a willing, problem-solving attitude.

For local transport, try the 3-wheelers (green and yellow, catch them outside the gate. Their meter (left of the driver, old odometer-style) measures distance, they have a set fare card (usually well hidden in their sun-visor) from which the fare is calculated when you arrive. Its around 50 Rupees for 10 km - i.e. about $1 for almost anywhere you want to go in the inner or middle city. It all seems very chaotic, but relax, trust that it works and let it wash over you rather than be a white-knuckle ride. It's a quick way to get around and get the feel of the place.

This hotel needs a total makeover.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Phew...thats how I want to start my review, in despair ! I want to make sure the CEO of SPG stays here for a night. Then am sure he will walk out with the brand too along with his luggage ! It's a sham operating under such a prestigious name. If some one checks in here whose never been to any Le Meridien property ever, am sure he will hate the Brand for life and will become an un paid PR Manager to convince who ever he knows to develop hatred with the entire chain !!!

The Hotel looks like its a stone age property. Very small gate for entrance. No proper parking place, the staff are lethargic. Food is OK. Cell phone signal vanishes the moment you enter the room. AC doesnt work properly. Looks as if like there is lot of negative energy doing its round in the property. Lift has a mood of its own. Better take the stairs. Bungee Jumping is a cake walk compared to the ride in the lift ! We spent a whopping 2 nights here like we were dealing with a pebble in our shoes ! The inertia of frustration was so high.

You will feel perfectly happy in this hotel only when you are some kind of a mad scientist working 24x7 trying to find the formula to turn peanuts into petrol ! Else save the agony. My partners retort is still reverberating in my ears. We went to Taj Gateway for a coffee on our way to airport to fly out of Ahmedabad. And she said - so you wanted to torture me further ? with a sarcy smile on her face ! Maan, we were silent throughout our flight :-( Arghhhh !

Room Tip: well if this property had a facebook page, it should have OMG button instead of like and they will g...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GREEDYPIG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I was on an official visit to Ahmedabad. In the midst of busy and hectic schedule, the hotel offered a perfect mix of excellent service, food with variety and options for relaxation! The start of the day with good breakfast and end of the day with spa and dinner made my trip very enjoyable and memorable!

Room Tip: Don't worry all rooms are with good location!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shailender_mathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great hotel, very good services, cordial staff, very hospitable.. felt at home. food in da restraunt is amazing.. . a pool to drown all ur stress. well maintained spacious rooms. . they wl provide u evrything u need . The food at the hotel restaurant was very good. The only slight issue we had was trying to confirm the airport pickup. We had to call/e-mail several times, but it worked out fine. We'll definitely be staying there again during our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manan184942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed here for a night and believe me its not worth it. The Hotel is very old and not maintained properly. It feels like a very basic hotel who's got the LeMeridien tag somehow to lure the SPG customers. I'm sure there will never be repeat customers for this hotel.

Right from the building to the staff is pathetic and outdated. Hotel staff though try to cover up for the hotel's shabbiness.

If you are on AIRTEL network, beware that your cellphone will not get any signal inside the hotel and you'll be out of touch from the world. Though they claim its only Airtel but my friends Vodafone also did not get full signal and kept dropping. It might not be hotel's problem but a huge drawback for the residents.

Food is pathetic, they must learn from other SPG hotels and improve. Well, I had a terrible stay so would not advise anyone to stay here. I only opted 'coz other good hotels were all booked and this was an SPG brand. Big Mistake and I wonder how come SPG keeps them under their brand.

Room Tip: Whatever room you choose, check the cellphone signal and washroom 'coz my washroom tap was leaki...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfreakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
4.1 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#2 of 160 in Ahmedabad
935 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Ahmedabad
Lemon Tree Hotel, Ahmedabad
#32 of 160 in Ahmedabad
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The House of MG
The House of MG
#9 of 160 in Ahmedabad
470 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#6 of 160 in Ahmedabad
680 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad

Address: Towards Khanpur Road, Near Nehru Bridge | Off Nehru Bridge, Sabarmati River Front, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ahmedabad
#9 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range: $65 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad is located on the bank of Sabarmati, overlooking the riverfront. This plush and stylish hotel, enhanced by landscaped greens and a serene of water body take the zing up a notch. The plush and spacious interiors at the new Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad take the zing up a notch. This chain of upscale business and leisure hotels elevates the Lemon Tree experience while retaining the same freshness, quirkiness and energy that Lemon Tree is well known for. Lemon Tree Premier pampers the style conscious and upbeat traveler with its personalized services, premium in-room amenities, award winning restaurants and fun experiences. The hotel, with its 63 spacious and well appointed rooms and suites, offers you a wide array of accommodation options. Room categories include Deluxe Room, Premier Room, Executive Room and Executive Suite. The centrally air conditioned hotel offers a multi-cuisine coffee shop - Citrus Cafe - with an interactive kitchen that extends into Citrus Grill, its picturesque al fresco grill area overlooking the river; indoor swimming pool and a life Fitness equipped gym to keep you feeling fresh-as-a-lemon. To kindle travelers’ business ideas on the go, the hotel also offers fully equipped large conference rooms, an exquisite board room, and a business desk along with a rooftop terrace to add that extra zing, to your special events. Together with its personalized services, modern facilities and impeccable service standards, this hotel is a perfect place for the upbeat business and leisure traveler to interact and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ahmedabad Hotel Ahmedabad
Ahmedabad Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing